We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, no ocean view and far from the beach.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Spring Retreat
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, no ocean view and far from the beach.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The website says this is "steps away from the beach", well yes after you get off the shuttle and pass the factory that blocks your view of the ocean. The hotel is clean and the staff is excellent. The pool and food is great. If you are looking for something with a view and walking to the ocean, this is not it. We ended up switching hotels down to ocean side. This is a cute boutique hotel but if you have kids that want to play on the beach pick another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    105
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
547
94
18
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are planning a trip to Legoland anytime soon and you don't want to spend a FORTUNE on a room at Legoland Resort/Hotel, I would highly suggest the West Inn & Suites. This hotel is literally a 6 min drive from Legoland. This is a great option (actually a 1st option)! The rooms are gorgeous and clean, the bathrooms are super clean and the shower is huge - everything is brand new. The king size bed is so comfy. As for the pool area, oh my goodness, its gorgeous. The pool is TRULY heated to 88 degrees, the jacuzzi is huge, hot and bubbly. They even have all types of toys and safety floaters for children that don't know how to swim. There is cold lemon water served outside and they provide big yellow and white towels for free. As for the free (complimentary) breakfast each and every morning from 6:30 am to 9:30 am, wowza!, its excellent! The food is delicious... eggs, potatoes, bacon, bagels, pastries, oatmeal, fruit, juices, coffee, and teas! The entrance/lobby is beautiful and the entire hotel is lovely. The staff is so friendly and the overall visit was perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I like this hotel which I would almost call a boutique hotel. Not far from the coast and the beaches in Carlsbad. The rate is decent and includes breakfast and doesn't have the resort fees that seem to plague so many of the better hotels in Carlsbad.
The rooms are smaller suites with the nice working area. The decour is somewhat dark with almost a business feel to it however A lot of families and Doris to stay here.
They have the usual happy hour and milk and cookies at night the staff is very friendly and we check up on you to make sure everything is okay.
Nice rooms, very clean with spic and span sheets and towels.
Two valets, large safe in the room and Iron and board which seems to come standard with all hotel rooms nowadays.
They have a pool and hot tub outside which closes at 10 PM
Nice restaurant on the premises.
Easy access from the highway I5 and from Carlsbad Boulevard

Room Tip: If you get a room with the pool view you might also get a little bit of freeway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed at the West Inn in six months. I absolutely love this place! The staff is amazing! The rooms are so beautiful and comfortable. I would love one of the beds at my house. The breakfast is very generous and delicious, as are the cookies and milk before bed. Both onsite restaurants are wonderful! The pool area has a nice tropical feel and is very clean. Look no further if you need a place to stay on Carlsbad!! West Inn & Suites is the best!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has shuttles the take you to the beach, and Lego land. Both of those places are just down the road in town, the beach is like 3-5minutes away, and Lego land is like 5-8minutes away, so take the shuttle to those places, for FREE!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can safely say that I have never experienced such fantastic service in a hotel. If you are traveling to LegoLand and want a really nice hotel that is truly kid friendly, this is the place for you. The staff is amazing. A special thank you to Michelle, who was the new trainee who went out of her way each time we saw her. She was amazing.
- When mentioning that we were going to the beach, they offered us free beach chairs, beach umbrellas, sand toys for the kids, boogie boards and towels. Then then offered- wait for this- TO DRIVE IT TO THE BEACH IF WE DIDN'T HAVE A CAR.- We had a car, so they loaded the stuff in for us.
- They provide swimming diapers, flavored waters, magazines, beach chairs and umbrellas at their lovely pool which opens at 7am. Yeah!!!!
- The cleaning staff was beyond helpful, going out of their way to do things like- help us with the ice machine, help me get plates of food up to the kids in the room when I couldn't carry anything, come back to clean if we weren't quite ready.
- Literally everyone I encountered was beyond courteous to us and our children.
- The cookies and milk in the lobby is fun for kiddos. I would suggest that they do this at 7 instead of 8, so that little ones don't miss out. Just a suggestion.
- The rooms were immaculately clean and comfortable with everything you could need or want. The beds were comfy and the pillows were fantastic.
- This place is $225 less per night than the LegoLand hotel and just down the road with the same family friendly atmosphere and comfort at every turn. Stay here- you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: The double King was perfect for 4 of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly A, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
A special thank you for recognizing our team and newest member to the West Family, Michelle.
Michelle appreciates your mention and our team is elated to have such a spirited professional.
Know we are grateful for the time you've taken to write about your time with us and for allowing us to serve you...

We remain at your service,
Team West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great suite and plenty of room for 5. A full breakfast is included and was better than we expected, with plenty of hot food and several employees on hand to assist guest. The cookies and mild at bedtime were a hit with children and adults. The shuttle to the beach and nearby attractions was appreciated, as we didn't really want to experience the crowded California freeways. The onsite swimming pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. A wonderful place to spend time relaxing with family.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.