We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay for legoland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Fling Discount
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Must stay for legoland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is literally down the road from legoland.
The rooms are amazing.
The two restaurants on site are amazing.
The staff is amazing.
The breakfast is very good and convenient.
The little store in the lobby had some last minute items we needed.

The only complaint is that the mini fridge was a little noisy.

There is no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    104
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
535
94
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

last time we were at Carlsbad we stayed in legoland hotel. This time we decided to try another hotel. I am so happy we decided to try this hotel super neat and good. Even my 4 year old liked this hotel better than legoland hotel. It had a nice breakfast area as well. If you are going to carlsbad try here for sure.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a much overdue review of this exceptional small hotel. This hotel was even better than I expected after reading the reviews (which are so well written and accurate for this property).

The West Inn has a very pleasant atmosphere created that you just can't see in their website photographs. Everything is meticulously clean and well-planned, you just pick up on it even when not looking, and it facilitates this relaxed, but organized feeling. Spacious wide hallways, large uber-clean laundry room, pleasant subtle smells, peace and tranquility throughout. The bathrooms are not large but are high-end in materials and with generous Aveda products everyday. Excellent linens and mattress and well-planned rooms.

We found the breakfast buffet to be good (albeit very busy and crowded) and certainly a valuable feature, but was truly exceptional for allergies. The kind (and crazy busy) attendant has on-hand print-outs of the breads and other unlabeled foods for allergy reference, and there were alternative milks and things like that right out with the other foods. It was by far the easiest hotel breakfast buffet in terms of finding allergen-friendly foods for all of us.

We were able to use the prompt and reliable shuttle (although other families it was waiting for were not so prompt), which also had an assortment of different car seats you could utilize. My husband really enjoyed the free movie rentals (extra necessary as the cable mostly wasn't working at the time of our visit), and the pool and hot tub were nice (and very clean again) with more of the West touches like lemon water poolside.

This is a highly recommended small hotel that will certainly please even very selective visitors. Their attention to detail, friendliness, cleanliness and all sorts of nice "touches" really make it stand out for a restful, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the minute we arrived to the time we checked out everyone in the hotel was incredibly friendly and service was truly excellent. I was also struck by how impeccably clean the hotel was everywhere. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable to sleep in. Everything looked nearly new or in excellent condition. One example of the excellent service: my young son loves bacon for breakfast and was slightly disappointed when they didn't have it. Marisela in the dining room noticed this and made a special order of bacon for him! The shuttle service to nearby Legoland is extremely convenient. Microwave and refrigerator in the room is a plus. All in all, we highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Carlsbad and we will definitely be returning!!

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

this hotel truly lived up to the reviews from TripAdvisor. they go above and beyond to take care of their guests.
From the moment we checked in, Elizabeth was great! She was very patient and just nice! Amanda was great too as our driver and front desk. They do it all!

Pros: double king was worth the price. It's like an embassy suites layout with fridge, microwave and sink sink

Free shuttle to Legoland
Cookies and milk every night

Everyone was nice and friendly!
Free parking and lots of it

Cons :
Free WiFi but spotty
Spotty cell-phone WiFi

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family was completely satisfied. Our purpose was to go to Legoland and see family that live in San Diego. I chose the West Inn & Suites based on the reviews of families that have taken the time to write a review. Now I can see why. The staff, accomodations, grounds, and location for our visit was spot on. Could not have chosen a better place to stay in my history of travel to Southern California. There was not one staff team member that I came across that was not helpful or friendly. We booked a two king bed suite for 3 adults and one child. Plenty of room for all of us. The pool was fantastic, parking great, the breakfast good, and location to where we wanted to go was fantastic. They have a wonderful shuttle service which we utilized to go to Legoland. No hidden fee's or charges.
Corey Volk is even mailing me back my favorite pillow I left in the room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor over looking the front of the property. Close to elevators was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hpa An, Myanmar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you're planing to visit the San Diego/Carlsbad area (especially with children) this is the place to stay. The customer service here is by far the best I have ever had and this includes stays I've had at some of the world's most prestigious and renowned hotels. The front desk staff literally treat each guest as if you were the only ones here (special thanks to Amanda, Shireena and Emily). The hotel itself is quaint not flashy, but it is extremely clean and well kept. We were traveling with our kids and booked a king deluxe room connected to a double king room. More than enough room for us all. Lovely breakfast is included every morning along with milk and warm cookies every night. The housekeeping leaves a basket full of clean towels and replenishments for the bathroom in a tidy little basket outside the door in the event you do not wish to have services in the room. Complimentary shuttle service to/from Legoland was a bonus for us to avoid the crazy lines of cars and parking fee for the park. A short walk or drive to the beautiful beaches of Carlsbad/Oceanside, the hotel even provides beach chairs and other beach necessities. Close enough to see all the sights of San Diego as well. Wifi is included as well and worked well for all 5 in our family even by the pool. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Hotel is located right off of I-5 so if you're sensitive to cars whizzing by request a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.