We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place with wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

I stayed in Carlsbad for the 20th Junior Carlsbad 5000. I stay in this area last year an found it very difficult to move about in the mornings of race weekend. I chose this hotel based on location and the availability of shuttle services. I can not say anything negative about the hotel and the staff. Maybe the parking can be an issue with the restaurants but even though it was packed I always found a spot. The staff was very welcoming upon arrival and continued throughout my stay. The breakfast was a great way to start our mornings. Not only could you have to every hotel continental breakfast but also you have scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and either french toast or waffles. They have restaurants on site but I did not take the time to enjoy them. Overall it was great. The two things I an say were the towels were fabulous and flexibility and friendliness of the staff was impeccable. The staff emailed me multiple times to ensure my stay was arranged and all my need were met. Definitely would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    97
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
482
82
17
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

My family and I came out to califorina from Las Vegas to go to Lego land. We knew the hotel would be nice from the reviews it recieved, but when we got there they totally exceeded our expecttions. Our room was spacious and clean comfortable and beautiful! They are literally 5 min away from lego land. The front desk staff was helpful and super friendly. The housekeeping was acomodating and did a great job. Breakfast was very good and it saves you $ and time! The pool is beautiful and is usually heated but durining our stay the heater was busted, but is wasn't unbearably cold and the hot tube worked just fine:) Cookies and milk time was a great touch! We had a wonderful stay and will definately be back ASAP!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

The hotel is conveniently located right off the freeway and about five minutes to Legoland. The best part of the hotel are the beds! The pillows are amazing. We had just arrived from the Embassy Suites in Anaheim and the difference in the beds is huge. We stayed in room 100 which was perfect for our family to go out into their living room area. There they have games, couches, and a tv to hang out in. There is access to coffee/tea and ice water anytime of the day. The milk and cookies in the evening were a welcome treat for our kids. Another great detail that my husband and I loved were the complimentary wine and beer in the evening. If you are traveling to Legoland you have to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Everything I read on Trip Advisor before we left was accurate -- this is a very nice hotel with excellent service, and this in spite of the fact that the hotel was completely booked every night we were there. We were in Carlsbad to take our son to Legoland, so for that purpose it was a perfect location, and the shuttle was prompt and really convenient for wherever we wanted to go. The business centre was also really handy to get our boarding passes for our return flights.

I only have two small quibbles. The first is that the pool was not heated. Please! It is not summer yet! We were there for 5 days and no one was working on it at all. We stuck with the hot tub, but it would have been nice to swim too.

The second quibble is the breakfast, which could have been much better with very little extra effort or expense on the part of the hotel. A wider variety of local, in-season fresh fruit, and whole grain bread products would have helped us find something healthy to eat among the fat, sugar and white flour options we had to choose from instead.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

I brought my family with me on a business trip to San Diego - after the meeting we headed up to Carlsbad for 2 days to hit Legoland. I decided to stay at the West Inn because of the positive reviews and I was not disappointed.
Service was excellent - felt like we were the only ones there.
Family friendly - good breakfast, milk and cookies at night, free drop off and pick-up at Legoland
Adult friendly - while kids played in pool, my wife enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting (M-Thurs) and read a book.
Great rooms - we had enough room with 2 kings, crowave and fridge in room was a plus
There were games in the library - one night we went down for milk and cookies and stayed down several hours playing family games.
The West bistro next door had great food and service as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I travel extensively for business, coast to coast and it has become NO PICNIC! We face overcrowded planes, dining alone on chicken dish number 237, impersonal hotel staffs, and time away from home and family. I needed to stay near my client and this was one of my closest choices. NOT thinking about this being spring break, I booked the room through my agency for 4 days. I could not have been MORE PLEASED. When I arrived, I felt like I was standing in a lobby in Key West. There were dark wood floors with an island feel and a relaxed friendly atmosphere. I was greeted warmly at the desk and told of all the amenities. When I got to the room, the beds looked inviting, there was a large safe (big enough for sensitive papers, and a laptop as well), a mini-frig, microwave, oversized bathroom with soft, thick towels, a DVD player and a very comfortable work area. The room was immaculate and kept that way during my entire stay. If I had ANY concerns about families being present (noise), they disappeared as soon as I was in my room. I had NO outside noise penetrate my sanctuary, night or day. The maid staff was very friendly, smiling and able to answer any of my questions. While on business, I felt relaxed and comfortable which is rare these days. The restaurants (both owned by the hotel) varied from upscale (great for business meetings)to bistro (a hot spot for locals) and served outstanding food with superior firendly service. I am a HUGE fan and look forward to staying here again, business OR pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

For the price you pay, this is a great little hotel....not the Four Seasons of course but clean and comfortable. You can tell they take good care of the property and everything seems very new. We traveled recently with our 2 children and the hotel is very family friendly - cookies at night, swim diapers by the pool, and of course close to Legoland. My only complaint is that you are RIGHT next to the freeway. We couldn't hear it from our room but could see it. Beside that it was a great base for a nice quick vacation. We also ate at the West Grill next door and were pleasantly surprised by the food and decor. A bit upscale but a very nice dinner.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.