We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazzzzing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend and this place can beat any 5 star hotel hands down with the kind of service they provide.I was amazed at how friendly the hotel staff is and how willingly helpful they were.The Breakfast was very good and the kids had a great time playing in the Pool.
The rooms are very clean and i would definitely recommend this place to anybody traveling to Carlsbad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are happy that you found the Homewood Suites in Carlsbad a great place to stay for the clean rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon!!! Thank You for your great review.

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    149
    37
    14
    14
See reviews for
405
56
22
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Not sure what they are putting in the water for the employees of Homewood Suites in Carlsbad but Hilton should bottle it and have employees at all their properties drink it. Their customer service is consistently fantastic...from all employees. Friendly, results oriented and attentive. I was a bit worried about the location beside the airport but it isn't an issue at all. This is a highly recommend if you will be in the area for business or pleasure, with kids or without.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank You for your kind review. We stride to be the best when it comes to service in the area and we glad you were able to experiance that level that we shoot for. Look forward to seeing you again in the future!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really wonderful place to stay close to Pendleton and downtown San Diego. Very helpful staff, quiet and clean room! Homewood Suites is my favorite brand of hotel to use while traveling in the continental US. Very much appreciate the efficiency and effectiveness of their accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Many of our guests are visiting Camp Pendleton, and we are glad you were one of them. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Clean, friendly staff,comfortable room. Will stay again next time that we are in the area. The only complaint is that the breakfast could be improved on. The scrambled eggs tasted as if they were out of a can and a tad dry. Otherwise no complaints. Good location across McClellan airport. Pet Friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are always looking to make your experience better. I will be sure to take a look into what we can do to enhance our breakfast experience for everyone. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've already reviewed this place twice, and there isn't much more to say about it. Some of the issues we faced in my previous review didn't seem to be a problem, and while I didn't think it was fair this time to give a 4 on the scale, but 5 is too high. There was one thing that really bothered me about out stay:

Internet access: I appreciate that the internet access, both wired and wireless is free. However, at times the speed of the service was slow, or would cut out entirely for brief periods. I primarily used the wired option hooked up to my own wireless router to avoid multiple logins on multiple devices, and thought that would be a solution to weak wifi signals. I would appreciate an upgrade of the hotel's internet infrastructure, as that was an issue at our last stay, but I didn't mention it in my review.

Otherwise, the normal things were done right and well. Room was kept clean by housekeeping. Staff are friendly. Food won't win any awards, but is edible and well stocked. The wine and beer provided Monday-Thursday nights during the dinner hours were nice touches.

We will stay here again on our next SoCal adventure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are happy to know you continue to come back to stay with us. We are always working towards providing a more enjoyable stay each time you visit. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location to go around Carlsbad / lego land / SanDiego zoo / beach...
Great room as we had a 2 rooms suite with the kids, the pool is just right for the kids.
The breakfasts and evening receptions are very convinient and good quality.
But the best was the overall team / staff all very nice and helpfull, they made our stay very enjoyable and TOM the manager was making sure all was fine.

Room Tip: There are plenty of different access doors so park next to the one that is the most convinient to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
J-P D, It was great to meet you and your family. The staff and I look forward to seeing you all again in the future!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
228 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Actually, in the big picture of running a hotel - these folks have it right, and could easily instruct those who don't (often, much pricier places).
What they should never change -staff, cleanliness, family-friendly attitude, and willingness to go the extra mile (I was in the Business Center trying to open a .pdf file with our Legoland tickets, and the virus program in there simply would not let me open it; the desk clerk simply had me email it to her from my phone and voila! Outstanding!)
About the building - large, with nicely appointed suites, great appliances, and a small, but functional table to dine, or use as a work area. The elevator is not unusually fast ... but neither is it unusually slow.
What I would like to see improved: one of our remote controls had dead batteries. It's a small thing, but kids depend on those. Of course, it was no big deal, and I'm sure they would have taken care of it immediately if we had said something, but we didn't. Our only time in the room was spent unwinding/sleeping. Other posters have mentioned the motion-sensitive light switches: they are irritating, but I can certainly see the need - and the savings they can create for the hotel. Final answer- they're acceptable.
Finally, the shuttle service. BRAVO! Timely, friendly, and an incredible option, rather than paying to park at Legoland.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back - no airport noise at all. Seems like a quiet area overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the shuttle service during your stay. We feel that is a great way to save money instead of parking at LEGO Land also. Hope to see you back again soon!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.