We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is right across a main road from the ocean. There is a walking path on the bluff and one down on the beach. The hotel is also walking distance from many shops and restaurants. Try the Coyote Grill for great food and live music. The breakfast room here is nicely arranged and spacious. You can sit inside or outside and have a great view of the beach and ocean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    106
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
123
110
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location! Just in front of the beach. Balcony has partial view and it is in a quite road. Front rooms doesn't have a see view but are also ok. Queen bed could be biger once the room is big! Shower has not too much space . Bathroom could be biger.Nice view from the see from the desk above pool mlevel. Great staff! Nice smille in all faces all day long, starting from the front desk/reception. Congrats! Nice hotel for the price with fantastic location...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Mn
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. The Carlsbad beach is just across the street, very handy. We walked the beach and swam in the ocean often. Also it was within walking distant to the Coaster Train Station which was nice for traveling to San Diego.
The people that worked at the lodge were outstanding. They were very polite and helpful during our stay. Rooms were nice. The free breakfasts were very good. The weather was perfect.
The only concern would be for anyone that has difficulty with stairs. The do have a elevator but you still need to go half a story of stairs for breakfast and the viewing deck of the ocean and sunsets.
Will definitely stay there on our next visit.

Room Tip: You need to decide if you want a pool view or an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very neat older Hotel but very well taken care of! Super killer ocean views and access to everything you would want in a vacation or just a one night stay! We will be going back can't wait!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at the Carlsbad Best Western from 9/9/13 – 9/11/13. It was a chance for me to get away from it all, for a personal retreat. I am glad, that I went to this hotel. The location was excellent; it is across the street from the beach. The continental breakfasts were delicious and very filling.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and knew the area well. Erik at the front desk made helped make my stay at the hotel even more enjoyable. He not only knew the restaurants in the area, he also was able to tell me what the daily specials were at the various restaurants in the area, that were within easy walking distance of the hotel (not an easy task, as I was not craving sea food).

The housekeepers kept the room very tidy. They also guided me to the ice machine, when I was looking for ice the first time.

The other highlight of my trip was the second floor sun deck. It overlooks the ocean, and is perfect to watch the sun go down. However, I did not take advantage of it, I appreciated the fact as well, that the hotel offered beach towels.

I do plan to return to this hotel in the future, it was an awesome experience.
The only downside and it was out of the hotels control, was there were some unauthorized fireworks at the beach at night. However, that was on the beach across the street.

The other real benefit for me the hotel is close to public transportation, in that I do not drive.

Room Tip: Was on the third floor with a balcony and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family and I took a close to home vacation and stayed at the beach in Carlsbad. The hotel was clean and the location can't be beat. It's close to the beach and there are plenty of eating establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

by droving by i love the location right by the beach! i am so looking forward in having my husband 50th birthday party there...If i can get an room ther i am sure this would be the BEST 50th birthday for him. we could go right out the room door and go to the beach are just sit on the outside the room patio and look over to the beach!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Address: 3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge is conveniently located at Carlsbad State Beach in the quaint seaside village of Carlsbad, only 5 minutes from Legoland, world class shopping at The Carlsbad Premium Outlets, and steps from miles of sandy beaches. A family owned and operated inn, Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge guests receive superior service, an exceptional location and unbeatable amenities for a friendly price. The guest experience is all-inclusive, with room rates that also offer complimentary breakfast, WiFi, newspapers, in-room coffee, safes, pillow top mattresses with high thread count bedding, complimentary local calls and free parking available on a first-come, fist-served basis. Many rooms offer fireplaces or kitchenettes. Suites are available with separate living rooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach View Hotel Carlsbad
Best Western Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.