We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciated the Hamptons!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appreciated the Hamptons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Where do I start?!? I called the day before arrival, spoke with the happiest person alive (next to Disney employees) she was SUPER friendly & willing to answer all my questions. Check-In took a whopping 3 minutes! Room was as I expected, contemporary, clean, and roomy. Plenty of room for 4 suitcases...

We had an emergency with in 20 minutes of arrival, my friend dropped her diamond rock behind the vanity which is PERMANTLY fixed to the wall. Dario from maintenance was on his hand & knees attempting to even locate the ring behind the vanity with about 1/2" room to even see ... he created gadgets & gismos galore. And with the help of the last gadget he was able to retrieve the ring!! Thank You Dario!!

The complimentary HOT breakfast was great like others say, & there is plenty to eat even for the pickiest eaters.

Wish you a great stay at the Hampton!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    126
    36
    6
    7
See reviews for
161
48
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

I've always liked Hampton Inns for their consistent quality. I was a little disappointed in this one due to the thinness of the walls. I could easily hear the TV in the next room or a baby crying late at night several rooms down. I know this is southern California and insulation is not needed for weather purposes, however, I think somebody was asleep at the switch when the plans for this one were approved.

  • Liked — Plenty of Room
  • Disliked — No insulation between walls
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

we stayed here on our way from san diego to los angeles. our impression that hampton inns are great places to stay was again confirmed: very very friendly staff, modern, clean, nice rooms, the greatest beds, above average hot breakfast.

the location of this hotel is not the most attractive with not much apart from a highway around it but a big outlet mall with many interesting shops is close by as are the amazing beaches of orange county.

  • Liked — the staff and the bed
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nor Cal
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

Great choice for a short stay. New, modern and very clean. Very quiet rooms. Breakfast buffet was good, hot food items left a little to be desired. Short drive to Legoland.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

I recently stayed at this brand new Hampton Inn while attending a conference in San Marcos. I found the staff to be most accommodating. My friends and I noted that it seemed like we were returning each day to the home of a best friend. Our rooms were spotless and the breakfast hostess always so pleasant and nice. I have stayed at many Hampton Inn hotels, but this one offered superb customer service. The management should be congratulated on a well trained staff. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Liked — Easy access to the beach and Carlsbad. Good location for our attendees to meet from both San Diego and LA. Nice convenient mid point for us all.
  • Disliked — No room service or on-site restaurant, but they had lots of restaurants that delivered to the hotel.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Oh my, what a great place! Clean and quiet, the beds and pillows were so nice too. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast in the morning had a great variety, hot eggs and meat, fruit, bagels, cereal.. even my picky 5 year old eater was full when we left for the day. The only thing that was off was the bathroom and closet doors didn't play well with each other. :) We've told everyone to stay there when they go into the San Diego area. Thanks for a perfect, perfect stay. We'll be back.

Deanna
Mesa, AZ

  • Liked — The information about the Hotel was true and beyond
  • Disliked — The way the closet and bathroom doors opened, couldn't open the bathroom and closet door at the same time
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange,California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

My daughter and I just returned from a one night stay at the Hampton Inn. My daughter loved it! Located across the street from the Palomar Aiport and a couple miles from Legoland, the Inn was very nice. As we entered the hotel lobby, the hotel desk clerk greeted us and was friendly and polite. Our room was very clean and spacious for having two queen beds in it. All the amenties a from internet access to a coffee pot were available. The hotel also offers complimentary razors, shower caps, toothbrush and toothpaste upon request. The breakfast selection was great. There was cereal, oatmeal, all sorts of breads, juice, milk, coffee, hot chocolate. and fruit. The only negative about the hotel is there is no restaurant on the property so we had to drive a couple miles for dinner. Overall, we had a great stay and would return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.