We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Steak and Seafood

West Steak and Seafood
4980 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343 (Formerly West Steak Seafood Spirits)
+1 760-930-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
West Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cannon/Avenida Encinias
Description: Since opening our doors in December 2005, West Steak and Seafood in Carlsbad has become a favored dining venue. The secret, a desire to simply make you happy…Our intimate and distinctive fine dining restaurant fused with a creative culinary team, make West Steak and Seafood, Carlsbad’s most sought after reservation. At West, we provide the highest quality of prime steaks, chops, and seafood prepared to your taste. Enjoy a healthy “farm to table” experience with fresh vegetables picked daily from Chef’s local garden. Treat yourself to our “Dinner in the Bar” menu to celebrate the sealing of a deal or to simply indulge…when only the best will do.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Steak in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you are looking for that tasty chunk of steak with heart stopping sides and don't care about the price, West is the place. Beautiful decor, dark and just like a steak house should be. Staff is as professional as you could ask for and the home made rolls ( make sure they are piping hot!) are good enough to make a meal of.Salads and sids are always perfect. When we want the good restaurant steakhouse experience this is where we go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    27
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Service, Excellent Dead Cow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent dining experience at West Steak House in Carlsbad. The noise level is high. Well, it is actually very high, making it difficult to hear my dining partners. Noise notwithstanding, we found the service and food exceptional.

We had a couple of filets and one New York strip. All three steaks were prepared as ordered. One thing that West does which is unusual is that they include a couple of side dishes with each entree.

Sides were good. Steaks were great. Dessert (apple cobbler and banana's Foster) were exceptional.

If you're in the Carlsbad area, be sure to make reservations at West Steak and Seafood. I am sure you'll have a great experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One Great Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Ruth's Chris, Mortons and the other well known chain steakhouses are very good. But here in Carlsbad, we know that West's is every bit as good if not better. With a menu that features both choice and prime steaks, fresh seafood and wonderful side dishes that are included with your meal, a dinner at West's is a real treat. For birthdays, anniversaries or any special occasion, you cannot do any better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Happy hour is every day in the bar. The filet and wedge is excellent and everything else that I have tried in the bar is wonderful. Service is great so are the drinks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We loved this restaurant and we did not even have to leave the hotel. They will bring it to your room! They also had a great selection for the kids!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to West Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Steak and Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.