We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite In San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Steak and Seafood

West Steak and Seafood
4980 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343 (Formerly West Steak Seafood Spirits)
+1 760-930-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
West Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 295 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cannon/Avenida Encinias
Description: Since opening our doors in December 2005, West Steak and Seafood in Carlsbad has become a favored dining venue. The secret, a desire to simply make you happy…Our intimate and distinctive fine dining restaurant fused with a creative culinary team, make West Steak and Seafood, Carlsbad’s most sought after reservation. At West, we provide the highest quality of prime steaks, chops, and seafood prepared to your taste. Enjoy a healthy “farm to table” experience with fresh vegetables picked daily from Chef’s local garden. Treat yourself to our “Dinner in the Bar” menu to celebrate the sealing of a deal or to simply indulge…when only the best will do.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My Favorite In San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is definitely one of my favorite restaurants to eat at in Carlsbad. The staff is always friendly and expertly informed on daily menu changes. But the food, the food is absolutely fantastic. You cannot go wrong eating anything off the menu here...thought I do highly recommend the bone in Ribeye.

They aren't small portions though...so bring your appetite!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    32
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Julie Forester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great Steakhouse tucked away. We prefer to sit in the Bar and eat dinner but the dining room is also nice. Great appetizers and food. My favorite is the scallops appetizer! This is a great local spot and has a great vibe. Want a good steak? This is your place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Oh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our service dog in training was welcomed here with us and we had the happiest of Happy Hours. We ordered the Wedge Salad with Sirloin tips and Calamari. Both form the Happy Hour menu. Excellent! The drink options were plentiful as well! Will return as soon as possible for dinner!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Considering the location just off the 5 freeway and beside a gas station and connected to a motel I was very surprised to enter an elegant yet relaxed dining room. The service was excellent without being overbearing. The menu (and prices) were fairly typical for a steakhouse with a few pleasant surprise, like the Mac and cheese and creamed corn sides. The steaks were cooked perfectly. The dessert offerings were numerous and all sounded wonderful. We settled on the creme brûlée and were happy we did. We had a wonderful meal and will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good enough to merit the high prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a classy steakhouse in a league with Morton's and Flemings. Welcoming, comfortable and a good menu and very good wine list but certainly not economical. We were eight people for dinner around 7pm and were seated at a round table, much better with so many people. All our dishes were enjoyed. Our selections included filet mignon, porterhouse and venison, all very good. Between the servers and the expediters they did a great job bringing the food and wine at the right time. With cocktails, food and wine expect a bill around $100+ per head.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to West Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Steak and Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.