We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay with great free breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good stay with great free breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Room was large and clean. Cleaning staff was a hit and miss. On one of the days, cleaning was very mediocre - towels and disposable cups were not refilled. Breakfast was great! The kitchen staff had something different prepared everyday and it tasted pretty good. Service was overall good. Internet connection was not stable and at times could not connect. Despite some others comments about thin walls, we didn't have any issues with noise at all. However, we did ask for a quite room on an upper level.

There's nothing to eat nearby, only within driving distance. Pretty close to Costco and the outlet mall.

Room Tip: 3rd floor end rooms are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    133
    39
    6
    8
See reviews for
176
49
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had an enjoyable stay here. Good breakfast and excellent service at the front desk - going above and beyond what's required. Good breakfast. Convenient location to businesses, shopping, and attractions. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was great! The room was big and clean, breakfast was great, it was close to Legoland, and the pool was warm and clean. Even though it is close to the airport, it was quiet and only a few minutes from the ocean. It's a good hotel for families. We would definitely stay there again. Hampton Inn - once again - delivered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel room and hallways had an strong sewer smell. Room was very noisy and bottom of the tub was covered with gray scum.
I had asked for mouthwash and was told that I had to purchase it although hotel brochure indicated that it can be provided at no cost.
Room was very noisy and I was given a room next to elevator. This is in spite of my direct call to this hotel 2 days in advance asking not to be placed next to the elevator.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while visiting Legoland last August. It was conveniently located and had all the familiar Hampton amenities (nice beds, decent breakfast, updated hotel). We didn't think that this hotel was quite as nice as the Hampton we had just stayed at in Camarillo. It was subtle, but we felt a little more "spoiled" at the other hotel. But, it was fine. I always love the clean duvets on the beds. The wifi worked well and the room was small but well outfitted.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice hotel but if you are on business don't expect the internet to work, it said 9 hours to send a 4MB file for business purposes, the only decent connection is in the lobby and even that is slow, if you don't need internet then a great hotel but it is the only Hampton Inn I have ever in my life visited, and I have been to many, that does not offer free USA today newspapers or chocolate chip cookies, every hampton I have been in, when I come home from a long days work I love their warm chocolate chip cookies, there are none available at this one, might not be a big thing for you but it is for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight for business and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel seemed more upscale than expected, especially for the price. It's fairly new and nicely decorated. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room is also nicely decorated, has a new duvet for each guest, a desk and lap desk, fridge and microwave and a coffee maker. I requested the top floor so no issue with noise. They have a gym with a couple of treadmills, an elliptical and weights. They include a hot buffet breakfast hi speed Internet and free parking. Overall a surprisingly great experience. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
3.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.