We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've been going here since I was 7 years old, because my grandma live close, and everything about it is amazing. I have always loved the customer service, and I love the countless nice details that you would never see and expect in any other hotel. For example, every room is updated to include walk - in shower, they serve homemade cookies and milk in the lobby every night at 8 p.m. The breakfast in the morning is very good, with all fresh food. The pool is very luxurious, and as well as family friendly. Finally, this hotel is great walking distance from the beach, they also provide free towels for the beach. Highly recommended for business, family, and everything in between.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    108
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
552
99
18
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is our second stay at West Inn & Suites. It's all the little things that make this place special. The staff are friendly and helpful, always greeting you with a smile. The complimentary breakfast is nice, the milk and cookies at night are a nice touch, the rooms are well appointed, beds are very comfortable and on and on. It is also very pet friendly. At no point did our feel that my dogs were not welcome. The have a dog run, a small park right next door, they provide bowls and beds for the pooches and the bistro next door allows them on the patio with you while you eat. My only complaint would be, that I think the pet fee is a little high at $75 per night for the first two nights maxing out at $150 per stay it's a little steep. If it was a little lower all our dog trips to Carlsbad/ San Diego area would be here. We will return, just not as often as we might like.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are here for 9 nights (29 apr-8may) and the family is pleased on the overall for our stay. Our daily housekeepers are neat as our items, where necessary, are properly arranged neatly and the overall presence of being clean. Upon checks with the front desk lady I am amazed that the hotel is 8 years old as the impression of the upkeep of the inn makes it seems a fairly new establishment. Good work! IMO close to a 4hotel rating with some room for improvements . Glad that our long stay has been a good experience.

When we arrived to check-in, the atmosphere that greeted us is cosy. There are both outdoor and basement parking available.

Fridays and weekends are pretty crowded, especially during breakfast time if we were not there early we may have to wait.

There is a cosy corner with books and machine for hot coffee or teabags which can be taken anytime of the day.

The nearby gas station is probably the cheapest price for petrol pump as the gas stations we pass by along the way to our destinations are much higher.

Our room comes with daily breakfast. We love the bacon and beef patties, the kids love the scrambled eggs. There are also cereal, muffins, bread, soy milk, juices, yoghurt...etc. Once we had late breakfast close to 10am on a wèekend, and luckily the clearing of the breakfast items were late so we manage to have the last few food of bacon, eggs, potatoes, juices, etc. I'm pleased that the tables are properly sanitised and the seats are clean as we were the only family then sitting for breakfast to notice the upkeep of cleanliness.

We stayed in room 207 which is not suitable if you have light sleepers as during the night (our room is probably along the freeway?) I can hear the horns of trucks or similar a few times. Thus also contribute to the 4rating. There is microwave, fridge, and a small pantry sink. Kitchen towels are provided probably for spillage.

The inner of the kettle provided is clean which seem to be a new one as no rust or brownish or yellow stains visible on the inner surface of the kettle.

The main bedding is comfortable, although when fresh sheets are requested not 100% sure if these are changed as the sheets are not fully flatten/iron-out. I do give the benefit of doubt due to positive experience with the hotel.

WiFi is faster as compared to the hotel we stayed in LA, no hiccups. Didn't get to use the business centre.

Too cold during our stay for swimming and we use the payable washing machine & dryer located on the same floor.

8pm cookie time we have experienced a few times during our stay. Love the soft chocolatey cookies, though we will have like the choice of warm milk served on a cold day. We once also had the chsnce to taste their raisins cookies. Don't miss out cookie time.

There are rental games and movies 2 per day/room but we are satisfied with the various free on-demand shows for the kids, while in the next room we watched shows for the adult. We bought some dvds that can be played with the dvd player in the room.

We initially wanted to take the free shuttle via car provided by the inn during the morning trip to Legoland. We were told it will be ready whenever we are. However, after a re-check with the front desk on the timing, we were informed that we need to wait for 30mins as there are other guests wishing to travel to other areas using the same transport. We then decided to forgo the free shuttle as it will mean a waste of time when we are ready and even though the front desk mentioned pickup for a return to the hotel whenever we wanted, we also thought this will also be indefinite time of waiting in the event people are returning to the inn around the same time. Perhaps there is only 1 vehicle to shuttle around?? Not viable with young kids with you.

Minor blemishes during the stay are:
-on the 2nd day of our stay, the trash under the sink was not cleared wheb we got back at night. We left it outside our room as the trash would have stink further if we left it overnight again. Our recyclables were quickly cleared when left outside our room during the housekeepers' work time I guess?

-the size of the sofa bed mattress seem smaller than the frame. Not careful, the bottom of the mattress sinks into the frame when the kids step onto the bed, including myself. Less comfortable and squeeky when turning.

The previous hotel has a heater in the bathroom which surprises us as we did not expect. It provides relieves for shivering in the cold during this time of the year.

Will also be good for those who wishes to do our own washing to provide a clothes line or laundry rack for hanging our clothes

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The West Inn has wonderful service and the staff goes over and above to see that your stay is comfortable and inviting. If there are any issues they are quickly resolved. Will definitely stay there the next time we visit the San Diego area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel last week. We had a great stay at this hotel, and the value I don't think could have been beat! They had a nice pool, nice rooms, GREAT customer service (everyone said hello), a delicious breakfast, and more.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I was celebrating 29 years of marriage and decided to do a staycation. I actually made two different reservations within the area. The 2 locations were similar in price and location but very distinctive in recommendations.We only could stay1night-so the deciding factor was the ambience and hospitality. And we were not disappointed. This was felt when I received a call to thank us for choosing West Inns and wishing us a Happy Anniversary before we even arrived. Then when we arrived (which was early)our room was ready and a bottle of sparkling cider awaited us. Although the hotel is right near the 5 freeway- you felt like you were tucked away in a quaint cottage. All thru out the hotel you were met with warm wood accents and a staircase that gave you a very cozy ambience. We were on the 3rd floor in a King Suite facing the pool. The room was very spacious even with additional people.Noise of any kind was never a problem. We went right next door to have dinner at the Bistro West - it mimicked the same warm decor as the hotel but with a modern touch of chic. The food was excellent and the prices were comparable. We were able to enjoy free dvd movie rentals from the lobby and truly enjoyed their famous milk and warm gooey chocolate chip cookies. We ended our evening wrapped up with complimentary robes and enjoyed a nice soak in the heated jacuzzi . The next morning we were greeted with pleasant smiles from all of the staff and enjoyed our hot breakfast which included a little something for all. Our stay was done- but we wanted to visit the Carlsbad Village Street Fair- the hotel allowed us to use the shuttle for as long as we needed. Jeremy S. was our driver and he was a delightful young man and was very prompt. When it was time to for us to leave,he decided to send us off well -we were pleasantly surprised with a few of those warm chocolate chip cookies to go. YES! WE WILL RETURN TO OUR NEW FOUND OASIS!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband found this property while searching the internet and I had to check it out myself on TripAdvisor. We booked our stay after seeing all of the favorable reviews. We reserved a 2 king bed suite and I was immediately wowed by all of the little touches - huge fluffy towels, stylish shower curtain and fixtures in the gorgeous bathroom. No noisy fan and great water pressure in the shower. Central air conditioning which meant we could sleep comfortably and the beds were divine. I love that I got a choice of comfortable pillows. There is a larger than average mini-fridge and microwave as well as a single cup coffee maker. The flat screen TV has cable choices with HBO and a guide option - which is just like home - got to love that! We weren't that impressed with the free breakfast, but the service was fabulous and the rooms and property were just beautiful. The gym is small, but well equipped with a treadmill, elliptical, weights, etc. and the pool area is very nice. The hotel is about a mile away from the Carlsbad Outlets and LEGOLAND and about 30 miles north of downtown San Diego. There were lots of families and children present when we stayed there and we found out the hotel is pet-friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.