We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Carlsbad to your Saves list
Ramada Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   751 Macadamia Drive, Poinsettia exit off I-5, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel itself is pretty average, but well-located. Room was clean, as was the bathroom. The bed was average, but not horrible as far as comfort. Property exterior and parking area are clean and maintained.

The main compliment I can give to this property is the staff. They were able to accommodate us for an early check-in, and when our room key cards kept deactivating, they were able to fix the issue and give us new cards without delay. Check-in and check-out were both a breeze, and we experienced no major issue staying at this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
What a nice review. Plus, you are a senior tripadvisor contributor so you travel quite a bit. We appreciate your kind words and most importantly, your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    133
    165
    118
    97
See reviews for
433
59
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed three nights during Easter/Spring Break in a 2-bedroom, 2 bath, full kitchen suite. More than enough room for our family of four to spread out and still find some space to be alone when needed. Beds were extremely comfortable. Kitchen area only had 1 chair. We used the hot tub and pool each day/night and found them very well maintained. You can get towels for the pool from the front desk. Complimentary continental breakfast has ample variety: yogurt, instant oatmeal, make your own waffles, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, milk, fruit. We also used the laundry facilities and everything was in working order. We had a slight plumbing problem in the bathroom and they were very attentive to see that it was resolved. The elevator does best when there are 3 or less people riding in it. You can get a dish pack from the front desk (plates, bowls, silverware, cutting board, knife, dish soap, sponge). I found it odd to have a full 4-burner stove and oven with no pots/pans. There is a microwave and full-size fridge with freezer. No shuttle to LEGOLAND but they're less than 2 miles away. Beach is about 3 blocks from the driveway and you'd have to cross two busy roads to get there --Ok for teenagers, might be better to drive the younger ones. Close to restaurants and supermarket, including Costco. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and we appreciated that they closed the pool at night otherwise you can hear everything going on down there. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 209 was a great suite overlooking the pool. It might be noisy during the day if you wanted to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
It sounds as though your family had a great time. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed one night on our way to a different destination.We were pleasantly surprised to find the room had a door and wall separating the sleeping and kitchenette areas. The room was located on the first floor next to the lobby, pool and parking. Check in and out was quick. Breakfast included fresh fruit, a variety of breads, waffles and juices/coffee. The one real downer occurred when we shut the door between room and found a dirty diaper and one sock...yuck. We told the front desk and they just said, "oh, sorry." Really? I guess they should have given me a discount for doing that little bit of housekeeping! The property is not new but is fairly well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
I want to apologize for the mishap. We have addressed it with housekeeping. We appreciate the nice review even though you had issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are a family of 6 from Arizona. We spent 2 nights at the Ramada over Easter weekend. After reading the reviews, I was skeptical about staying there, but I got a good deal when booked with Orbitz. I figured all we needed was a place to sleep and shower since we came to Carlsbad for Legoland.

I was given a bottom floor room (101) which was very close to parking and the pool area (all were clean). We had a 2 bed suite with a sofa sleeper, mini kitchen (no stove). The room was clean, we had plenty of hot water, towels, and even though the space was small it still met our needs perfectly.

The front lobby was clean and the staff was courteous. I was given a parking pass and was advised if we need pool towels then the front desk will provide them. We brought our own. I waited LESS than 5 minutes to check in and out.

The Ramada is close to Legoland, South Carlsbad state beach, places to eat from McDonalds to upscale (Miguels has good food) Carlsbad premium outlets, grocery store (Ralphs) and pharmacy.

I can't complain one bit and neither did my family. Yes, the furnishings may be worn, but who cares if your only there to rest your head and use the restroom. I got what I paid for!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your business. I appreciate the very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

From check in to check out awesome. Our room was big only stayed one night but our next stay will be longer. We stayed on the side facing the freeway and was unsure about noise but we could hardly hear it with the door closed. Door separated the living room area from the sleeping this room was made for a few night stays kitchenette was great. Room was clean we were very comfortable. We did not eat at the breakfast buffet no eggs or sausage.I don't know about other reviewers but I booked with legoland hotel website if that makes a diffence with the room. Good stay thanks Ramada team

Room Tip: I booked room on legoland hotel partners website room was good for a family trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you!!!! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for also pointing out our large rooms. Great for families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Carlsbad

Address: 751 Macadamia Drive, Poinsettia exit off I-5, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.