We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Black Friday Special
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
california
1 review
“Great Hotel with Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at the West Inn and sweets on our min-honeymoon. It was a beautify hotel. The staff was so friendly and went out of their way to answer all of our questions about what to do in the area. The room was very large and had a front room area separate from the bed room. Every thing was very clean fresh looking. We had no complainants and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    101
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
522
92
17
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is our second time staying here. The first time was when it first opened 3 years and 2 of 3 children ago. This time was our first time travelling with our new baby and we were a bit worried but we ended up adding days because we had a great time. Room was more than comfortable for all of us. The king beds totally spoiled us for out next hotel on our trip ( Sheraton Carlsbad). The only draw back we found was the breakfast was great if you were only staying a night or two but after that it really was not great after that. On the good side,they had fresh strawberries, yogurts and cereal and bread you could toast yourself. Tons of bacon yumm. There were always scrambled eggs out but they are dry and lifeless after awhile and when I asked for any salsa or cheese or something to jazz em up they only had Tabasco. Kudos for the bacon but then the third 'hot' choice was really terrible-waffles and pancakes just don't work preheated and in a buffet chafing dish. So after three mornings we were really beginning to crave a a real fresh breakfast. But overall it is a really great place to stay in the area!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very nice hotel very convenient to Legoland. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was very good. Our kids loved the pool and hot tub--we swam almost every morning and evening. The evening "cookies and milk" were also a big hit. Shuttle service was available to Legoland, which saved the $10 on parking. We were also able to borrow boogie boards and sand toys for a day at the beach. Suite rooms were nice, although there was no door between the "living" and sleeping areas.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

+ Beautiful rooms
+ Nice (hot) breakfast
+ Great Wi-Fi
+ Great Staff
+ Complimentary shuttle to Legoland and/or beach
+ Free parking
+ Pets are allowed (for a fee)
+ Great bistro & upscale restaurant next door
+ On-site gas station/convenience store

- Rates can get high in busy season

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed for one night for a trip from L.A. to Legoland. Not only did the hotel staff (over the span of 24 hours) pick my family and I up from the Amtrak station, take us to the hotel, to the beach, from the beach, to Legoland, from Legoland, and back to the train station, but they were timely, pleasant, professional, and friendly. The accommodations were clean, priced well, and very comfortable. The free breakfast was much better than one might think, and the chocolate chip cookies and milk at night were a nice treat. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Wonderful hotel. We picked it because of the short walk to the beach and the suite type room. Please note that there is no door between "rooms". The staff was great and very helpful. The breakfast is just so-so. Rooms are large and very clean and new. We were startled to see that there was no bathtub in our room but a quick call to the front desk got us a room with a huge tub in less than 5 minutes. We will definately stay here again. Free underground parking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellatrip
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

If you want a hotel with a big pool and pool bar, overlooking the ocean, then this is not the hotel for you. However, I don't think one of those exits in Carlsbad. That means if you want the ocean and restaurants and maybe bar/pub for a beer, you'll need to drive 5-10 minutes.

West Inn is between the two best beaches in Carlsbad - South state park and Tamarack. Also while there is shopping and restaurants in downtown Carlsbad (north of the hotel), some of the better restaurants and shopping is south of downtown and south of the hotel. I understand that it's very central for business travelers as well - we were there mid-week and definately more business travelers than vacationers.

Pros:
*while it didn't seem central at first it proved to be very central
*clean, modern
*workout room
*breakfast included, with a nice breakfast room (flat screens to get caught up on what happened while you were at the beach)
*parking included and never a problem finding a spot
*Bonus Tip: There's a guest laundry room on the 2nd floor. We were doing a beach trip starting in Santa barbara and working our way to San Diego and then back. SoCal was having a heat wave, and we needed to do some laundry badly so this was perfect!


Cons:
*a room on the I-5 side might be a little noisy (we don't know as we stayed on the other side)
*workout room was tiny - but at least there was one, and it was clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.