We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlsbad Homewood Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
“Carlsbad Homewood Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The facility was very well maintained, staff was very helpful and courteous. Complimentary breakfast was excellent and enjoyed the early evening complimentary beer and wine! Had a great experience with my family there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Timmy C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us at the Homewood Suites Carlsbad! I'm very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and the complimentary breakfast and evening reception. Thank you for noticing the quality of food and beverage we strive to offer our guests as well as the level of service. I greatly appreciate your kind words and hope to have you stay with us again the next time you are in the Carlsbad/San Diego area!

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    143
    35
    14
    14
See reviews for
386
53
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The people were very friendly, pricing was alright, heated pool, jacuzzi, the room was spacey for a hotel room, bed's VERY comfortable, and a good amount of tv channels. The bathroom was very nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Krishna K,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, particularly our spacious suites and our comfortable beds! Being an all suite hotel, our rooms allow you to enjoy extra space with the privacy of a separate living room and bedroom area. I greatly appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure to be of service to you again!

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

OK, so we stay at a lot of Homewood Suites. For the most part, they all look alike. Where they can stand apart are some of the amenities offered, and customer service. We usually stay at this property at least once a year when we come to Carlsbad. Depending on the season, it can be a bit pricier than other locations. We got an OK rate, but not as good as other visits.

For this trip it was me and the boys (8 & 9) for the first two nights. Big Poppa joined us over the weekend. This property upgraded the beer selection at their evening reception pretty significantly from the usual Bud/Bud Light with Stone IPA and I believe another CA premium (maybe Lost Coast?). Yay! After a long day with Primo and Segundo, sometimes Momma needs to unwind a bit, you know what I mean? The food was also better than the usual fare, nothing special, but enough to cobble together a light meal if you don't want to venture out.

Also, they offer a free shuttle within a five mile radius. I don't know if this is a new service, or I never noticed it before. In either case, you can save yourself $15 parking over at Legoland and get dropped off right at the front.

Overall, a good experience. I'm sure we'll be back sometime next year.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ShesaBadMammaJamma,

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad to hear you had the opportunity to indulge in our premium draft beers after your long days! We have a total of four beers on tap. We always keep Bud Light and like to offer a variety of premium beers for the other three. Our newest addition is Agave Wheat from Aztec Brewery, a local brewery located just a couple miles from the hotel!

I am so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities we offer including our complimentary shuttle. It certainly is convenient to avoid parking fees and a crowded parking lot in the summer! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I look forward to having you stay with us again next year!

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Good stay. The pillows were horrible. I had to call the front desk and ask 3 times before they brought me extra washcloths and towels. They did have free breakfast and dinner with beer and wine with dinner. Other than the towel fiasco the stay and staff was good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear jljclark3,

Thank you for your review! I apologize you found our pillows to be horrible and that you had to contact the front desk three times before receiving your extra towels. We are in the process of bedding improvements which include new sofa mattresses (within the next month) and all new bedding and pillows which should be complete in the next sixty days. We are conveniently located to Legoland and hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle! Again, I do sincerely apologize you had to contact the front desk multiple times but greatly appreciate your pleasant review. I hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you again the next you visit Legoland!

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We came for 11 days on July on Tripadvisor recomendations. It was everything and more than promised. Our 2 girls 11 and 13 met other kids t play with for hours in the pool at the end of the day of either hitting the nearby beaches, shoping or visiting theme parks. The parents can retire at the end of the day Monday to Thursday with a free meal and free beer and wine compliments of the very helpful and friendly staff. We had a "king suite" which was quiet, clean and very comfortable. They could improve the quality of pull out mattress, but it was not as bad as the Seinfeld episode. We went to the local state beach at the ned of Palomar airpoty road, excellend beach with lifeguards and great surfing. We enjoyed the Mexican restaurant "Especiale Norte" in Encinitas with authentic cuisine. When we told the staff we were going to LA for the day, they printed off directions without even asking! There are not many hotels that go this far for it's patrons. We will be back. A sidenote, I was concerned with its proximity to a small airport, we heard no real noise at all.

Room Tip: We selected a 3rd floor at the back, just in case the kids above like to jump off the bed all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Travelfoodwrtiter,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for sharing your pictures! I am so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations from our TripAdvisor reviews. Our entire staff is committed to excellent customer service and I'm glad our front desk team was so helpful with your trip to LA. McClellan-Palomar Airport is just across the street but as you mentioned you can hear from very little noise from inside the hotel. I am very happy our sofa mattress was not as bad as the Seinfeld episode! :) We are in the midst of upgrading them and the entire project should be complete within the next thirty days! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to be your home away from home the next time you are in Carlsbad!

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Probably the best hotel experience I've ever had. So much bang for your buck! Front desk employees were courteous, helpful and welcoming. The King Room Suite was beautifully appointed with nice furniture and appliances. More importantly, it smelled clean! The dining facilities were tidy and functional. Breakfast was delicious with hot homemade waffles, whipped cream and fresh strawberries. Friendly dining room employees worked swiftly to replenish food and drinks. But don't make the mistake of being late, otherwise you'll wait in the "waffle war" line. Dinner was tasty, especially the Creole Pork and Teriyaki Chicken. Pool area was busy with many laughing children and friendly adults. Met some really nice people there. I made a mistake on my check out date and they gave me the day for free and waived my pet fee!!!! When does that ever happen? We will always come back to this particular Homewood Suites Hotel. Thank you, Kim Shattuck (General Manager) for a job well done.

Room Tip: The third floor seems to be more quiet. I never heard airport noise of any kind. Although the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear sylvia g,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review about your stay with us! I'm glad you enjoyed the comforts of your room and had the opportunity to indulge in the complimentary meals. The hot breakfast buffet is available each morning and dinner, including beer & wine, is Monday through Thursday. We offer a rotating menu to ensure variety no matter how long you stay! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. They always love to hear from our guests and they will be pleased to know you had such a positive experience. We strive to provide each and every one of our guests with an exceptional stay and look forward to having you back each time you visit Carlsbad!

Sincerely,
Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It had everything we needed and more. Service was impeccable and accommodating. All staff members were super friendly and very helpful. If something needed attention, they fixed it. Hilton Homewood Suites is the way to go for my family from now on. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear mariakoellner, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and our staff! Our entire team is committed to ensuring your stay is a pleasant one and I am glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again, and appreciate your new found loyalty to Homewood Suites by Hilton! Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Kimberly Shattuck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.