We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd go back in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pelican Cove Inn to your Saves list
Pelican Cove Inn
320 Walnut Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Carlsbad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We'd go back in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just spent five lovely nights here. What a blessing for travelers. Walk to shops, restaurants and beach, beautiful gardens, quiet nights, super-good food (and cookies) great hostess. We come down to South Cal at least once a year, and this will be our first choice from now on!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
78
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

All the rave reviews you have read here are spot on. The PCI is a remarkable place. I grew up in Carlsbad and stayed there recently on a visit back. Filed this report to my wife: the only possible improvement would be to pick up the place and drop it on a beachfront lot. As it is, the beach is just two easy blocks away and everything else about the place is positively charming. Nancy is as wonderful as all the other reviewers say. Love it and will go back as soon and often as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

At least once a year for the past 10 years, I've gone to Pelican Cove to enjoy a getaway from San Diego. It is so peaceful and charming. The breakfasts are delicious and filling. I often don't even bother brining a car. Last time I was dropped off, and every day walked over to the nearby shopping center to enjoy a massage at Skinsational Spa. I spent time walking on the beach, drawing, and playing the violin, reading and watching TV. I also met some night people whom I chatted with at breakfast. I love the old-fashioned décor, which goes so well with the village of Carlsbad. I also go to the library not too far away.

Room Tip: Some have Jacuzzis, some a lot of light. All different. Some have really high beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I just loved this place in sunny Carlsbad, CA. The rooms were spacious enough with huge comfortable beds and delightful comfy white bedding on the beds. The landscape is so inviting and screams of California! It's a great place to stay in a very nice relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nancy is such a wonderful host and a superb cook! The featherbeds were so cozy and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. We were a very short walk from the beach and village. The best word to describe the Pelican Cove Inn- charming!!- that goes for Nancy too. Now that my daughter lives a short drive away anytime we come to visit from the East Coast we'll be staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoga Park, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First, and foremost, Nancy is an absolute gem. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely bed and breakfast and would come back in a heart beat. The entire experience was great. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and location was gorgeous. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pacific Room and absolutely loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We reserved the Carlsbad room for our "baby-moon" this last weekend. When we arrived we we immediately felt welcomed by Nancy and she offered us a free upgrade to the Santa Barbara room which was available. We promptly took advantage of her offer! The room was excellent with tons of space, a comfortable feather bed, romantic gas fireplace, and some large windows for a decent view. We loved her cooking - the banana bread in the evening and the French Toast Souffle breakfast in the morning were both delicious! She was quite hospitable, joyfully helping us with all our needs. It was a great place to stay and highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Santa Barbara Room was excellent - large and great windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Cove Inn

Address: 320 Walnut Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 2 blocks from the beach and easy walking distance to several restaurants in the Carlsbad village area. Take a break and relax at the Pelican Cove Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Pelican Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Cove Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.