We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insufficient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added Ramada Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   751 Macadamia Drive, Poinsettia exit off I-5, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #32 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    117
    140
    94
    84
See reviews for
369
51
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not a glamorous hotel, but in its price range, what you get for the money is really very nice. The one bedroom suite is like a small apartment, and easily sleeps a family of 4, 6 if you get the 2 double bed option. It also offers a full size refrigerator, range & oven, microwave, toaster, etc, & dish packs free to use from office. Great for a bugdet family trip to the beach. There is a decent hotel breakfast until 10am daily, with fresh made waffles, all kinds of cereals, pastries, yogurt, fruit, juices included. The same waffles are $6.95 each up the street so figure that into the price & it gets better. We've stayed 6 times, it's always been clean & the desk clerks are very friendly & helpful. Oh, & pool towels are provided, & boogie boards-when available- it's not a policy- they just always have some people leave behind- if you see them in the office in the back right corner, just ask:)

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms to the rear of the property on ground level, can park in front of the room, close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and thank you for being a loyal guest. We appreciate your business. We have spent a lot of money in recent years on renovations. New carpeting, sofa beds, televisions and just recently a completely resurfaced pool and jacuzzi. We also put in a whole new heating system in the pool. I guarantee our pool is the warmest pool on the block! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just 7 minutes drive to legoland. It has a great breakfast range (waffles, muffins etc). Best breakfast offered amongst the 6 places we statyed during our trip travelling down the west coast from SF to San Diego.

Room Tip: The reception was really good in offering a room away from the highway. So dont get discouraged by i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
This is a really nice review. I appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are in a beautiful area and convenient to all. We hope to see you again soon. Best,
Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

For the rate we paid, the room and breakfast were fine and I have no complaints. What I was somewhat surprised and disappointed by was the customer service at the front desk. When my family and I arrived, the booking agency we used to reserve our room had not forwarded our reservation request. We needed to call to request that they do so. What I found surprising was that my partner and I were expected to use our cell phones to make the call to a toll-free number. It wasn't until we had trouble getting through that one of the attendants used the front desk phone to call. Finally, my partner got through to an agent who was able to help. Since when is it policy to have customers provide their own customer service?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Carlsbad

Address: 751 Macadamia Drive, Poinsettia exit off I-5, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Carlsbad 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ramada Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.