We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a hotel that gets it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Stanford, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Finally a hotel that gets it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We travel a lot (about 100 days a year) and this is the first hotel that had a "fresh" (sanitized) remote control, provided in a labeled bag. It is right across the street from the ocean, has a great complimentary breakfast, a huge pool, carport-like parking. Breakfast area has an amazing view of the beach. Delightful staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    93
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
109
92
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at 1:30AM after driving all the way from Colorado. The gentleman at the front desk not only checked us in but helped us find a spot to park our truck and pop-up camper. Then the next day the wonderful front desk helped answer all our questions since we had never been to Carlsbad. The location is wonderful, right across from the beach and the beachfront walking area. You are also in the heart of the delightful town of Carlsbad. The rooms were clean and had an extra room with a fridge and sink which was perfect for rinsing all the "treasures" our two young children found on the beach. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just a super location for the area, across from the beach, walking distance to town. Rooms were clean with a little balcony. Parking was convenient underneath the building. Bathroom was a bit on the small side but no big deal. Free breakfast was good with some fruit and small sandwiches. The breakfast area was spectacular with a view of the beach. Staff was overall very nice and accommadating. Has a pool and a spa in center of building. Had a couple of glitches when I believe the maid tried coming in without knocking in the morning which freaked us out. Also had a problem checking out when their computer system stopped working. The front desk was on the phone with tech services repeatedly thanking them while we had to wait which was a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in two rooms. We did not have a reservation but got a good price at reception. Rooms very nice with balconies. Old TV but new/cleaned remote control. Walking distance to town centre and many restaurants. Beach access on the opposite side of the street.
They should upgrade the free breakfast or stop the offer - it has no value as it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge has many advantages compared to other more expensive alternatives. For starters, it's location can't be beat. It is perfectly located directly across from the Robert C Frazee Beach. Carlsbad is a great jumping off location for people who would like a more relaxed atmosphere away from the heavy populous of L.A. or San Diego. With this in mind, the friendly folks at the Beach View lodge fit right into the community. The staff is extremely friendly and will do whatever they can to correct any unforseen problems that might crop up (my wireless internet was down and they gave it their full attention and had it up and running quickly). Lola the desk person, was an excellent example of this, with her helpfulness. She is everything you would expect and more.The fascilities and rooms are a bit dated, but everything is very clean and well kept. I had a different room on two 1 week stays, that came with king beds which were very comfortable. One had a kitchenette and a gas fireplace! The pricing for the rooms may be on the high side, but you are also paying for the location and easy access to one of the prettiest beaches in the area. Their free morning breakfast buffet (7am-9am), had seating areas both inside and out that took in the beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean. Often we would see dolphins cruising by along the coast and the odd whale would appear spouting in the distance. All from your breakfast eating area! Not sure what happened to the reviewer named kjnfebruary, but they obviously missed the second floor where the breakfast buffet was served. The hot tub and pool are small but ample for the hotel, and you are in walking distance from several excellent restaurants as the hotel does not have one. Downtown Carlsbad is just a 10 min stroll down Carsbad Blvd, providing everything from bike rentals to surfboards as well as groceries and nightlife pubs (Check out Karaoke nights at the Coyote restaurant). Free parking is located beneath the hotel at ground level making unloading and getting to your room a snap. If you find yourself on the 2nd or 3rd floor, a handy elevator will get you there easily. The design of the hotel is a U shape with the open part of the U facing the beach with a beautiful sundeck on the 2nd floor for beach watching (where we saw the dolphins from at breakfast). The pool and hot tub are in the middle of the U shape and have no roof overhead, much like a courtyard setting. This made for beautiful skies and a bright cheery atmosphere. No fitness center on site but plenty of walking and cycling trails as well as walking on the beach. This area does get busy on the weekends as one would expect but the weekdays are very relaxed. On the whole, I can't think of a better place and location to stay for the money. We averaged $135/night at the end of August, but it was well worth the costs. Many thanks to the good folks at the Beachview lodge for a lot of great memories. Cheers!

Room Tip: The beach view rooms are limited as the balconies face sideways from the beach requiring you to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This motel was in an excellent location, right across the street from the beach. The area has several restaurants in walking distance. The rooms were fine, the bed was good. We didn't have a working coffee pot and the contential breakfast was non existent. You could get a cup of coffee in the lobby from one of those one cup at a time coffee makers. When we checked in, I asked again about breakfast and the lady said yes, there was breakfast. I guess she meant there was breakfast somewhere, just not there. I don't like to be lied to, so this place really disappointed me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtadame, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are so sorry you were disappointed in your visit to our hotel. It's embarassing enough that you had a coffee maker that wasn't working in your room, but to have missed breakfast is even worse.

I want to assure you we check all our coffee makers regularly and we're at a loss as to why yours wasn't working. A quick call to the Front Desk would have made a new one available. I also want to assure you that we serve an extensive continental buffet, including juices, pastry, a rotating hot breakfast sandwich, fresh fruit, freshly brewed coffee and many other goodies. In fact, our breakfast is one of our most positively mentioned services.

Perhaps you missed it because we failed to inform you it was on the second floor of the hotel, immediately above the lobby from 7-10am every morning, without fail. We'll make sure we do a better job of communicating in the future. We're really embarassed about any confusion.

Understanding this, we hope you will return to the Best Western on your next visit to Carlsbad. If we may do anything to make this possible, please call us at the hotel directly, 760.729.1151.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is very well located on the ocean front. The view from the breakfast room is amazing. The staff is very courteous. They even lend you towels to go to the beach and you can walk to a lot of restaurants.

Room Tip: If you do not have the ocean view from your room you will have it for breakfast !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Address: 3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge is conveniently located at Carlsbad State Beach in the quaint seaside village of Carlsbad, only 5 minutes from Legoland, world class shopping at The Carlsbad Premium Outlets, and steps from miles of sandy beaches. A family owned and operated inn, Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge guests receive superior service, an exceptional location and unbeatable amenities for a friendly price. The guest experience is all-inclusive, with room rates that also offer complimentary breakfast, WiFi, newspapers, in-room coffee, safes, pillow top mattresses with high thread count bedding, complimentary local calls and free parking. Many rooms offer fireplaces or kitchenettes. Suites are available with separate living rooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach View Hotel Carlsbad
Best Western Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.