We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I usually love this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I usually love this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 times and keep coming back with my family. We really love this hotel- the breakfast in the morning, the dinner reception at night, the kitchenette in our room, the heated pool.... And on top of that we are able to bring our family pet along on our vacation! We just got home from our most recent stay and unfortunately this stay wasn't as great as the others. When we got our keys and walked into our room there was a pepperoni on the floor. Ew? Then in our room under the bed skirt there was a candy wrapper. Not a big deal to us, we understand that those things happens sometimes. We were certainly not going to say anything about it, it's just not a huge deal to us. Next we headed to the pool (around 3:30...) and there were no towels by the pool. I went in and asked the front desk if we should use our room towels of if there were pool towels? They said they would send someone right out with some towels. At 4:30 after an hour of swimming, when we were ready to get out and get cleaned up for dinner at 5, there still had been to towels brought out. :( Then the next morning we go to breakfast around 8:30 and there's barely anyone in the breakfast area (that's why I love visiting this hotel mid-week and in the off-season- it's so quiet!). I moved a small 2 person table next to a 4 person table so that my family of 5 would be accomodated for breakfast and we had a very nice breakfast together. There's always plenty of food and a great variety. As we were getting close to finishing up I decided to start making some room at the table, before one of the kids accidentally knocked something over, so I brought a few plates to the plate bin and through some trash away etc. When I came back to the table a member of the staff was at our table moving our two tables apart. My kids, not knowing what else to do, got up and were standing around the table wondering why the tables were being taken apart.. When I went back over there the lady (she was a heavier hispanic lady) said "I need to put the tables back.". Uh.. okay?? I was so confused! There's no one here so it's not an issue of needing for tables for other people?? And there's still 30 minutes left for the complimentary breakfast?? It was so bizarre. Anyways, I've never had a bad experience at this hotel until now but I'm sure these were just isolated incidents and I hope if we return again one day it will be an experience like the great ones we've had in the past.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    135
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
360
47
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel staff was incredibly friendly, hotel is clean and rooms are quality. Location is great for the Oceanside, Carlsbad, Encinitas area business travel. I have found Homewood Suites to be a great place to stay on business travel, and while I have not stayed in one with my family, I would choose Homewoods for leisure as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family stayed here last summer during our visit to Carlsbad/San Diego/LegoLand. We had a corners suite (sorry can't remember the room #) that was quiet and perfect. The kitchenette was great and really helped stretch our food budget - Trader Joe's nearby. Our kids loved the pool and ping pong table. The ping pong table is too close to the guest BBQ grills (our boys got yelled at by a crabbly coupld grilling a meal).

Its a short drive to LegoLand, the beach and San Diego. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The best hotel I've stayed at in this price range. All the emenities of a luxury hotel for the price of Motel6 (three people in a suite worked out to $66 each per night.) The complimentary breakfast, Managers evening reception, and dinners also provided savings and the convenience of staying in one location for most meals. The location was far enough away from HWY 5 that there was no freeway noise, yet the proximatey to the freeway provided easy access to all the locations scheduled in our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great stay and experience. we really enjoyed it and would certaily recommend others try it too. Wish more hotels were lke this one. you have to be anut to be doing this because the review designers are insisting that I write a minimum of 200 characters. I think they are nuts. If they want an honest opinion, they should not demand 200 characters.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a great hotel. Based on the parking lot and amount of people I saw come in, the hotel was probably full but it remained organized and quiet. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Couch was a bit uncomfortable but beds were perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have 2 year old twins so the only way we could get some alone time after the boys go to sleep was to get a suite. The full kitchen was perfect for being able to prepare meals for the boys. THe breakfast was great. Both my boys now regularly request "muffins".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.