We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Christmas Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Steak and Seafood

West Steak and Seafood
4980 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343 (Formerly West Steak Seafood Spirits)
+1 760-930-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
West Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 286 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cannon/Avenida Encinias
Description: Since opening our doors in December 2005, West Steak and Seafood in Carlsbad has become a favored dining venue. The secret, a desire to simply make you happy…Our intimate and distinctive fine dining restaurant fused with a creative culinary team, make West Steak and Seafood, Carlsbad’s most sought after reservation. At West, we provide the highest quality of prime steaks, chops, and seafood prepared to your taste. Enjoy a healthy “farm to table” experience with fresh vegetables picked daily from Chef’s local garden. Treat yourself to our “Dinner in the Bar” menu to celebrate the sealing of a deal or to simply indulge…when only the best will do.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our son was asked to make dinner reservations at a special place for our family to relax and visit with each other before our busy Christmas Day. The cost was not to be an issue. Good thing, because this is a fairly expensive restaurant. However, the menu is excellent and the service superb. We were seated at a round table toward the back of the restaurant, which was perfect since we weren't in the midst of the large parties that came after us. It is a large place, but noise is a concern to one of our party and being at the edge of the crowd works best for us. We shared a few appetizers and had wonderful drinks (lemon drop martinis and bourbon manhattans) to start off. I think we all had meat, with the exception of our youngest member who had shrimp and our oldest who had fish. Two of our group had pistachio crusted Australian rack of lamb; the others had filet mignon and New York strip steak. All dishes got rave reviews. We really didn't need desserts but managed to share a couple of them. Can't wait to go back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    29
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“North County steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have been to West Steak House and we love it. There were four of us and we all ordered some cut of steak, all of it cooked to perfection and delicious! All of the sides were wonderful as well. The ambiance is subdued, unlike another reviewer, we did not find the noise on the high side. West is definitely on par with all the best steak restaurants. Reservations necessary. One of our favorites.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rare find for North County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Ok, its pricey, but where else can you get Bison of that quality, and a Uni Butter appetizer ? Good martinis, especially on happy Monday.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Steak in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you are looking for that tasty chunk of steak with heart stopping sides and don't care about the price, West is the place. Beautiful decor, dark and just like a steak house should be. Staff is as professional as you could ask for and the home made rolls ( make sure they are piping hot!) are good enough to make a meal of.Salads and sids are always perfect. When we want the good restaurant steakhouse experience this is where we go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Service, Excellent Dead Cow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent dining experience at West Steak House in Carlsbad. The noise level is high. Well, it is actually very high, making it difficult to hear my dining partners. Noise notwithstanding, we found the service and food exceptional.

We had a couple of filets and one New York strip. All three steaks were prepared as ordered. One thing that West does which is unusual is that they include a couple of side dishes with each entree.

Sides were good. Steaks were great. Dessert (apple cobbler and banana's Foster) were exceptional.

If you're in the Carlsbad area, be sure to make reservations at West Steak and Seafood. I am sure you'll have a great experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to West Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Steak and Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.