We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
SoBay, CA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Quick overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We didn't fully utilize what was available but found the room very comfortable, very clean and it felt secure and safe. The staff was attentive and courteous. Coming home late from a family event required parking and walking a ways to get into the building where our room was located. Not scary, just a little inconvenient.
The lobby and breakfast room appeared surprisingly upscale for the room rate we paid.
I would stay here again and see what all the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    126
    36
    6
    7
See reviews for
161
48
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ocean shores
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

newer hotel with friendly staff and kid friendly. we chose this hotel for location close to legoland and its newer hotel. it was clean and breakfast was good too. but i did hear people talking in the other room maybe not as good insulation? but it didnt matter to us we had kids!

Room Tip: if want clean hotel close to legoland and breakfast buffet its a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illa j, Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
This is illa at your Hampton Inn Carlsbad! We really enjoyed having you with us, Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here over New Years. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were excellent, but I have to say that getting breakfast was challenging. There was rarely room to sit down, let alone find an omelette. Once the omelettes were refilled, it was impossible to get one unless you were standing right there, waiting for one, as they went so fast. Trying to make waffles was also a challenge as that is a very popular station and the line would be in the middle of the serving area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is almost brand new, so the rooms and decor are very fresh and comfortable. But if you go there as a couple without kids, as my wife and I did, just be aware that, probably due to it's proximity to Lego Land and other such sites, there may be tons of children. In our case, it was like a veritable nursery, with tons of unattended kids running through the hallways making noise at all hours, and overcrowded breakfasts.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a room on the upper floor at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a 4 year old property. It is a neat and clean hotel. It is in a safe neighborhood. The room had microwave and refrigerator. There is a laundry facility. Mine was on the same floor. I think there is one on each floor. The breakfast was free and was sumptuous, fresh, and had variety. The Internet connectivity was slow, even with a “wired” connection. They have both wired and wireless options. Even with a “wired” connection it felt like a “dial-up” line. My phone’s 3G was much faster. I tried it only in the room. I did not try it in the lobby. There are many restaurants, groceries, and pharmacies within a 5-10 mile radius, but none are within walking distance though. I stayed for 10 days. All in all, it is a great hotel.

Broken Yolk café is famous. It is open for breakfast and lunch from 6a-3p. It is about 5 miles from this hotel, at the corner of El Camino Real & La Costa. You can search for it online. Rubios is a fresh, quick service Mexican place. It is a chain and there are many. Their burritos are good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at this location for 4 days for business travel. It was clean, updated and the staff was very friendly. If you need a good clean hotel room for business travel, you really cant go wrong with the Hampton Inn. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving weekend at this Hampton Inn and it was very nice. The rooms are very comfortable, had a good bed, a sleeper sofa, refrigerator and microwave. It was clean when we arrived, front office people were all very helpful and the breakfast crew worked hard to keep fresh food stocked and ready for everyone. Only issue we had was the room wasn't cleaned until very late Saturday afternoon after we asked for somebody to do the room right away. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.