We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A break on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added Beach Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A break on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

A really good place to stay if you want to be close to the beach. Also within easy driving distance of San Diego.
The hotel facilities were very good with breakfast provided in the lounge every morning.
The swimming pool though small was heated so usable even in winter.
No restaurant on site but within walking distance of many restaurants.
So nice to be so close to the beach and to see the sunsets.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    103
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
271
286
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed 4 nights end of Feb 2012 and early March 2012. Location can't be beat- could walk to many great restaurants; ocean front room was very big, clean, had a fabulous view (nice balcony with 2 chairs, table, and padded loveseat- so close to the beach and water), great bathroom (huge shower). Breakfast was the usual cold buffet type fare - granola and fresh fruit was very good, and had good coffee (provided 'go' cups also). Appreciated the small frig in the room. Cleaning staff very unobtrusive (respected the 'do not disturb' sign and would always clean the room while we were out- never came back to an uncleaned room). We were on the 2nd floor- did hear heavy footsteps above us and some conversation through the wall by the bed. Would give 5 stars except ocean front room very pricey...( that being said, I would probably still get the same type room if we return- sitting on the balcony sipping wine and watching the sunset every evening and drinking coffee/watching dolphins and whales in the morning probably makes it worth every penny (saw 2 whales breaching over and over one morning- SWEET!!). Didn't use the pool or hot tub, so can't comment on that, but did notice towels on every chair and some enclosed seating directly looking over the beach/water). Staff very friendly and helpful. Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front worth the extra $$s, except I noticed some of the upper level ocean view rooms around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed at this place for a wedding a few blocks away. I was very impressed with the place. It is right across the street from a very nice public beach, and it has a great interior courtyard with a pool and hotub. The front desk service was friendly and let us check in a little early, and we had an ocean view from our room. In the morning, there was a free continental breakfast, which was pretty standard food-wise, but served in a newly renovated room with incredible floor-to-ceiling ocean views. The location was great as well, as we were able to walk to a number of restaurants and bars in downtown Carlsbad. All in all, this would be a great place for a weekend, or even a week at the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Review of a two night stay in March 2012. I have been traveling to the Carlsbad area for 12 years on business and typically stayed at the Courtyard, Grand Pacific Pallisades, or down in the Gas Lamp area. This time someone in our group suggested that we stay on the beach. At first I was hesitant however their website looked good. After reading other reviews we booked the rooms.

It turned out fantastic. The property had a nice renovation recently and the staff was quite helpful. We booked three rooms for our group. One room directly on the beach and the other two were cheaper "ocean view" rooms. They were all similar in size (huge) and had the same features however one of the two ocean view rooms had a very limited view. If you book an ocean room view make sure that they do not give you room 38 or 39. Those two rooms feature an "ocean view" is poor at best. It should not have the same rate as rooms 40 to 45 which are one level up and have a clear view over the beach front building. The front desk worker actually apologized and said that the two rooms should be turned into a gym. I think that the comment was that "nobody is ever happy in those rooms."

The property was clean and everything was in working order. The shower pressure was moderate at best however there was plenty of hot water. Book a room and enjoy the property!

Room Tip: Make sure to specify that you will not accept room 38 or 39.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

What can I say, just a GREAT place to stay. Great room, Great staff, and Great location. Could not be any better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We loved this hotel. Such great service. Rooms are huge and bathrooms great. Love the balconies facing the beach. King beds are amazing. Just a perfect spot. Going back next year.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is simply wonderful. It's right on the beach, the only hotel I saw that was actually touching the sand. I stayed in an ocean view room with two queen beds. The view was lovely. The room was quite large and cozy. There were two chairs on the patio. At the foot of each bed was a nice leather bench which was nice for sitting. There was also one in the bathroom, which was great for getting dressed. The shower had a great shower head and water pressure. Our room had a refrigerator which was a nice bonus. Each morning there was a great little continental breakfast with fresh blueberries, strawberries, grapes, and oranges, plus cereals, oatmeal, bagels, and fresh local pastries, plus yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and juices. And their dishes were Fiesaware, which was a nice touch instead of el cheapo dishes with no character. Lots of free parking across the street from the hotel. The location can't be beat. In addition to being right on the beach, it was just a couple of blocks to Carlsbad Village which had amazing restaurants and great places for pampering plus cute shops. The staff was very friendly. This is the only place I'll stay in Carlsbad, and I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;