We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Savings
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Beautiful inn and very clean, comfortable, and nice rooms. Beds are also very comfy. We stayed in a 2 room suite, and we were very comfortable. VERY close to Legoland. Lobby and dining area are beautifully decorated, clean, and nice. We ordered room service all three nights we were the. The restaurant served EXCELLENT food, and the price was great for how good the food was. It was better room service food than all the "plush" hotels we've stayed at. We didn't have a bad meal at all. Our only complaint about the inn would be their breakfast selection could be a little more top-notch (different than the restaurant room service). A buffet was offered, but limited, and no high-quality foods. Scrambled eggs look like they came from a carton, scary sausage, you get the picture. Everything else with our stay was wonderful. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. As long as you don't expect a super nice breakfast, this is a very nice stay for the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    617
    100
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
512
90
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Fabulous, friendly staff. Free breakfast with beverages all day. Easy highway access to everything San Diego has to offer. The Bistro restaurant has an incredibly extensive and delightful menu to please everyone. And their fine dining restaurant, West, is absolutely sublime. The food is some of the best I've eaten in my travels and the wine list is over the top. To make you feel at home, there are cookies and milk in the lobby at night. I was lucky enough to meet the Executive Chef and Dining Room Manager at West, and the Property's General Manager. I just can't say enough good things about the people and the property. I will go back, and back, and back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I was on business in Carlsbad for three days. During my previous visit to this city, I had stayed at the Carlsbad Inn and enjoyed it. However, after reading all the enthusiastic reviews of the West Inn, I thought I would give this facility a try.

When I arrived in the evening, I was greeted warmly by the front desk person. The hotel lobby is spacious and there is an adjacent breakfast area that serves a complimentary full breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. They also provide milk and cookies at 8:00 pm--a nifty little extra.

I stayed in one of the King suites. The room was immaculately clean, as was the entire property. I have to say that the housekeepint staff at this hotel is outstanding! The suite was suitably large and well-appointed with an inviting sitting area featuring a sofa, upholstered chair, two end tables, a small coffee table with a glass top, a flat scrren TV,and DVD player. Adjacent to the sofa and coffee table was a work desk with an office chair. The sleeping area featured a very comfortable king-sized bed, two armoire-style wardrobe closets, another flat screen TV, two nightstands, an upholstered chair, and a small table topped with a glass vase filled with peacock feathers.

There was also a small bar area with a built-in mini-fridge, coffeemaker, sink, and microwave oven. The bathroom featured marble-like tiles and, like everything else here, was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

I do have a few minor quibbles. To start with, the location is a little isolated, not that close to the main village and with precious little else around it. If you enjoy taking a leisurely walk around the hotels you stay at, this might not be your best choice. Secondly, the water pressure in the shower could be a little stronger. Also, the hotel is very close to the freeway and train tracks. However, it's only fair to point out that the sound-proofing here is quite good and I didn't have any trouble getting a restful night's sleep in that ultra-comfy bed.

Overall, I would say that the West Inn richly deserves its status as one of the best hotels in Carlsbad. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I stayed at the hotel with a friend and our three kids. We stayed and went to Legoland and the Aquarium. This hotel was very warm and friendly. It included a great breakfast, happy hour for adults, cookies and milk, a free shuttle, and a gigantic room. Every single staff member was friendly and said hello. There was an area that the kids could pull out puzzles and games and play. It was very family friendly, but not loud at all. We LOVED this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This was a wonderful hotel. They think of everything with great attention to detail. There was even a dog at the front desk to greet my 3 kids and the nicest staff to great me. There were ballons and a gift for my son's birthday in the room. In the suite, there is a decent size fridge (yeah, not packed full of to buy food but with only 2 free waters), microwave,sink,and single brew coffee pods. Go downstairs to get cream. The pool water was perfectly warm. Milk and cookies at night too. The double king suite was a nice size. There isn't a door between the couch area and beds though. The shuttle to Legoland saved us $12 in parking and took us fairly close to the gate. Thanks West Inn and Suites for making my son's 4th birthday and awesome experience!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is the 2nd time this year that we stayed at West Inn and Suites just to getaway for a couple days. Hotel is so clean and friendly,prices or good,rooms are clean,modern,and new. Love the bed and all the pillows. Breakfast in the morning is great. Such a warm relaxing feeling as soon as you walk in. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

West Inn and Suites: I feel so fortunate to have found you. After all, I had not visited the Carlsbad area for over twenty years. West Inn, you were the highlight of my stay in your warm welcome, location, comfort, cookies and milk - oh my, you must have known that the Arizona cookie monster was on its way. Front desk staff was FANTASTIC, could not ask for them to friendlier, more hospitable, and more professional.

The room had every amenity possible including a single serve coffee maker, dvd player, flat screen television, wonderful soft bed, and a peaceful night sleep.

Breakfast included - check - Not just a continental breakfast - Everything from Eggs, Bacon or sausage, French toast or pancakes, juice, coffee, yoghurt, fresh fruit.

Actually, after writing such a complimentary review, I found this inn to be somewhat of a dream and maybe too good to be true...but no, I had a fabulous experience, and YES, I will be back. 10/10 A+++++Truly, West Inn and Suites sets the bar higher for the hospitality industry by which all boutique hotels should be measured.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.