We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Comfortable, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #9 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Waunakee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extremely Comfortable, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a terrific hotel. The rooms are spacious, I love the kitchen area and the ability to have refridgerated items for the stay. TV channel selections are great, and the workout room is larger than the typical hotel workout room. Breakfast items were good quality, and although I didn't eat the dinner fare, it also looked pretty good for complimentary food. The staff were also great, the front desk and the serving people in the food area - very helpful and pleasant. Two things some people might not care for - the little TVs on the treadmills and the cross trainer don't work, and the wall paper in the bathroom was peeling a little near the floor. That doesn't bother me but it can lead people to feel the rooms are outdated. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly F, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms during your stay. Our staff is excited to see you enjoyed your interaction with them. I'm glad we had the opportunity to be your hotel of choice when you traveled to our little hidden paradise, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!!!

Thank You,

Thompsom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    123
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
338
42
19
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, OR
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Easy to find, very clean, typical excellent Homewood service, good well maintained breakfast area that may have been a touch better than some other Homewood locations, plenty of parking and an excellent complimentary wi-fi connection. Not very far from some nice beaches. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We loved this place!! The rooms are awesome with the two queens and full kitchen. The pool area was very nice. The only knock I would have is that the pool is pretty small and the hot tube was to hot to sit in for much more than 5 minutes. Otherwise breakfast was great, the free meals on Monday-Thursday help save a lot of money for a family. Great place recommend it to anyone who staying in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly F, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our evening meals. We look forward to taking care of you again when you return and thank you for recommending us to others in the future!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in July for a week to explore the surroundings: Legoland (a must, travelling with 2 children under the age of 3), strawberry pick-up, ocean, beaches. The suite was very comfortable, really loved to have our master bedroom with a door... Two TV, one in the bedroom, one in the living room equipped with a comfortable sofa bed. What I liked the most is the fully equipped kitchen with a nice size refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishawaher! Staff was great, really helpful and caring, they even let us borrow two high chairs for the whole week. Pool is a nice size. Dinner at the restaurant was a plus, we got also a free beer tasting night; breakfast really good, the room is really big with a large patio with a ping-pong table. If you want to spend a few days in this beautiful area, feeling like at home, but without having to do the chores... this is the right place to be,

Room Tip: We stayed in a room close to the pool but on the other side of the corridor. I would avoid room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is only a few minutes from Legoland, so most of guests staying here are families with young children, including our family. The hotel looks new, smells great and is very clean. The staff was helpful and friendly.

The room was a standard Homewood one bedroom suite with separate kitchen/living and one bedroom. There is a free hot breakfast buffet complete with three waffle makers (two of them make mini waffles, which were a hit with kiddos) with blueberry and regular waffle mix to chose from. There are also eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice, and milk. A nice surprise was the free dinner and drinks each night as well. We had meatballs with mashed potatoes and gravy one night and hamburgers from the grill another night. This is a busy hotel, so get to the meals early if you want lots of options and a table for the family. My husband enjoyed the free wine and beer. The pool is on the smaller side, but it is heated and there is a nice hot tub as well. There are laundry facilities on site which are $1.50 to wash and same to dry, but the detergent and softer are free from the front desk.

Overall, the hotel was very nice and I would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAMFORD
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We, along with our kids and grandkids, spent a week in this hotel as we explored the area sites. Located near Legoland, San Diego Zoo's Safari Park, Birch Aquarium and not-too-far away San Diego itself. Each morning, the hotel offered a vast selection of food, enough to fill each of us with our favorite items, from bagels to waffles to fresh fruit. The hotel staff offered helpful hints and some discount tickets for our travels. Monday - Thursday, a complementary dinner was available. Nothing great but after spending big bucks on the local sites, a welcome relief.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine. Neighboring noise is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly F, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond and provide positive feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience. Hopefully you will decide to take a trip back out to Carlsbad and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Homewood Suites in Carlsbad is near the small Palomar Airport and not too far from Legoland. I've stayed here twice on business for my former employer.

I've always found the check-in experience to be quite pleasant with friendly, accomodating staff to greet me. There is a generous sized lobby and breakfast area with the morning breakfast well-stocked with bagels and pastries and a few other items. There's also a pool, business center, and workout room.

The hotel rooms themselves are nicely appointed. I stayed in the King suite with a separate living room area with a sofa and upholstered chair and coffee table. There is also a kitchen with a full-sized fridge, not the mini-fridge you usually get in suite hotels. There was complimentary wi-fi and flat-screen TVs in both the living room and bedroom. The housekeeping was immaculate during my stay.

I typically stay at the nearby Residence Inn, which is also nice, when I am in town, but I think the Homewood Suites might actually be a bit better. There is also a Hampton Inn right next door to Homewood if you're a fan of that chain.

Overall, I would say that this is a very good property for business travelers or families in town to visit Legoland. I have no reservations--pun intended--in recommending it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly F, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your response and positive feedback! We greatly appreciate your business and and are grateful you decide to stay with us when traveling to Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.