We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ventura, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great experience with family during summer vacation. A little pricey but accommodation is great. Dinner specials is excellent! Hotel is close to Legoland and other points of interest. Suites are very clean. There's complimentary shuttle that goes within 5 miles from the hotel. One housecleaning lady did not understand English well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    143
    35
    14
    14
See reviews for
386
53
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. I have always been a big fan of Homewood Suites brand from Hilton. They provide excellent suites along with free breakfast and free reception dinner during the week. This Homewood Suites was no different from the others I have visited. It was extremely well kept and the staff were extremely friendly. The one bedroom suite included a queen sofa bed, one king bed, kitchen (with all utensils, fridge, stove, washing machine, microwave), and large bathroom. The hotel also has a small pool and Jacuzzi.
The buffet breakfasts are excellent and include everything you need to start your morning. It gets quite crowded in the morning so make sure you go down for breakfast early. There is a coffee stand in the dining area for guests to enjoy quality coffee as well.

The interesting thing about all Homewood Suites is the evening reception. On the nights we were there it included beef and eggplant. You also get a free drink (alcoholic included).

The staff at this Homewood were especially friendly. On our first night we had to change rooms because the folks on the top floor were marching. The receptionist immediately gave us another room and made sure we were happy.

Everything at this hotel is excellent and I do not have any complaints. However, to be truthful I do have to say that the clientele at this hotel are mostly families with young children that want to visit the neighboring "LEGOLAND". As you can imagine, with too many children around you get noise issues and a mess at breakfast time. These are not the fault of the hotel, just points you have to keep in mind.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid having any noise issues. Insolation of noise is not that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, CA
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just to start off...we stayed here last weekend on Hilton Honor points. Sorry to say this is the second time in a row that Homewood Suites have disappointed me. I am usually very loyal to the Hilton brand but I am not sure what is going on lately. This was our first visit to this Homewood Suites. We arrived early in the morning after a long 7 hour drive from Northern CA. We planned to go to Legoland for the day and then crash at the hotel. I thought I would give it a shot and try to check in early....it was a NO GO. I was told they were sold out last night and none of the rooms were ready yet. Okay, no problem....I told the front desk clerk that we would be going to Legoland for the day. She said 'give me your number and I will call you when the room is ready, should be around 12noon.' Well okay that sounded great! Well that is as far as it went. She took my number and who knows what she did with it because we never received a call. This wasn't such a problem at the time because we were having a great time at Legoland. Well the day ended and we drove back to the hotel to check in and guess what....only (1) room in our category available. Oh wow! Really....great customer service (not)! So we check in the room and immediately my husband and kids start complaining about the loud noise coming from the center wall of the room. It was some kind of condensor or something making a LOUD continuous noise. So I call back down to the front desk and they provide us with keys to another room...an accesible room which was fine and quiet. I have to say the first room we checked into the sofa chair had considerable and visible stains on it. I thought WOW that is pretty gross! Guess what the second room had the same exact type of stains on the same sofa chair! REALLY gross!! On top of terrible customer service from the front desk, dirty furniture and loud noises near some of the guest rooms I will never stay here again...even if it is free!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear mariard,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad. We regret to hear about your disappointment during your stay and we do extend our sincere apologies for the various challenges that you experienced. Our goal is for each guest to have an enjoyable stay and we appreciate you sharing with us areas that may need improvements. We are very sorry the front desk did not follow up with you and for the condition of the chair in both rooms. Your comments have been shared with our team members and the appropriate actions are being taken to address these matters.
We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests as well as making adjustments to enhance our overall guest experience. We hope you return in the future and provide us with another opportunity to be of service to you. If there is anything about your stay you would like to further discuss, I would be happy to hear from you. Please call me at the hotel anytime.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
(760) 431-2266 ext 5442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Took the family to Legoland and the beach, which are minutes from the hotel. Well-located and good value for the area. For families, the breakfast buffet is a great option albeit don't expect anything fancy or made-to-order. The hotel was very clean. Free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent Hotel for the Family. My boys love Lego land and this hotel is 5 min away. The complementary breakfast is a significant savings for a family. The full kitchen was nice to have also. I highly recommend this hotel if your in Carlsbad and/or visiting Lego land.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom 2 bath unit was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justice
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel has everything a family on vacation need...The receptionists were very professional and helpful throughout our 8 days stay..Our room was across the receptionist and close to the breakfast lounge and the pool but we didn't hear any loud noise or running around.. It was actually pretty convenient for my teenager son when he wakes up early for his breakfast and for my daughter who always wanted to be on the pool every night.. The room was comfortable and roomy enough for two teenagers and two adult. The beds are comfortable and soft, the bathroom has enough water pressure to help ease our tired muscles after walking in town. The kitchen has everything we can possibly need if wanted to cook any meals but we the manager's welcome dinner Monday to Thursday, we really didn't have to. The free four days free dinner and wine helped us with our budget and the dinner were delicious, plenty and filling. The free breakfast every day was enough to start our day and can satisfy every one's taste...The hotel even have a couple of grill which we actually use on our last night, we bought a ready seasoned barbecue beef, a ready cook steamfresh corn and peas and bread.. The hotel has a laundry facility as well for convenience...The hotel is close to restaurant, thai, sushi, steaks and others...The Carlsbad beach is nice but the wave was just too strong for my kids...Overall, nice hotel with all the convenience we need .....we will definitely go back if we are in San Diego area again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our stay here. It was close enough to Legoland and we were able to take advantage of the daily free breakfast and Monday - Thursday, they even had dinner! We would definitely stay at a Homewood Suites again. It was nice to be able to use a full kitchen to prepare meals for my son who has food allergies and having a full sized refrigerator was great! There was even a dishwasher in the room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Lauralei T,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor! I am so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and all of the amenities we offer in our rooms! I am glad to hear you will definitely stay at a Homewood Suites again, and hope to have you back in Carlsbad! Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.