We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lots of noisy children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but lots of noisy children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is almost brand new, so the rooms and decor are very fresh and comfortable. But if you go there as a couple without kids, as my wife and I did, just be aware that, probably due to it's proximity to Lego Land and other such sites, there may be tons of children. In our case, it was like a veritable nursery, with tons of unattended kids running through the hallways making noise at all hours, and overcrowded breakfasts.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a room on the upper floor at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    115
    33
    5
    7
See reviews for
147
47
21
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cinci
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a 4 year old property. It is a neat and clean hotel. It is in a safe neighborhood. The room had microwave and refrigerator. There is a laundry facility. Mine was on the same floor. I think there is one on each floor. The breakfast was free and was sumptuous, fresh, and had variety. The Internet connectivity was slow, even with a “wired” connection. They have both wired and wireless options. Even with a “wired” connection it felt like a “dial-up” line. My phone’s 3G was much faster. I tried it only in the room. I did not try it in the lobby. There are many restaurants, groceries, and pharmacies within a 5-10 mile radius, but none are within walking distance though. I stayed for 10 days. All in all, it is a great hotel.

Broken Yolk café is famous. It is open for breakfast and lunch from 6a-3p. It is about 5 miles from this hotel, at the corner of El Camino Real & La Costa. You can search for it online. Rubios is a fresh, quick service Mexican place. It is a chain and there are many. Their burritos are good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at this location for 4 days for business travel. It was clean, updated and the staff was very friendly. If you need a good clean hotel room for business travel, you really cant go wrong with the Hampton Inn. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving weekend at this Hampton Inn and it was very nice. The rooms are very comfortable, had a good bed, a sleeper sofa, refrigerator and microwave. It was clean when we arrived, front office people were all very helpful and the breakfast crew worked hard to keep fresh food stocked and ready for everyone. Only issue we had was the room wasn't cleaned until very late Saturday afternoon after we asked for somebody to do the room right away. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is my 3rd stay at the Hampton Inn in Carlsbad.
It was clean ... I ended up getting upgraded to a suite.
It was very nice.
The bed was extremely comfortable.
The desk staff were nice and helpful with advice and directions for local stores.
The water pressure was good.
The only downside is that the bathroom counter was a bit small.
I would definintely stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illa j, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We appreciate your stay with us and I am pleased that you and ayour family had enjoyed at Hampton Inn Carlsbad. We are here to assist our guest with any request that they may of course we want them to have fun.

Look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Illa Joshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one nite. Had good room,2doubles,tv had some problems,clean ,bathroom good amenities,excellent breakfast,close to leggoland,and not far from beach.hotel staff was friendly to a point,when asked for discounted leggoland tickets which were prominently displayed,they told us,the computer was down and unable to help us.they even quoted us a senior rate for leggoland,but when we arrived,was told they never had a senior rate.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was another positive surprise of this years holiday: it's more or less in the middle of nowhere. The hotel staff was friendly, although not used to international guests. The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was good. Definitely a recommendation for families or couples.

We visited the Carlsbad Caverns which are approximately 30 minutes away. Don't miss them, they are really something special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.