We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ocean View and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Beach Terrace Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 2 Get 1 Free!
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ocean View and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Right on the Ocean front this hotel has an amazing location. We had an Ocean front suite, it was beautiful! Right from the start to finish service was great, everyone was extremely friendly. Continental breakfast was good with fresh pastries from a local bakery, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, toast and bagels along with coffee, tea, in a great location also with an ocean view while you eat your breakfast. The hotel is also walking distance from many good restaurants. Showers are great, large bathroom, good size room, comfortable beds. There was even 2 complimentary water bottles. Was a great romantic getaway, my husband and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony, watching the waves crash.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room on the top floor, we could hear everything our neighbors above us were doing. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    121
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
289
338
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

What a great place to stay. We had promised to take our son to Legoland and was just looking for someplace nearby to spend the night. If I had known how nice this hotel was I would have definitely planned to stay longer. All of the staff was friendly and very accommodating to our early arrival. Having the breakfast included on the beach side lanai was a welcome surprise. The hotel had a very modern adult feel while being kid friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Staff were attentive and responsive. Rooms are elegant; ocean, surf, full moon all compelling. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barstow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Incredible place to escape to. Absolutely loved it. We had a ocean front king room - what a view - and what a treat to listen to the ocean waves as you fall asleep. Room was beautiful and comfortable, staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't say enough about how relaxing this was. We were an hour from home but it felt like we were a million miles away. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

An excellent hotel on the beach. Doesn't feel like a hotel at all, very cosy area with low rise condo like buildings all round. We had a room just above the reception area, so its just a step away from the main road. Nice breakfast served and there is a large dining area that's open all day, nice place for a takeaway dinner at sunset! The pool area is just steps away form the beach, pool is heated and if thats not warm enough, there is always the jacuzzi nearby. The beach is nice and wide, not too crowded even though it was August. The room and bathroom were huge, and the in room facilities were of very high quality. Overall we were very happy with the place and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

What a find! Picked based on other reviews here, and stayed two nights in the ocean front king. Nothing quite like going to sleep and waking up to the roar of the waves just outside the slider. Large rooms, freshly remodeled, nice bathrooms, great hot tub, more than adequate complimentary continental breakfast, helpful staff with great advise to great local restaurants ..... And on the list goes .....

Room Tip: Check for specials on the ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is the best beach hotel we've ever stayed at in SoCal. The rooms were huge, well appointed and spotless. The breakfast room was airy and looked out over the pool toward the ocean. Nice way to enjoy a bagel and a coffee first thing in the morning! Irene, was a very nice lady that worked in the breakfast room. She was pleasant to speak with. She helped us with our plates and even offered us coffee upon arrival. So thoughtful! While we were at the hotel we enjoyed some of the nearby restaurants and shops.

My husband and son rented surfboards, skim boards and wet suits from a nearby surf shop so that they could make the most or their stay. Because the ocean was so chilly, it was a nice treat for the two of them to go for a swim in the heated pool and enjoy the hot tub afterward.

We had such a wonderful time that we've already decided that we'll be back next year too. Can't wait!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.