We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Beach Terrace Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 2 Get 1 Free!
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Overall this is a moderate 2-3 star hotel, a little rough around the edges, but in a great location. The Beach Terrace Inn is truly right on the beach. Many of the hotels in this area have the words sea or beach in their names but are not actually on the beach. It is also within walking distance to Carlsbad Village. We were able to easily walk to most of the restaraunts in Carlsbad from the hotel. My husband and I were traveling with our 4 year old son and enjoyed being able to walk out of our room and onto the beach. The Pacific is still pretty cold in June so we appreciated the heated pool on a deck with an ocean view. I would also point out that the Inn sits on a public beach, but it was not overly crowded during our stay. Legoland is about 5-10 minutes away unless you hit traffic. My complaints would be the hotel is under construction (which resulted some noise and an inconvenient route to our room), the dead fish smell in the elevator, and the broken wireless internet connection, also due to the construction. Most of our stay was during the week, which I would recommend because the weekends bring crowds and loud teenagers. The walls are thin and we were grateful to be leaving Saturday morning.

  • Liked — the location right on the beach
  • Disliked — the construction
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    120
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
288
331
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

I have been going to Carlsbad since I was born (20 years ago) and my parents have been going there since they first got married (26 years ago). 2 times every year we stay here at the Beach Terrace and are NEVER disappointed. (We are actually going at the end of this month).

The Beach Terrace is our home away from home, and it is the best family place. The location of the hotel is LITERALLY right on the beach- no exaggeration. The best rooms to get are in the lower beach building (pricer but worth it). They have a living room, kitchen, and seperate bedroom. That's a great room to have with the family.

If you are a couple and don't mind not being right on the beach (still with a full amazing view)- I would DEFINATELY recommend the coral suite in the pool terrace. Wow, this room is HUGE, has a full kitchen, enormous bathroom (with shower/toilet seperate from the sink, which is always nice when getting ready). The bed is also amazingly comfy, has a couch and table set.

Beach terrace also offers a continental breakfast which is pretty good (use to be better, but hey...it's free!) My family and I like to get danish/donuts from the local bakery...mmm they are yummy!!! and not too far-walking distance).

That's one of the best things about Carlsbad...everything is within walking distance...

If you are looking for a great family vacation, or even a romantic vacation...this is the place to go, and Beach Terrace is the place to stay!!!


*OH and I forgot to mention...the pool and spa are literally RIGHT OFF THE BEACH also. It's amazing!*

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Don't expect the Ritz. This is a middle of the pack hotel, with a great location. The sound of the surf makes up for alot. The rooms were clean, and the service was good. A 2 block walk to the center of the 'Village'. We would stay there again,

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

Stayed at this hotel following a recommendation from the Best Western on the main highway (which didn't have any vacancies) as we arrived on spec from San Diego. The woman on reception seemed a little reluctant to take us until I mentioned the Best Western and a (slightly less indifferent) younger man then took over and checked us in.

I was a bit apprehensive about our room being on the pool deck, with visions of loads of screaming kids in the pool, but was pleasantly surprised. Being able to step straight out of the room to the pool and virtually onto the beach was wonderful. Being late in the season I guess we missed most of the kids and the beach would have been more appealing to them as the pool itself is not very big.

The room and bathroom were large but a little tired-looking. I agree with some other comments that the carpet looks like it needed a good clean! The bed was very comfortable and the sound of the waves at night was fantastic. Can't say the same for the chirping of the three crickets which were in the bathroom!

Breakfast was the standard self service continental - nothing special. The Italian restaurant a couple of blocks away was wonderful for dinner.

They really could make more of this hotel if they redecorated and made the access to the rooms easier. We had to take our luggage down two flights of stairs and negotiate an extra door with our room key to get onto the pool deck and our room, which may be quite difficult for some people. Overall though I would say we had a good time.

  • Liked — Sea view
  • Disliked — Too many awkward stairs
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

Our family (2 adults, 1 child) spent a week during the middle of June. I was a little concerned because two days prior, we received a call stating that power would be out in our building on the Monday of our stay, but that we'd get a discount. It was obviously too late to change our vacation plans at that point, so we went anyway. I should note that during the phone call, the woman I spoke with mentioned that we had a "partial view", and a king bed, which is not what I made reservations for. I sent two e-mails to find out what a "partial view" was, but never got any response (don't believe their website, there are definately more than "two rooms with no view"). Lots of people had problems with keys (don't put them near credit cards, anything magnetic, salt water, leather--no kidding--as these would demagnitize the key!). Sure enough, the hotel was under construction, and the power was out all day Monday and came back on about 9:30 p.m. Even so, we had a terrific time and you can't beat being on the beach. The room was clean, the bed super-comfortable, and, even though we were "on the street", it was very quiet. The only problem with the room was that the toilet wasn't sealed to the floor and rocked badly. Partial view was okay since we were so close. Other staff were really nice and helpful. The best was being able to stake out a location on the beach in the morning and go up to the room to make lunch, nap, use the bathroom, etc. (no sand in my car!). I think floor plans vary. My parents were staying in another room (oceanview) which had a different floorplan and an extra vanity area. The TV in our bedroom couldn't be positioned to face the bed, but their's could. We had a king bed, but they had a queen. That's the kind of stuff that makes me classify this hotel as quirky--there doesn't seem to be a lot of consistency. When we checked out, we got a $60 discount for the power outage, but wouldn't have if my husband hadn't made a point of asking for it. I'd recommend this hotel for people who are mostly interested in being on the beach and want to be able to walk to a bunch of terrific restaurants. If you're looking for 5-star, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moro, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

Carlsbad is a charming oceanside town. We stayed here 16 years ago and came back for the sound of the surf. We were in a suite on the top floor with a balcony. There was a view of the surf on the sides of the balcony, and over the roof of the building below. 16 years ago, we stayed in the adjacent building with a more direct view of the water. Doesn't matter - it's all good. Especially liked the bath amenities and the bedding. The bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was nothing fancy but all we needed. The best part of breakfast was watching the large waves and dolphins playing in the surf. Our suite had a fridge, two-burnercooktop, and microwave. It also had a gas fireplace. The whole suite was fairly large and comfortable. The Pacific is cold, and the waves were much larger than I remembered -about 8-10' . When the tide was in, there was a pretty good rip and undertow. There is no lifeguard on this stretch of beach, so parents have to be especially careful of children. It was fun to watch the surfers and body boarders. We had a great stay, and I hope it isn't another 16 years before we come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

We had a nice stay for our family vacation in May. The hotel check-in went smoothly. Not the most professional staff I've encountered, but nice and accommodating. The hotel is under construction, so you kinda have to manuever through stairwells to get places. We went up and down a few stairwells with luggage, which wasn't fun.

We had a wonderful oceanfront suite. Talk about being close to the ocean- looking down from the balcony when the tide was high, the ocean was about 10 feet from the building. The constant ocean waves sound was wonderful.

The suite was clean. Furniture was basic hotel furniture, nothing to write home about. The kitchen was not stocked- you need to request exactly what you need and then housekeeping brings it over. The kitchen was sufficient for our toddler's needs, but I wouldn't cook a gourmet meal there. Only 2 burners, microwave and mini-fridge.

Noise level was pretty okay. We heard the people above us 2 nights. No voices, just banging or bumping sounds. We never heard anyone next door.

Everything was clean. The carpet probably could've used a deep cleaning. Although it was clean on the surface, it just felt kinda dirty when you walked on it barefoot. So we wore slippers.

The hotel would've received a "neutral/average" score if not for the location. You can't beat 10 feet from the ocean waves. That was the best part.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.