We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great but too noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sydney
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Could have been great but too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our family of 5 used this hotel as a base for Legoland. First impressions were good and we enjoyed a tasty dinner and glass of wine when we checked in. Our room was large (2 bedrooms and good size bathrooms). On our first morning we were woken at 545 by the people above us stomping around. An early start so we had breakfast then went to Legoland. In the evening we heard yelling and screaming from the courtyard and pool area until 1030pm when staff sent the teenagers to their rooms. We were woken at 530 am when a group of teenagers congregated in the pool area. Our windows were closed but the noise carried. It is a shame that this property is so noisy, without being woken so early each day we would have thought it a great place to stay. When we complained about the noise on the first day we were given a pack with a bottle of water and cookies. When we mentioned the excessive noise from the courtyard on checkout staff didn't seem to care. It would be good if the pool area was not accesible before 7am so guests could enjoy a sleep in if they wanted to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor not facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWGeneralManager, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Jaynic,

First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. We like to hear feedback from our guests, positive and negative. In this instance, we look forward to learning from your feedback. We appreciate your candor and your suggestion about a later opening for the pool area. We are very sorry that you were inconvenienced by the noise and were woken earlier than desired on your trip. We also apologize that our staff seemed not to care when you mentioned this at checkout. This will be addressed as we should always strive for excellent customer service. Again, thank you for your feedback and again, our apologies we were unable to achieve a 'great' stay. We do hope you will consider staying with us again, knowing that your issues will be taken seriously.

Warm Regards,

Drew Allison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    143
    35
    14
    14
See reviews for
386
53
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunkport, Maine
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable. Usually pretty full because of it's location close to the beach, shops and Legoland. Breakfast is good. Monday thru Thursday dinner is served (at no extra cost) and is usually pretty good. The hotel is pet friendly. The suites are a good size and have a full kitchen. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Worth a stay. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The front of the hotel overlooks a fairly busy road and a small airport. Have a good stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWGeneralManager, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Kay S,

Thank you very much for your review of your most recent stay here with us at Homewood Suites Carlsbad. We were happy to hear you were so pleased with our hotel and enjoyed your stay. We are committed to good service at our hotel and love to hear when we execute successfully! We do hope you will return to stay with us soon.

Thanks again!

Warm Regards,

Drew Allison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed Feb 7-11, 2012. We were immediately impressed with the staff when we arrived over 4 hours early for check in. We were given a choice of the rooms that were ready for us. We chose a room away from the lobby and the pool and we never heard any airplanes from the airport across the street. When we arrived we unpacked and found plenty of room for our clothing between the 2 dressers and the full closet. Everything was clean and the refrigerator and freezer were both cold & ready. We went to Ralph's for supplies since it was the closest to the hotel. The beds were very comfortable, they were on the soft side, but that didn't bother us. The breakfast was great every day, having something a little different, from eggs & potatoes to cheese omelets and corn beef hash. The dinners for the Tues-Thurs nights we were there were posted on the refrigerator so we knew what would be served. We had chicken florentine, egg plant parmesian, & chicken sandwiches. Coming from somebody very picky there was still plenty for everybody including the beer & wine! It was great and all included. The gym was small with 4 cardio machines and dumbells up to 50lbs with only 1 bench. It was fine for me, but my husband went to a local gym. We will be looking at staying in a Homewood in Ft Lauderdale come this May we loved it so much.

Room Tip: Our room was on the outside away from the lobby and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our family booked this hotel for what was originally going to be just a 4 night stay, with another 3 nights to be spent in Orange County. We changed our travel plans to the full 7 days in the San Diego area and extended our stay here, partially because it was a great hotel to use as a base for all our excursions.

This place was perfect for a family with two very young children. The bedroom in the suite was large, and could accomodate a crib without crowding the room. The living area of the suite was also large enough to accomodate a sofa bed (which we didn't use), a coffee table, an easy chair, and a small play area. The kitchenette had a full sized fridge, dishwasher, two burner stove, and a venting microwave unit. The room was always spotless when we came back from our excursions, and we were happy to tip our housecleaning staff generously.

For the most part, the rest of the hotel was fantastic too. The exercise room looked fantastic (I couldn't use it due to an injury). The pool and hot tub were great to have. The breakfast room was large, as was the breakfast buffet itself. Was the food the greatest? No, but it was edible, and well stocked. The only complaint I could find with the hotel itself was the parking lot. It seemed to us that the parking stalls were a little smaller than normal, because we found many people taking up more than one stall, or you felt like sardines whenever someone parked next to you.

For our purposes, the location was great. We visited Orange County a couple of days, and the one hour drive was quite easy. The 30-45 minutes drive to the San Diego Zoo and Sea World were quite manageable as well, so long as you didn't try to come back up I-5 in rush hour. If you went west on Palomar Airport Road to the end, you wound up on Carlsbad Blvd., and the beachfront there. You were less than 3 miles away from the I-5 and Carlsbad Premium Outlets. Costco, Albertsons, Target, CVS, and several restaurants were also nearby.

Without hesitation, we will book here again in future!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Everything about our stay was perfect! Very nice hotel, large comfortable rooms, uber clean. Ian and his staff went out of their way to accomodate our large group, and everyone was very happy! Would absolutely stay here again, and will look for other Homewood Suites in other cities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWGeneralManager, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear HappyRobin,

On behalf of all us here at Homewood Suites Carlsbad, we want to say thank you for your gracious review. We love to hear from our guests and appreciate the time you took to write and post this review. We will make sure to share your words with Ian and the entire staff.

Thank you again, and we hope you will be back soon to stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Drew Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

There was 3 adults and 3 kids (4,6,8), we stayed in a 2 king bedroom suite- (grandma had her own bedroom, husband and I had our own and our 3 kids had the livingroom area with pullout couch, a great kitchen area, 2 bathrooms(time saver in the morning and evening). A great free breakfast - lots to choose from hot (oatmeal, waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage etc.. switched up every day or cold - bagels, cereal, bread, muffins, fruit, yogurt). We also took advantage of the free suppers mon-thurs with free beer and wine 5pm-7pm. Everyday was something different and posted in your room the menu - it was enough to eat and keep some extra easy stuff in your room (with fridge and microwave) if there is someone still hungry or didnt like the food - but you save lots of money if you can do this. There is other options to eat at - mostly 10 mins away. Legoland and sea life 5 min drive, seaworld and zoo - 1/2 hour, beach 10 mins. LA - 2 hours (we did tar pits, car museum and pirate dinner) - (but really depends on traffic and time of day).
Bontanical Gardens - 15 mins (beautiful place with lots to look at and see all kinds of fruit, plants, flowers, herbs from around the world. We were there for 10 nights.

Room Tip: Not about a room but Take advantage of the car pool lanes if you have more than 2 people in the vehi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWGeneralManager, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Familyof3kids,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent family vacation. We appreciate your business and your feedback! We are glad to hear that you found our rooms comfortable, our location convenient and enjoyed both our breakfasts and evening dinner and drinks. We consider the meals we offer a great value and love to hear that our guests enjoyed them! We hope you return to stay with us on your next family trip, and wish you continued safe travels.

Warm Regards,

Drew Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We've tried vacation rentals for our visits to SoCal grandkids, but over the years, we've yet to find the perfect VRBO unit in Carlsbad. So, we keep coming back to our favorite -- Homewood Suites. The downside is the proximity to Legoland. On the holidays, this place is jammed full of families with small children. But, that's also the upside for adults. Most of the parents don't have time for workouts, so we use the excellent fitness room while they're having breakfast. The place clears out during the day while the families visit Legoland or the zoo, leaving the pool, laundry, and other amenities free for us. If you really don't want to be around kids when you travel, this place is not for you. But, we've found it suits our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might want to request the third (top) floor rooms, where you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWGeneralManager, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear GrammaCom,

We are so pleased to hear you keep coming back! We appreciate you taking the time to write and post your gracious review as we love to hear from our guests. It means a lot to us to know that you enjoy your visits with us so much. We take customer service to heart and hearing that we are your favorite means we are successful in our goal! We sincerely thank you for your repeat business, and we look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,

Drew Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.