We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property, wonderful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Orange County
1 review
“Wonderful property, wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My family (including two young boys ages four and six) and I stayed at West Inn and Suites on Friday, July 23. We were incredibly impressed with our huge, lovely room as well as the very kind and accomodating staff. The breakfast buffet was a hit with the entire family and the heated pool and hot tub were enjoyed by all of us. The pool service was excellent and the boys enjoyed swimming with the new friends they made at the hotel.

We took advantage of the hotel's Legoland package and had a great time at the park followed by a wonderful night's stay at the West property. The beds are very comortable and the linen and pillows are high quality.

I have stayed at West Inn and Suites on another occasion without my family for business. I had a great stay then and was impressed with the staff's professionalism, the large, inviting room and business amenities. This was the first time I stayed at the property with my family and had an equally positive experience. Not many hotels can cater to business travelers as well as families -- bravo West Inn and Suites!

I absolutely recommend this property. It is easy on and off the 5-freeway, it is within steps to two great restaurants, it is within minutes to shopping, the beach and Legoland -- what more could travelers want?

Congratulations to Kim Akers and her great staff!

-SV, from Orange County, California-

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    97
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
482
82
17
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We have stayed at the West Inn a few times and each time is better then the last. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, the food at the bistro is delish, and the location is amazing! I really can't say enough wonderful things about the West Inn and it's friendly helpful staff. Every employee we saw had a warm and friendly greeting for us:) The King Suite gave my husband and I some privacy from our 10 year old, at night we were able to watch our shows and relax:) It's a beautiful 5 min walk to the beach and a short drive to the pier. Also we picked our own strawberries up the road and they we amazingly sweet and wonderful! I want to thank the Asst. General Manager,Kristine Bane for making our stay so great and for those little extra touches that make the West inn hands down the BEST hotel in So Cal. Can't wait to go back:)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I am very late getting this review on here but didn't want to let it go without another review. We stayed at the West Inn the week of Thanksgiving & it was our family's second stay at this wonderful hotel.

Pros: We stayed in a Double King Suite and the suite is just beautiful, bedding & beds are awesome, just the perfect amount of space for our family of four giving us plenty of room to move around. The staff is always so friendly to us & the included breakfast is always a huge hit with my family. The West Inn feels like home to us! The pool and spa are always visited by our boys & we tried out the Bistro West this time & it was also great. I even felt safe enough in the neighborhood to go for an early morning jog. We had a great stay again!

Cons: Absolutely none. Can't think of anything....not one single thing!

Thank you West Inn & Suites.....you ROCK!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

SOn loved Cookie time!!!! We found out the wine hour was seasonal-but I agree with all the reviews- Best Hotel for a Legoland!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed in both the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa with Private access to Legoland and the West-Inn & Suites during the same trip at the beginning of July 2010 and I have to say the West Inn and Suites wins hands down! The main selling point for us for the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa was the private access to Legoland - what they dont mention is that its about 0.5 walk to get to it - downhill in the moring - uphill at the end of the day!!! The West Inn and Suites is a beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, friendly staff, free parking, - oh yeah - did I mention - No hidden fees – no resort nonsense – this hotel was just fabulous. The rooms were quiet, comfortable, and large. We were in a pet friendly room without a pet – you would never know it – absolutely no detectable pet odor whatsoever. Plenty of coffee, beautiful breakfast buffet with fresh bread, pastries, fresh cut strawberries, get there early though because once they run out of bacon – they don’t seem to replenish. No buffet at the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa - just $6.00 OJ. We took a tray of bread & Jelly back to our room and made PB&J sandwiches to bring to Legoland for lunch – it worked out very well. The shuttle service to Legoland also worked very well – make your reservations at the front desk when you check in. They provide a booster seat – no need to lug to CA like we did. The walk from the drop off point for the shuttle was a shorter distance than the "priivate entrance" access that the sheraton offers - I really can’t recommend this hotel highly enough for families!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband, extended family and I enjoyed our stay at the West Inn and Suites. Although the hotel is located right off the freeway and near railroad tracks, we found the rooms surprisingly quiet. The rooms themselves have a modern elegance and we found our stay very pleasurable. The beds are extremely comfortable!!!

We were expecting more from breakfast given how nice the rest of the hotel is--really, the food was little better than what you'd find at a Holiday Inn Express. However, overall, the rooms more than make up for it and we would highly recommend the West Inn and Suites.

(Note that this would NOT be an ideal choice if you are looking for something close to the water as even though you are within walking distance of the beach it is in more of an industrial area compared to hotels in downtown Carlsbad. However, it's an easy five minute drive to beach access.)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor and we are so happy that we did. We spent 11 days in California, beginning here and travelling up the coast. This hotel was by far the best place we stayed. The breakfast was wonderful and the hotel was clean and comfortable. My girls both could not get over how good the hotel smelled. We loved the fact that there was plenty of seating for breakfast in the morning and the kids loved the cookies and milk in the evening. The staff was wonderful as well. The free parking was a great perk as well. We will most definitely stay here again when we visit the San Diego area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.