We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst sleep of my life” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst sleep of my life”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beds are okay but sofa bed is like sleeping right on the metal frame! My family has three more nights to go, I asked front desk for help but there was a message on my phone saying we already had a newer mattress and there was nothing hy could do, definitely the worst sofa bed we've encountered. Not the sleep I had hoped for staying at a Hilton owned property. The Internet connection is very poor. Everything else is excellent. Very nice breakfast, I will be curious to see if they listened to the previous review and offer a vegetarian option at Monday's reception. I would never book here again if I required a sofa bed, without a good sleep it tends to ruin a vacation!

Room Tip: Don't expect a Hilton quality sleep at this location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were unable to sleep well on the sofa sleeper. We are looking into getting extra matress pads for the sofa sleepers during these high demand times. I am glad you are enjoying the breakfast.

Thompson Mosher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    136
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
361
47
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stay at a lot of hotels for business. This place BY FAR goes over the top to make sure each customer is comfortable and enjoying their stay. I enter and exit with staff smiling at me asking if I need anything. At dinner, I say I am from the east coast and the staff connects me with other "east coasters". I never complain or compliment but this place deserves a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time here with us and the staff took great care of you. We stride to make each and every guest feel welcome and look forward to seeing them again when they return for the same feeling. Hope to see you again when visiting the San Diego area also!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel has by far the best staff. Everyone is always smiling, always offering assistance, and so personable. Even the way the staff communicate and work together is astounding. The rooms are always clean, with a "homey feeling". Water and fresh coffee always available in the lobby, never runs out. The breakfast and dinner offered is wonderful with a large and clean seating area. complimentary beer and wine is a plus, always with a smiling bartender! I would rave about this place to anyone. This hotel is great for families, couples, business, and vacation. Thank you for always making me feel at home Homewood Suites, Carlsbad!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We like to say this is your "home away from home", and I am glad we were able to make you feel this way. So now you know you always have a home in the San Diego area. Please Come home soon, we already miss you. ;) Thank you for your kind words they will be shared with the staff.

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am writing this review half way through a 10 day stay at this hotel. We are here at the tail end of a 7 week extended holiday in California, Arizona and Nevada. We decided to stay here instead of putting in an extra 1000 miles before returning home from San Diego at the end of the month.

I would rate this hotel as overwhelmingly positive. The suite is clean, modern with a comfortable king bed, two flat screen TVs (one in the bedroom and one in the living room). A complete, modern kitchen with a well stocked cupboard, a good wi-fi connection. Breakfast is nice with a wide choice in the morning, including the usual eggs, bacon, waffles, toast, yogurt, fruit salad, etc. From Monday - Thursday, the hotel offers a complimentary dinner with wine and beer. Finally, the staff could not do more for us.

However, I want to comment on the following. We arrived during the spring school break in California and Arizona. The hotel is packed with families. At breakfast and dinner, it is nigh impossible to find a table. Breakfast is served between 7 - 9 in the morning a dinner from 5 - 7 in the evening. Because of the huge number of families with young children, the dining experience is chaotic to say the least. During the school holidays, the hotel's dining hours should be expanded to compensate for the crowd. I suggested this to management and they said their dining hours are governed by Hilton corporate policy. While I understand they must follow the company's rules, the company should understand that one size does not fit all and it should make leeway for extraordinary circumstances.

My other comment is that there is no vegetarian choice on the complimentary dinner. We are vegetarians. Staff did everything they could to accommodate our vegetarian requirements. They went out and bought food for us. But, it woud have been easier for them (and perhaps for other clients who are not as vocal as we are in insisting upon vegetarian meals) that they provide a vegetarian selection up front. We were told we were the only ones requesting a vegetarian meal. While I have no doubt this was the case and again, staff were more than accommodating, would it not be easier if they could provide an alternative selection up front?

The hotel is on a major street. That said, parking is easy and the rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am glad you all decided to extend your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback about the vegetarian options. We will be sure to look into that and possibly extending out the breakfast hours during busy times. We hope to see you all back soon!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend and this place can beat any 5 star hotel hands down with the kind of service they provide.I was amazed at how friendly the hotel staff is and how willingly helpful they were.The Breakfast was very good and the kids had a great time playing in the Pool.
The rooms are very clean and i would definitely recommend this place to anybody traveling to Carlsbad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are happy that you found the Homewood Suites in Carlsbad a great place to stay for the clean rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon!!! Thank You for your great review.

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Not sure what they are putting in the water for the employees of Homewood Suites in Carlsbad but Hilton should bottle it and have employees at all their properties drink it. Their customer service is consistently fantastic...from all employees. Friendly, results oriented and attentive. I was a bit worried about the location beside the airport but it isn't an issue at all. This is a highly recommend if you will be in the area for business or pleasure, with kids or without.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank You for your kind review. We stride to be the best when it comes to service in the area and we glad you were able to experiance that level that we shoot for. Look forward to seeing you again in the future!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really wonderful place to stay close to Pendleton and downtown San Diego. Very helpful staff, quiet and clean room! Homewood Suites is my favorite brand of hotel to use while traveling in the continental US. Very much appreciate the efficiency and effectiveness of their accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Many of our guests are visiting Camp Pendleton, and we are glad you were one of them. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.