We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING as it SHOULD BE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Beach Terrace Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“RELAXING as it SHOULD BE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Located on the beach, feet to ocean, large well appointed rooms facing the ocean. Energetic, how can we help you staff. Healthy continental breakfast. Will be back again and again for Las Vegas. "They're the best!" Laird

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    127
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
309
364
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were so excited to be staying at the only hotel in Carlsbad right on the beach. We had a terrace room facing the pool and we could hear the waves hitting the beach - heaven! The room was large and comfortable and the bathroom, particularly the shower, was a dream! Complimentary bottled water in the room and breakfast rounded out a fantastic stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I wanted to splurge for one night on our brief trip through southern Cali, and wanted a quiet room with a private view of nothing but sand and water. The Beach Terrace Inn came through in a big way. I made sure to call the hotel directly to book, and I'm glad I did since I almost booked a "terrace" room initially, thinking that would give me a private deck over the sand as seen in the pictures. Actually, a "terrace" room overlooks the pool area, then the beach. These are fine rooms, but really, I wanted nothing out my window but sand, water, and sky. So we got the King Ocean View room, top floor, (room 27 I believe) and it was stunning. As luck would have it, there was heat spell moving through, so even though it was the middle of January, temps were in low eighties...believe it or not I actually borrowed a boogey board and hit the surf for 20 magical minutes (yes, it was cold) while the sun was setting and the moon was rising. My wife collected sea shells while I fought hypothermia, and we followed up in the hot tub for a few minutes. It was very quiet...though I imagine in the summer and spring break this hotel is hopping with families and kids running around. We slept with the doors wide open to the sounds of the waves, and took a moonlight walk on the beach. Incredible. Complimentary breakfast was fine...plenty of grains, fruit, and yogurt to choose from. Staff was warm and we didn't want to leave. Really, it was the perfect off season experience. Oh, it didn't bother me, but my wife is very sensitive to the type of pillows she sleeps on...while most might consider the big fluffy pillows a plus, they were too big for her and it did affect her sleep...perhaps we might have called the front desk to inquire about any alternatives, but we didn't bother. So no biggie...just thought I'd mention it.

Room Tip: Ocean views cost a bit more, but that was some of the best money I've ever spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is an amazing gem in the heart of Carlsbad. It sits right on the beach and is within walking distance of most of the restaurants and shop in the Village. You fall asleep to the pounding waves of the Pacific. It is also a great family hotel because of its proximity not only to the beach, but also Legoland and the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Unfortunately we were only here for 2 short nights after driving in from Las Vegas. The service and rooms were outstanding. The view from the rooms looking over the beautiful beach was amazing and the rooms provided easy beach and pool access.

We wish we could have stayed here longer. Carlsbad was a quaint little village with plenty of family restaurants and a very easy drive to Legoland.

Breakfast was very nice with cereals, muffins, yoghurts, fruit and pastries.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This beautiful hotel sits right on the sand in the charming village of Carlsbad. Park your car and enjoy your visit walking and exploring the shops and restaurants of this beachside city in North San Diego County. There's also a train station with Amtrak and Coaster travel to nearby Del Mar and downtown San Diego/Gaslamp District.
From the warm reception to the spacious, elegant rooms...this hotel is just exceeds expectations! Pay a little more and request Ocean Front room. Our balcony overlooked the sand...we enjoyed our own private spectacular sunset! The hotel provides an expanded continental breakfast and on some occasions, a sunset wine and cheese reception.
We have enjoyed three visits and would rate 5 stars each time!

Room Tip: Request "Ocean Front". Call the hotel. Most rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This property is a gem. Directly on the beach, you fall asleep to the pounding waves. The location couldn't be better! The views are spellbinding.

The entire staff was helpful, calm and engaging. Great relaxing breakfast, which ran til 11am, so never was there a line or lack of tables. Everything on the premises was kept clean and up to date.

Walking distance to the great little village of Carlsbad which is charming and laid back.

All in all a great experience. And even though we live in a beach town in California, coming down to this property really made us feel like we were getting away from it all.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.