We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tamales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norte

Norte
3003 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2906
760-729-0903
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great tamales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped overnight in Carlsbad and asked a local where to get good Mexican food. We got takeout which was very good. In particular, the pork tamale was outstanding and the grilled fish burrito had plenty of fish in it without being stuffed with carb high filling. The chicken in the tostada was cooked just right, still moist and tender. We would certainly return here next time we are in the the neighborhood.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    88
    106
    42
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go for the mole and relleno skip the taco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Really long menu with a lot of choices, beer served in frosty mugs(!) my relleno was superb as was my partners mole. My chicken taco was average. Lots of shrimp specialties. Nice waitron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

authentic Mexican food, outstanding service, terrific outdoor patio...my boys ages 10,8 and 7 loved the place! highly recommend for lunch or dinner in carlsbad

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poor Quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good Margarita but the food was poor quality. Horrible salsa. Good service but we ate at 4 o' clock and there were only 3 tables taken in the dining room

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Tip top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The best Mexican in San Diego. The totillia sauce is perfecto, waiers and waitreses always friendly and food is spectacular. The Tortillia soup and fried burrito are outrageously great! Have been there 10 times and look forward to going back 10 more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norte also viewed

 

Been to Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.