We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Older hotel in process of being revamped- we stayed on 2nd floor & had a great view of the ocean with a small sundeck. The location more that makes up for the sometimes "tired" appearance of the room. Bathroom sink is just inside the door in the main living area (and out of the actual bathroom). Seems odd but didn't pose a problem with us. Lovely glassed in sundeck on main area for all to use (complete with tables, chairs etc which was a great place to sit and watch the ocean with a glass of wine). If your a runner or walker you will love, love, love the long ocean walkway on Carlsbad Blvd which is just across the street!!!!! What a fabulous city - stayed 2 nites but would have loved to have been there for a week.... Also is included a terrific breakfast in a newer larger restaurant which has a view also to die for!! The gal that mans the area (sorry forgot her name) is wonderful and super sweet! There is a lovely pool area as well but it was chilly when we visited so didn't make use of it. Staff in lobby area were always super great as well.....

Room Tip: 2nd floor- ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    102
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
123
99
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a large group reservation that was handled excellently. Our plans were changed many times and we caused a lot of ruckus but this Best Western Plus was very accommodating and was able to give us the best possible service regardless. I appreciate their patience and organization. A special thanks to Rebeca who was exceptionally helpful. Thank you for everything, hope to work with you again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night and it was Awesome. Great view and comfortable beds. It made our trip a bit more fun. The staff was great we had a slight hicup in our room and they came right away to fix. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less traffic noise but the ocean sounds will be awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here one night for business. It is right across from the beach. None of the rooms face the beach. You need to go out to the balcony and then look over to the beach. The room was clean and odor free of chemicals and room freshener. I greatly appreciated the lack of odor because I get migraines. The check in staff was very polite and friendly. Parking is on the first level (under the rooms on the second floor). Rooms are on the second and third floors. There is one elevator (near rooms 36 and 66 - so avoid those rooms) (see attached property plan). I don't understand the reviews that complained about the breakfast and not being able to find it. It is on the second floor right above the lobby. It has a wonderful view of the beach. You are provided a property map with it clearly marked and the check in staff informed me about it. There is a pool and small hot tub as well as laundry facilities. The room was large with a refrigerator, flat screen TV and alarm clock with mp3 plug in. I had the room with a double bed. The bathroom was small with just the tub and toilet. There was a window near the ceiling, so the bathroom could be ventilated (it is surprising to me how many motels and even high-end hotels do not have ventilation). The bathroom sink was located outside of the bathroom, in the hallway leading into the room. The lodge is conveniently located within a few miles to Legoland and the field of flowers. It is within walking distance of old town. A great value given the location. My only complaint is that the heat did not work well in my room. I had it cranked up to 80 degrees, but it was only about 68 degrees in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night and what a lovely find!

The skinny-

Parking: free but spaces are narrow
Decor: Arts & Crafts Mission style but only in the lobby and breakfast room. Hotel rooms are plain
Cleanliness: ok but the bathroom could have had more attention
Breakfast: free and tasty, plentiful choices
Towels: average
Sheets: scratchy
Bed: firm
Bonus: kitchenette with microwave!

Our stay was super quiet (2nd floor) and that was great. The check in and check out are super easy and the front desk very nice. The beach is steps away and the 2nd floor deck has amazing views of the water and sunsets. The breakfast room is warm and inviting and has lots of places to sit and read. The views are also great there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a sweet location. Right next to the beach and some good food nearby at Dini's by the Sea.
Easy to find, very tight parking (forget about staying here if you tow a trailer or are in a motorhome.

The staff is awesome (no details, they're just awesome)

The WiFi sucks though. One minute the signal is strong and steady and the next it's dead; strange and frustrating.

SUPER quiet location. The breakfast room has a increadable view of the ocean. The food though... left a lot to be desired. I would have preferred having breakfast at 7-11 or the nearest gas station. Basic cereal offering was the highlight. I have to say the coffee was good. They had these freezer-to-microwave breakfast sandwiches (see image) that were not good at all.

Overall I loved this place (minus the breakfast food).

Room Tip: Pay an extra couple of bucks for a sweet. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We travel a lot (about 100 days a year) and this is the first hotel that had a "fresh" (sanitized) remote control, provided in a labeled bag. It is right across the street from the ocean, has a great complimentary breakfast, a huge pool, carport-like parking. Breakfast area has an amazing view of the beach. Delightful staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Address: 3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge is conveniently located at Carlsbad State Beach in the quaint seaside village of Carlsbad, only 5 minutes from Legoland, world class shopping at The Carlsbad Premium Outlets, and steps from miles of sandy beaches. A family owned and operated inn, Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge guests receive superior service, an exceptional location and unbeatable amenities for a friendly price. The guest experience is all-inclusive, with room rates that also offer complimentary breakfast, WiFi, newspapers, in-room coffee, safes, pillow top mattresses with high thread count bedding, complimentary local calls and free parking available on a first-come, fist-served basis. Many rooms offer fireplaces or kitchenettes. Suites are available with separate living rooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach View Hotel Carlsbad
Best Western Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.