We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Beach Terrace Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 2 Get 1 Free!
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tranquility by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Legoland was the main reason for our visit to Carlsbad in April but the Beach Terrace Inn would be the reason to return next time.
Although the weather was not warm enough for us to enjoy the sand and surf it was very relaxing to fall asleep to the sound of the waves each night and open the shutters to see the ocean.
The views are spectacular; pelicans, dolphins – alas we missed the whale!
Complimentary continental breakfast also comes with views and plenty of choices – fresh local berries, yoghurts, cereal, pastries, muffins, juice and brewed coffee that was pretty good compared to most of the hotels we stayed in.
We booked an ocean front pool terrace with two king beds for our family of four on a buy two get one free internet deal. Our oversized room had a dining table for four and a wet bar area with coffee maker, sink and fridge - great for when you’re having take away or choose to bring breakfast down to your room.
The bathroom had a big dressing area, double shower and stone vanity, plus, a rarity in hotels – a separate toilet.
Another big plus – plenty of towel rails and hooks, including several on the balcony. Plus plenty of towels in the pool area.
We made regular use of the heated pool and spa, which was a good place for the children to get to know other visiting families. The sun beds are fantastic (I want one of the round ones) but the furniture on the balcony was also very comfortable and protected from the wind.
The Beach Terrace Inn is an easy walk to many cafes and restaurants and a short drive from Legoland and the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. There are plenty of surf shops and nail spas nearby, too!
It cost a little more than some of the other hotels we stayed but it was worth it. Just wish my camera memory hadn't become corrupted on this leg of the stay or I'd have more photos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    120
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
287
330
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night before our trip to Disneyland and I wish it had been longer. After looking for several weeks for lodging on the beach near Disney, I decided on the the Beach Terrace because of the positive reviews, the price, the included breakfast, parking, and internet, and the small town of Carlsbad. From the moment we walked into the lobby, we all knew this was going to be a special place. The Beach Terrace is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for a while, great value for the amenities. Our 6 year old grandson's mouth dropped open when he saw the large room and the huge bathroom. We had an ocean view room, which meant that we faced the oceanfront section, but our top floor corner room had a nice sliver of oceanfront as well. There isn't an elevator, so you have to tote your stuff up the stairs. You could hear the waves from bed and see them from the balcony. The beds were great. Good thread count, duvet covers, nice pillow selection. There was a bar with sink and mini fridge and good coffee selection. Flat screen TV, good storage, and a desk. The inn was full up, but we didn't hear any one coming or going or voices through the walls. The spacious bathroom had 2 sinks and a walk in shower with rain shower head. The toilet was in a separate room with a door. Nice decor too. Security was very good, you had to have a key to access the pool and the beach. The pool is oceanfront and you can watch the sunset from the large, pillowed loungers. There is a hot tub as well. You can borrow beach chairs and other beach items. Parking is across the street and much of it is covered. There is a lounge with a beach view where you can sit and read or visit. It doubles as the breakfast room. Breakfast featured fresh fruit, yogurt, good breads and bagels, pastries from a local bakery, hot and cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, juices, and hot drinks. No plastic, real dishes, silverware, and cups, even trays to take food back to your room. The attendant was very friendly and efficient. Check in was easy and the whole staff was very accommodating. The beach was clean and wide with lots of shells. You might want to wear water shoes because the waves churn up rocks. Both my grandson and I got cuts from them. You can walk to town and easily explore the shops and restaurants. Thanks to the Beach Terrace for a memorable night. I'd love to come back and stay longer!

Room Tip: Spring for at least an ocean view room if you can afford it, request the higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This non-chain hotel is superbly positioned right on the beach. The owners show a nice attention to detail in the breakfast (complimentary - includes fresh fruit, granola, toasted bagels & yoghurt along with standard fare). Our room #51 was private and had great views. Private balcony afforded wonderful sunset/misty views. Waves crash all day and night so be prepared. Pool is nicely located above beach with recliners to enjoy surf. Small hotel so not busy. Access to beach/hotel is well secured. Beach goes on for miles of walking. Surfers use area in front of hotel so it is entertainment. Hotel has nice library book selection. We had the Romance package but the basket was too full (we didn't finish the fruit/cheese) so although good value, it was pricey if you don't use it. Organic local produced wine in basket was fab. Rooms very quiet - didn't hear doors closing, nor any TV - great for relaxing! Walks in the neighbourhood are fun (beachside homes) and close to the Village Square with lots of dining choices. We liked this hotel more than Laguna Beach hotel.

Room Tip: Upper rooms above pool area are close to beach. Room #50 is best location. Beachside rooms in older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was our second time staying at the BTI, with the first stay prior to the renovation. We loved it then and love it even more now. This stay was for our anniversary and it was fabulous. We have to say thank you to Kathy for allowing us to re-book after we had to reschedule due to illness. We are planning a return in a few months with our son. Can't wait. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean front rooms, they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I truly want to live here. The location is excellant, right on the beach, perfect for walking everywhere, no need for your car. We had terrific pizza from Knock out Pizza. Loved wandering around. Wonderful beds. Wished I had a top floor room because I could hear the people above me, but all in all, I couldn't have asked for better. The rooms are gorgeous, granite bathrooms, walk-in showers, beach toys for the kids. We loved the lounge sofas by the pool too! Just an excellant time! We can't wait to go back :) They often offer last minute discounts too, dont hesitate to call!

Room Tip: Top floor on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

95% positive things to say about the hotel.... I would give it 4.5 if I could. The location is probably the best in Carlsbad, right on the beach, on a relatively quiet road with guest parking, and a short walk to shops and restaurants. The beach is clean and not too busy, and the ocean view room really did have a marvellous view over the beach. The staff were impeccable, really friendly and polite. The rooms were huge, including the bathrooms, and very nicely decorated. The room was quiet and the bed extremely comfortable, so slept very well.
I had a couple of small issues, minor attention to detail items – the room was a little bit dirty: the bathroom surfaces were dusty, the sink area a little dirty and the sofa in the room smelt a bit musty. There was also a bulb out in the bathroom, which housekeeping must have seen but didn’t report. Some people probably wouldn’t even notice these things, but if someone was staying at my house I would clean to a better standard...
Breakfast was good, though it would be great if there were hot items too. The pool area was clean, a pleasure to use, and the pool was a good temperature. The Jacuzzi was nice, the loungers comfortable and great to have beach towels included.
The location really is fab, Carlsbad is a great town, I particularly recommend Gregorios restaurant. I would definitely stay in this hotel again, I’m sure the cleaning issues were just a one off, I just wish I’d been there longer than 2 days!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Beach Terrace Inn is the best. We stayed in beach view room. And it's right on the beach. They have a nice spread for a continential breakfast. The staff was always pleasant. It's within walking distance to shopping and many types of resturants. We loved this vacation and will be revisiting the beach terrace inn again soon.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.