We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Pampered Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We originally reserved rooms at the West Inn for three nights but decided to leave town early. The staff was extremely nice on the phone and added our extra night with no problem!

We arrived at 6:00pm on Friday night, our room was ready and extremely nice! We were really excited to enjoy the MILK & COOKIES every evening from 8 to 9 pm! Enjoyed by kids and parents alike!

It was rally nice to have breakfast in the morning. Not just muffins and donuts but breakfast with eggs, bacon/sausage, pancakes/french toast/homestyle potatoes, cereal, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, hot cocoa, milk and coffee. The "breakfast" ladies were great! Thanks Ms. Mayra for the bacon! There are two restaurants on the property, West Steakhouse and West Bistro.

The shuttle was awesome! The West provides a free shuttle to anywhere in Carlsbad. Our driver was funny and interesting on each trip. He engaged our kids and remembered them from the trip the night before too.

The rooms were large and very clean. We had the single king and our friends had the two king suite. The beds were firm and soft at the same time. The towels were soft and absorbent! Two flat screen TVs.

The pool has free Li'l Swimmers for the little ones. Games and puzzles in the Library, business center, workout facility and free wi-fi throughout the property. Don't forget underground parking too!

If you every stay in Carlsbad to enjoy Legoland, the San Diego Zoo or other close attractions, do stay at the West Inn & Suites, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    100
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
504
86
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
south orange county, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

So you know what POV this review is coming from, I will preface by saying that when we plan week-long family vacations, we save up for quite awhile in order to stay at 5 star resorts. We live in S. Orange County and occasionally like to take weekend getaways with the kids. However, we dont want to pay the $300+/night rates for local resort getaways. Also, I do not see the point of paying $150 to spend the night in mediocre hotels for just a night or two. I'd rather get up at the crack of dawn, drive to our destination and return to our comfortable home.

With that said, my family and I will definitely return to the West Inn and Suites!!! Carlsbad is only a 45 min drive for us, so we decided to book the double king room for the Labor Day weekend (2 nights) based on the tripadvisor reviews. We wanted to take our 2 sons (ages 8 and 3) to Legoland w/ our passes and stay in Carlsbad. It was perfect and this hotel will now be our go-to getaway when we visit Legoland again.

PROS of the West Inn:

1. Friendly and "polished" front desk service. Corey and Ryan were very attentive and professional. Just so you know what I mean by "polished"... I requested wine glasses one night and Corey asked " would that be for red or white wine?" I was so impressed! The Ritz or Four Seasons would normally provide the generic goblets unless you specified which type. Awesome staff!

2. Beautiful hotel decor. Think Tommy Bahama style. Espresso wood floors. Spa scent. Very warm and inviting lobby. Casual but classy feel. Please no boisterous personalities!

3. Well decorated rooms with comfy king beds. Aveda products (replenished daily) and soft/ plush towels. Mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker--very important for families!

4. Heated pool and jacuzzi. Yes, it is truly heated! My boys loved it cuz it was overcast most of the weekend. The pool area was stocked with towels and lemon water (nice touch). The setting was spa-like with nice patio furniture and high stone walls pretty landscaping

5. Complimentary full breakfast (buffet style): The food was just ok, but at least we didn't have to pack up the kids and drive. Gets crowded so go early. My husband and I went for the healthier options--yogurt, granola, fruit and wheat toast. The dining area has a "living room" area where the kids can get comfy on a big sofa and watch their morning cartoons while the grown ups sit at tables nearby. Nice touch!

7. Bistro West and the Bistro (fine dining). Both restaurants owned by hotel and on the same premises. Location was major plus for us cuz we didn't need to drive for our meals. We went to Bistro West both nights (they offer a kids menu). Marianna provided exceptional service. Excellent food! FYI, the menu and ambiance is a notch (or two) above your typical family restaurants like, Friday's or Chilis.

8. Great business center. Free Wi Fi. My husband was able to stay connected.

9. Shuttle service to Legoland or beach area. Make reservations early because they do get booked on weekends

*Addressing the "cons" of some reviewers:

1. When making our reservation I was not aware that trains runs nearby. They did not bother us because they do not in the middle of the night. Don't worry you can get a good night's rest.

2. Some say they heard freeway noise BUT we did not. We found the location to be convenient.

*In the end, the pros overwhelmingly outweigh the cons mentioned by some reviewers. And you will notice that those reviewers are in the minority.


We were soooo pleased with our stay at The West inn and Suites. For us, it felt like a mini all-inclusive because of restaurant locations, excellent pool area and shuttle service. Other chain hotels should use them as a model for providing excellent service and amenities at reasonable rates!!! Thank you West Inn!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

From the moment we checked in we were greated by the most helpful and friendly staff. Our room was lovely and big with very comfortable beds. We needed more cups and mugs and they were brought to our room minutes after we requested them.
The buffet breakfast was lovely and had a wonderful selection each morning. the Cookies and milk each night was a nice touch.The shuttle to Legoland was wonderful and nice to know it was available when you needed it.
The laundry actually had machines that worked properly which were nice to use.
If i had one compliant it was that we had 3 adults in our party and after leaving a note for housekeeping explaining this and asking for more coffee they took away our extra mugs which made it difficult for us all to all drink coffee.
Apart from that our stay was wonderful and we would definately consider styaing here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife, 8 year old daughter and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the West Inn. What a pleasure! The hotel is well decorated, clean and very inviting. The rooms are spacious, especially with a King Suite. The two flat screen TV's made it very easy to watch TV, after our daughter had gone to sleep. Although situated near an electrical plant and the Coastal Rail, the hotel is quiet and in a great location. Two minutes to the beach, 5 minutes to Carlsbad Village, 5 minutes to Legoland, 20 minutes to LaJolla and just a little further to San Diego!

The hotel staff could not have been any nicer or accomodating. From beach towels to a bottle opener or dinner reservations, they were there with a smile to help make our vacation a great success. We all enjoyed the cookies and milk before bedtime !

The West Inn is truly a great value. With parking and breakfast included, it helps ease the pockets from the entry fees to all of the parks and attractions. Truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Each room features a comfortable sitting area, suitable for entertaining close friends, away from the bedroom area that is beautifully appointed with lovely furnishings. The beds have european style down duvets, down pillows, and luxurious sheets. Baths are all marble, with wood cabinets, make-up mirrors and good lighting. Thick towels await in abundance. All necessities provided.

That said, don't expect lovely grounds, a quiet breakfast, and coastal views. This "boutique hotel" sits adjacent to the I-5 freeway and rooms on the east side are subject to freeway noise. Rooms on the west side are quieter, but face either the parking lot or an office park, despite proximity to Carlsbad State Beach. The hotel itself sits in a concrete parking lot, and there is minimal landscaping. Parking surrounds the building like a moat up against a concrete castle. The adjacent buildings are all hotel related: 8-bay gas station, 7-Eleven style convenience store, small restaurant. The breakfast buffet features cafeteria quality food, a huge flat-screen TV (tuned to cartoons in the am and sports during the day) blaring cartoon characters or talking heads, and a swarm of children running wild with juice and donuts.

Although they advertise themselves as "pet friendly" there are no food bowls, treats, or beds provided for your four-legged friends. There is a nice grassy area adjacent to the freeway (fenced from the freeway only) for pets to run and relieve themselves and dog bags are provided. However, at $75 per pet ($165 for the week) the message is clear: you can bring your pet if you must, but we'd really rather you didn't.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 4 year old son. We chose this hotel because the rooms had a separate living area.

From the minute I walked through the door I knew I'd chosen well. Check-in was simple and friendly and the lobby was pleasing on the eye. The room was big and very new/modern. The pool was kept at a toasty 83F and was very quiet.

A rarity for Californian hotels, the breakfast was free AND tasty AND healthy. Location wise, if you are in Carlsbad for Legoland then this hotel is about 3 minutes drive away. It's also right next to a very nice bistro.

I would recommend this hotel and I wish I could have stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We spent a couple of days travelling down the coast of Southern California from Los Angeles from Disneyland - stopped in Carlsbad and took the kids to Legoland and decided to splurge at the West Inn. Service was amazing - hotel was lovely and staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Great food at the Bistro and Steak House next door. Beds were comfortable, tasteful decor, thoughtful touches throughout the rooms and the hotel. It was a great experience, but we expected something special since we paid nearly $250 US for one night.


cons
Noisy air conditioning

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.