We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Best place to stay close to Legoland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“THE Best place to stay close to Legoland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

+ Beautiful rooms
+ Nice (hot) breakfast
+ Great Wi-Fi
+ Great Staff
+ Complimentary shuttle to Legoland and/or beach
+ Free parking
+ Pets are allowed (for a fee)
+ Great bistro & upscale restaurant next door
+ On-site gas station/convenience store

- Rates can get high in busy season

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    94
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
475
80
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed for one night for a trip from L.A. to Legoland. Not only did the hotel staff (over the span of 24 hours) pick my family and I up from the Amtrak station, take us to the hotel, to the beach, from the beach, to Legoland, from Legoland, and back to the train station, but they were timely, pleasant, professional, and friendly. The accommodations were clean, priced well, and very comfortable. The free breakfast was much better than one might think, and the chocolate chip cookies and milk at night were a nice treat. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Wonderful hotel. We picked it because of the short walk to the beach and the suite type room. Please note that there is no door between "rooms". The staff was great and very helpful. The breakfast is just so-so. Rooms are large and very clean and new. We were startled to see that there was no bathtub in our room but a quick call to the front desk got us a room with a huge tub in less than 5 minutes. We will definately stay here again. Free underground parking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellatrip
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

If you want a hotel with a big pool and pool bar, overlooking the ocean, then this is not the hotel for you. However, I don't think one of those exits in Carlsbad. That means if you want the ocean and restaurants and maybe bar/pub for a beer, you'll need to drive 5-10 minutes.

West Inn is between the two best beaches in Carlsbad - South state park and Tamarack. Also while there is shopping and restaurants in downtown Carlsbad (north of the hotel), some of the better restaurants and shopping is south of downtown and south of the hotel. I understand that it's very central for business travelers as well - we were there mid-week and definately more business travelers than vacationers.

Pros:
*while it didn't seem central at first it proved to be very central
*clean, modern
*workout room
*breakfast included, with a nice breakfast room (flat screens to get caught up on what happened while you were at the beach)
*parking included and never a problem finding a spot
*Bonus Tip: There's a guest laundry room on the 2nd floor. We were doing a beach trip starting in Santa barbara and working our way to San Diego and then back. SoCal was having a heat wave, and we needed to do some laundry badly so this was perfect!


Cons:
*a room on the I-5 side might be a little noisy (we don't know as we stayed on the other side)
*workout room was tiny - but at least there was one, and it was clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed here for our Labor Day staycation because of it's rating on Trip Advisor. I am happy to report that this was a A+ review for several reasons:
1-great room (double king deluxe) for a GREAT price
2-FREE parking
3-FREE breakfast buffett (simple yet fresh and always stocked)
4-FREE milk & cookies at night
5-location, location, location (near beach, shopping, dining, attractions)
6-SERVICE...friendly staff, ready to serve and help

the list goes on and on. If you can, stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie Buettner
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

This was our second stay at the West Inn - the first occurring in March '09 and our return visit offered no surprises and confirmed the reason for our return. The hotel is located about 25 minutes from the airport via car, parking is free and plentiful. The hotel gas station has a mini grocery store for last minute items that can be stored in the oversized room "mini" fridge. The hotel location is between train tracks (with Amtrak passing regularly) and a freeway, but other than the occasional faint bell call of the train as it passes, the rooms are super quiet. This is likely helped by the two double paned windows.

The rooms are large enough for a family of four including two teenagers. Unlike most hotels, the fold out bed was comfortable and located in an area that could be separated and privatized off from the two main king beds by fully opening the large bathroom door. The free wireless WiFi and the two large TV's kept the kids happy during the adult down time.

I consider myself a pillow and bed "diva" and can say that the bedding, pillows and mattresses at the West Inn rival any 5 star hotel I've stayed in - and more importantly - my own bed at home. There are four pillows on each King bed and two are foam chip and two are a feather mix - not a true down pillow, but comfortable enough. I prefer either true down or the newer fibre gel pillows, but those supplied were better than what most hotels offer.

We stayed on the 3rd floor this visit as we had a 2nd floor room in March and did hear the patter of little feet above us which was certainly tolerable, but avoidable with the top floor choice.

Maid service was efficient and compliant. On arrival there was ONE of each bath product in our room (for four people??) so I asked for "lots" of shampoo and conditioner the next morning via note, having brought only carryon luggage sized products, and was given LOTS of both Aveda products daily (although I did have to leave a note daily for this).

Breakfast is included and after 3 days or so, the selection and quality does suffer. We stayed a week. There is the daily scrambled eggs alternating with toast yourself waffles or french toast and either sausage or bacon. The fresh fruit is always strawberries which is great (and added after my friend complained that there was no fresh fruit offering when we stayed in March - it appeared the next morning and continues to this day!) but perhaps could be alternated with other local fresh offerings. We were quite shocked in March that with all the fresh oranges being offered in the local farmers markets, that there was not a hint of orange in the buffet offerings. The bread/muffin offerings are pedestrian and underwhelming. Coffee was good but there were two mornings where it ran out and took 10 or so minutes to be replaced (as can happen with the strawberries - suggestive that someone is in the back actually coring and slicing them when the last bowl ran out). The nightly cookies and milk (and tea/coffee) are a nice touch and despite their processed taste, my teens never tired of them.

Guests appear to be a mixture of business types and families with little Legoland-bound kids which make the breakfast area a bit noisy, but lively.

The front desk service is always courteous, friendly and obliging. The pool is clean and such a great temperature that you can walk straight in. My kids could have spent all day there. There is lots of lounge chairs and plentiful towels along with a basket of free swim diapers. Ambient music and the waterfall in the pool area help with masking any traffic noise in the background.

This visit we noticed quite a number of guests with dogs - one of whom even brought their dog to the pool. Thankfully the pet did not enter the pool as I would have had an issue with that. There was no hint of dog in our room.

We ate two meals in the West Bistro next door and the first was excellent (burgers and pasta), but when I ordered the special the second visit, I actually had to send it back it was so awful. The matter was handled properly: I was offered to make another selection, but at this stage was very disappointed and a bit full after eating the basket of buns so declined. The manager then appeared, apologized and offered a free desert of creme brule which was accepted. Stick to the basics in this restaurant.

Suggestions: free daily newspaper, more breakfast fruit options and better baked goods.

In all I would highly recommend this hotel to families or anyone needing a hotel as it offers great amenities for the price. I have every intention of staying again on my next visit (and perhaps will enjoy some of my suggestions?).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I have traveled the world and stayed in many different types of hotels, from economy to luxury. I always appreciate the little things and the small details. The West Inn & Suites has obviously taken a lot of thought about what to include in their establishment. Things like extra hangers, two suitcase stands, two robes, the larger sized in-room safe, soft bath towels, room to put your wash items in the shower, the shower head placed higher (for us taller folks!), a hair dryer, magnified vanity mirror, decent sized mini-fridge, an iron and board, were much appreciated. The rooms are spotless and, like other reviewers, we did not hear the train or the freeway from our third floor suite. The beds and linens are fantastic. My husband usually complains about hotel beds because they tend to be on the softer side. These beds are firm and comfortable. The pool area was clean and the magazines were a nice touch. Nice idea to have the waterfall to block any freeway noise. Strong jets in the jacuzzi, which was a really good temperature. Breakfast was good -- a decent variety although I would have liked some more fresh fruit options. We ate at the Bistro West our second night and it was very good. The only downside was the noise level in the main dining area. This is a great hotel to use as a base for seeing the sights in the Carlsbad and San Diego area. Great staff -- thank you to everyone at the front desk who were so polite and cheery. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.