We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the reviews...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Ontario, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Better than the reviews...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We chose West Inn and Suites solely based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Yes, it is right off the 5 Freeway, but we absolutely could not hear any traffic. After booking 2 suites, I received a call a few days later from Kristine asking if there was anything she could do for us upon our arrival. Because of my grandkids allergies, I wanted to make sure that we didn't receive a room that had been previously occupied by someone with pets. She made sure right then that we were not in one of those rooms. Check in was easy. The rooms were clean, new, and roomy! It was nice to have a small refrigerator and microwave. The beds were wonderful. We went to the Flower Fields, which everyone enjoyed. The Outlet Stores were great. Beautiful day at the beach. The housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine. Better than continental. The kids were very happy with the cereal, fruit, french toast, and cold milk! The kids were in the pool and spa the night we arrived (until 10:00 p.m.) and the next day. And of course, the cookies and milk in the evening was an added treat. We would definitely stay here again, even if we will be going to attractions in San Diego. I recommend this hotel for anyone with little kids, teenagers, or just a couple. I filled out the survey that was left in our room. A few weeks later, I received a letter from the General Manager thanking me for taking the time to do the survey and to single out those that were so nice and helpful. It's this personal touch that makes this hotel far superior to the bigger hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    100
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
504
86
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Central coast of California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We recently returned from a two night stay at West Inn & Suites on our trip to Sea World following a stay in Anaheim. The hotel is spotlessly clean inside & out, as others have mentioned. Everything appears to be nearly new & extremely well maintained. The hotel is right off of the Interstate freeway & next to train tracks, but incredibly quiet inside. The free breakfast had the usual offerings and was perfectly adequate and well stocked. The rooms are of good size and the beds heavenly! My 5 & 8 year old daughters enjoyed the cookies and milk at bedtime. My husband used the fitness center one day and said it was decently equipped and clean. The pool and spa are heated to a very comfortable temperature. The free parking was a plus and plentiful. We did not partake of either of the hotel's two restaurants, but the aromas coming from the bistro smelled great. We ventured 5 minutes up the road to Claim Jumper restaurant, and there were two burger restaurants, Marie Callendar's and a pizza grill in the same area. The only thing we would have changed is of no fault of the Inn. We were given early check-in on Friday and did not see another guest until Saturday breakfast. We would have enjoyed socializing with other families at the pool or in the library game area, and my husband even commented that it seemed eerily quiet. One of the front desk staff said it had been a bit quieter than usual lately, perhaps due to the slow economy. However, this is in no way a reflection on the hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful, and other than being a bit quieter than we prefer, it was thoroughly enjoyed by our entire family. We recommend West and would return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

I found this hotel on this website, and even though there were a few complaints [the train, the location, etc] I decided to give it a try. I'm very picky about where I stay, and this place was absolutely wonderful. The e-mails I received from the manager were normal as usual, but any questions I had were responded from her e-mail, stating that she was definitely going to meet my needs. And she did! As far as the complaints go, I didn't need it to be beach side but it was not very far at all. You do need to drive to get there, though. The train came through at random times and it was usually very brief - it never woke me. I arrived at 1AM, driving from the phoenix area at 7PM, and the woman at the front desk was nothing but nice. The room was clean and everything the website promises. There are a couple of things I would have changed but they were very minor, such as hand soap. A little pricier than the other hotels for a room this size but they definitely take care of you - I stayed in a king suite and it was very roomy for just me and a guest that stayed with me for one night, I just hope the normal rooms aren't tiny. The free parking is also a great incentive. I will stay here again for any other trips I make out here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed here based on Tridadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The location was great for going to Legoland, a 15 minute walk to the beach, and located close enough to San Diego to enjoy other attractions. The hotel provides an excellent shuttle service to and from Legoland upon request, and the only problem we had was that the staff sold us two day tickets and didn't tell us the park was closed on Tue/Wed during our stay.

The hotel is definitely geared towards families, with a great breakfast, a library stocked with books / movies / games, and warm chocolate chip cookies with milk each night. The rooms were very clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The King suite also helped keep the kids in their own bed ;)

The West Inn Steakhouse adjacent to the hotel was fantastic; the service was great and accommodating kids was not a problem for them. I'd equate the food to a Ruth Chris type steakhouse. The other restaurant onsite was not that great and I'd recommend going out to eat as you get better or comparable food for much less.

Our family plans to return again to visit Legoland and we'll definitely stay at the West Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We spent a weekend night after shopping at the outlets.
This was a wedding anniversary getaway.
The location of the property only makes it convenient,since it is right at the end
of an offramp from the Hiway 5. It is not near the ocean but it is in close proxmity
to the flower fields,outlet shopping and Legoland.
It is a nice hotel and the comp breakfast offerings were more than adequate.
It's promo of being a boutique hotel doesn't quite measure up. I guess the economy
has driven their rates up but, I wouldn't stay here again for a buck and a half per night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

I stayed in Carlsbad for the 20th Junior Carlsbad 5000. I stay in this area last year an found it very difficult to move about in the mornings of race weekend. I chose this hotel based on location and the availability of shuttle services. I can not say anything negative about the hotel and the staff. Maybe the parking can be an issue with the restaurants but even though it was packed I always found a spot. The staff was very welcoming upon arrival and continued throughout my stay. The breakfast was a great way to start our mornings. Not only could you have to every hotel continental breakfast but also you have scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and either french toast or waffles. They have restaurants on site but I did not take the time to enjoy them. Overall it was great. The two things I an say were the towels were fabulous and flexibility and friendliness of the staff was impeccable. The staff emailed me multiple times to ensure my stay was arranged and all my need were met. Definitely would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

My family and I came out to califorina from Las Vegas to go to Lego land. We knew the hotel would be nice from the reviews it recieved, but when we got there they totally exceeded our expecttions. Our room was spacious and clean comfortable and beautiful! They are literally 5 min away from lego land. The front desk staff was helpful and super friendly. The housekeeping was acomodating and did a great job. Breakfast was very good and it saves you $ and time! The pool is beautiful and is usually heated but durining our stay the heater was busted, but is wasn't unbearably cold and the hot tube worked just fine:) Cookies and milk time was a great touch! We had a wonderful stay and will definately be back ASAP!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.