We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Savings
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Hermosillo, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

The in our trip to San Diego and one of the best Hotels we ever been excellent staff and very helpful. I forgot my camera in legoland and they took to get it back wait for me and return in hurry so we don't miss our train. The best shuttle service

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    100
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
513
90
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children under the age of 10) had a summer vacation that was filled with visits to Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and Disneyland.

Our first stop was Legoland. We decided to stay at the West Inn & Suites and we were VERY happy that we did.

First, this place is right around the corner to Legoland. The hotel also has a shuttle service they do but we had our rental car and wanted the flexibility.

We enjoyed EVERY bit of our stay at this place. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast service was a good assortment and variety; and again, the staff was wonderful and friendly. My kids really liked the nightly milk and cookies.

We had room service from the Bistro West Restaurant; I was in the mood for simple soup. I ordered the chicken noodle soup and it was FABULOUS. And again, the staff at the restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

I enjoyed the fact that the kids sleeping area was separate from our sleeping area. Something we did not get to enjoy the rest of the trip.

I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Booked West Inn and Suites because of its excellent reviews. It lived up to the hype. Could not fault hotel. Excellent room, very friendly staff. Great breakfast. Excellent value. This was the first hotel we stayed in during our 3 week trip to California and in many ways better than the hotel we stayed in Santa Monica that was 3 times the price. Free internet and free parking should not be taken for granted.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Based on some reviews I was expecting this hotel to be in the center of an industrial park. There is only one industrial building so it was more out of place than the hotel. The hotel is easy to access from the highway and just a few blocks from the beach and coastal shops and restaurants. I liked being a few blocks from all the tourists. The beach was wonderful and much quieter and less congested than the Mission Beach we visited.
We stayed in a 2 King Suite and it was cozy and quiet. The hotel was almost completely booked but I never noticed herds of people around the lobby, halls or pool. It was surprisingly quiet every time we entered the lobby. The hotel staff go out of their way to accomodate guests. When I booked the reservation I inquired about local organic healthly food stores. Attached to my reservation at check-in was driving directions to two local stores. One morning on our way to Sea World I noticed that I had left my diamond wedding room on the counter in our room by accident. I called the hotel and the general manager retrieved my ring and locked it in the main hotel safe. My day was much more relaxing knowing that my ring was secure! The West Inn is a breath of fresh air from the chain hotels and I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Our King Suite was great for our family of four. The suite was comfortable size with a little separate couch & tv to help give some breathing room when family members need it. It was very clean. The staff was great. The complimentary breakfast was great. We deliberately wanted a nice place to stay that was a little off the beaten path from our San Diego/Sea World adventure and it did not dissapoint. The best thing about West Inn -- great place to stay at affordable family price. We wish there were more West Inns to stay at around the country.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I liked the decor, the breakfast, the cookie time, and the yummy dinner we ate at the restaurant next door. However, do not stay at room 118 because it is right next to the staff room and people go in and out of it all night long. We kept hearing people walking in and out and the door slamming. I did not get a good night's sleep whatsoever.

Perhaps if we stayed at another room, I would have given this hotel a better score...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

West Inn & Suites exceeded my expectations. From the moment we arrived until check-out, me and my family were treated like family. Staff was very helpful providing directions and always greeted us with a smile. The decor is very nicely done and the rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was extensive and seating in the library was very homey. The kids loved the pool and hot tub. I hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.