We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy we found the West Inn!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So happy we found the West Inn!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

After a ton of internet research for our trip to San Diego/Legoland, I decided to book the West Inn. I must say...it was definitely one of the best hotel stays we've ever had! The staff was friendly and attentive from the moment we checked in until the moment we left. We spent the first afternoon just hanging out by the pool/hot tub and then after a ride to watch the sunset at the beach nearby, retired to our very comfortable room. The 2 king size beds were awesome...just sinking into a sea of white pillows and duvet was to die for! Their bathroom was large, modern and attractive. Their buffet breakfast was plentiful and our son enjoyed playing with the other kids while we lingered over coffee. The front desk arranged to drop us off and pick us up from Legoland which was a nice touch, as were the cookies and milk at bedtime. They have 2 restaurants and we decided to go more casual and eat at the Bistro. Boy, this was pretty nice for casual! The Bistro is huge, beautifly decorated and the food was delicious. The staff was extremely attentive and the meal was reasonably priced.
Needless to say, I turned out to be the hero on this vacation for finding the West Inn! Hopefully I can continue my streak by finding somewhere half as nice on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    97
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
482
82
17
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

This was one of the best hotel stays I've ever had. It's the combination of the unique atmosphere - B&B . . . meets value hotel . . . meets boutique hotel - and the impressive staff (one friendlier and more professional than the next). The rooms are clean, contemporary. It's like they really, really try hard to make it easy and pleasurable for guests - all kinds of little touches that impress you. It was so uncorporate - such a refreshing break from the standard chains I stay in for work travel. We love dogs, so to have staff's dogs sometimes there for a visit behind the front desk was a real treat for the kids. Very good value with b'fast, parking, shuttle, internet all included. The casual restaurant on property is really good too - better than expected. Only thing that could have improved our stay was room configuration. As a family of 4, we wish their suites (we had King suite) had a door between rooms (any light in the "parent" room shone into the kids' room, not as much privacy as we'd have liked). Definitely take the shuttle to the beach rather than walk - the nearby proximity beach is not as nice as the one a bit further. If you have a car, drive 10 minutes to Encinitas beach - it's even nicer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights starting with our three kids. It was our first time at this hotel and we loved it. We had the double King suite and the two huge beds with a pullout couch were perfect for our needs. The hotel is ultra clean and all details are immaculate. We even had two TV's with DVD players and a game option.

The breakfast was excellent and very fresh! Plenty of food choices including scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles and/or french toast. You could sit in the food area, in the big lobby loibrary or out near the pool. Whatever your preference.

The entire hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Although we didn't eat there, locals talk about the West Steakhouse and West Bistro and the fantastic food served there.

Our kids loved the heated pool and spa.

The hotel was quiet and really as good as you can get. Don't waste time with LaCosta aor Aviara. For the money, location, service, amenities and food... this place can't be beat.

We can't wait to get back.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights starting July 7th with 2 adults & 2 children. It was our first time at this hotel and we weren't disappointed. The room had two very comfortable King size beds with 4 pillows and a down comforter wrapped in clean, fresh white sheets. The decor was very modern. They have an area in the room that includes not only the huge mini-fridge and microwave, but a sink as well and storage for food items. Nice touch.

The bathroom was immaculate with plenty of soft white towels, a hairdryer, separate lighted make-up mirror and Aveda toiletries.

The breakfast was excellent! Plenty of food choices including scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles and/or french toast. The breakfast/dining area was very clean and had big, long dark wood breakfast tables with long benches...perfect for families. They also had smaller tables on the other side for smaller groups. In the middle was a nice seating area with couches and chairs in front of a huge flat screen TV. A great atmosphere to have breakfast in each morning.

The entire hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They even had beach chairs and umbrella they loaned our group since we had forgotten ours.

The heated pool and spa area were clean and stocked with towels and water.

Yes, the hotel is near the freeway and a power plant, but don't let that deter you at all. I didn't hear any freeway noise inside the hotel. I did hear the train whistle a few times at night, but it was not all night long (which I was afraid of).

I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I don't travel very much and when I do it is usually at LaQuinta. My brother-in-law booked this at the last minute and made a great find. The room was great and so was the breakfast. The staff is outstanding and very helpful. It is about a block and a half from the beach. The only disappoinment is that this is the one and only West Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Our family enjoyed our stay at the West Inn & Suites Carlsbad. Our room was new and very clean. We liked the very soft towels and confortable bed. You can request to have a 2 king bedroom if you need that. The hotel provides turn-down service as well as milk and cookies in the evening. We wanted to walk to the beach, but forgot our beach chairs. What do you know, the front desk provided them for us to use (free of charge --Wow). The breakfast is complimentary and is good. We just went over the holiday weekend and it got very busy (a little hard to get the food with so many people). The staff working at the hotel were very friendly and made our stay wonderful. We also enjoyed the pool at this location. The food at thier outside restaurant was very good. If you like pizza, drive up the street to the wood stove pizza. We really enjoyed their salads and pizzas.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Tonight at dinner our family asked, "so at your hotel do you have a view of the freeway or the power plant?" Despite West Inn's proximity to the freeway and the power plant, this hotel is wonderful. Our family stays at a lot of five star hotel chains (four seasons, ritz, etac.) and we have been really pleased with our stay here. The rooms are modern, clean, and new with comfortable beds and thoughtful extras like DVD players,
Aveda amentities, and an abundance of soft towels. The hotel is owned by a retired couple and the attention to detail here is apparent. Beach towels and water are provided poolside, there is 24 hour coffee and tea, a milk and cookie hour, and free breakfast. The staff has been consistently helpful and very friendly. As it turns out the location is not so bad after all, the distance to the beach is walkable (about 4 city blocks) and the walk takes you straight to the strand in Carlsbad which is a lovely walk into the village of Carlsbad (a nice mile or so walk). p.s. we went to have a glass of wine at the Bistro last night and the menu and wine by glass list was great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.