We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Beach Terrace Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Magical Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I got married in October 2013 at the Beach Terrace Inn and we had an amazing experience! We cannot say enough about this hotel, and our wonderful family reunion-style wedding weekend. We had guests travel from all over the world to be at our celebration and everyone raved about the hotel's location, the quality of rooms, and high-level of service.

The rooms are incredibly large and luxurious, while still being very cozy and comfortable. You are literally right on the beach, but also just a very short walk to the main village with lots of restaurants and shops. The pool and hot tub area serves as a great meeting place for everyone to enjoy the sun, and many guests went back and forth between the beach & ocean to the pool area all day long.

The entire hotel staff is so friendly, and very attentive. We honestly cannot say enough about Constance, our main point of contact for our weekend. She definitely goes above and beyond to guarantee your entire event runs smoothly, and that every guest is extremely comfortable and pleased.

Constance, and the entire staff at the Beach Terrace Inn, thank you for making our wedding weekend such a magical memory for us and all of our guests!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    106
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
276
295
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Booked this online to be on the beach while on Christmas vacation visiting family in the area. This place was AWESOME. Room was great, spectacular view of beach, nice pool to use during day, beach toys/towels/chairs we used to sit out on the sand, awesome breakfast available all morning, great location for food / shops within walking distance and close to the family we were visiting for minimal driving hassles. The staff were the nicest people in CA I think!! Couldn't have asked for more for our stay. Thanks !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

From our first contact by telephone our experience with Beach Terrace Inn was first class and the best. The location and facilities are A 1, but what put it above other very nice places we have stayed (in or out of the U.S.) is the kindness and attentiveness of every one of the staff.
Our impression is that whoever manages and/or oversees the Beach Terrace is attentive to details often missed in other luxury hotels. It was serendipity that lead us here since we were just looking for a place to stay ON the beach that was not too far from Vista Village, where we were visiting with a parent.. It was only a short drive away (but a world away for relaxing).
Walking distance from everything in Carlsbad, including the great restaurant, Norte's. Also some pretty good shopping (which I seldom do),
Cannot recommend highly enough! Nancy Jo and John Keegan, Seattle, Wa

Room Tip: They chose our room for us....and it was perfect, over the pool and the ocean! We were there in Dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilbert, az
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

You just can not beat this hotel for the price and location ( right on the beach)!! We like the beach front king rooms. There special of two nights get one free makes the price reasonable for the location. However you can not cancel. So you really have to plan ahead and hope for no emergencies.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

What a wonderful get away! Peaceful beyond measure. Every aspect of my two night stay was welcoming and nourishing.

Fabulous rooms, beautiful commune areas, and incredible views.

The staff were welcoming and offered resources about local places.

I was travelling light - so the stairs were not inconveniencing. I did not use the elevator so
I can't I can't speak to accessibility.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Beach Terrace Inn. I have a mobility scooter and need a disability room. Their facilities are excellent for that. The bathroom was large with a huge walk in shower. We had a lovely view of the ocean and the sunset from our room and balcony. You can park relatively close to your room. It is right on the ocean but also close enough to the town center that I could ride my scooter easily anywhere I wanted to go from the hotel. I definitely want to return - so easy for me to enjoy the ocean and have my scooter. The rooms are nice and the breakfast was adequate. It was quiet.

Room Tip: We were in room 50 which is ADA with a king bed. It faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We recently visited the BTI and really enjoyed our stay. We needed a ADA room and they really came through for us. Room 51 was huge with a great view, and well equiped for ADA visitors. The stay was not cheap, (off season $300/night) but well worth it as compared to other beach hotels we have stayed at. They also don't nickel and dime you for everything. I plan to make another stay at this location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.