We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Black Friday Special
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Due to damage in our home we are currently residing at the West Inn & Suites. It has been an absolute pleasure! The staff are friendly, patient and extremely helpful. The hotel is small and intimate. We feel we are staying with family! While the West Bistro (next to hotel) is very nice it is a bit on the pricey side but the food is excellent. One of the best things about this hotel is they are pet friendly and clearly pet lovers! Our pet isn't with us but the care and welcome they give to the other pet guests is heart warming to see. We have implemented "game night" in the dining hall with milk and cookies to cap off the day.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    101
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
522
92
17
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

We had a fabulous 4 night stay at this hotel. The staff were outstanding and patiently answered all our questions, provided advice on restaurants and things to do. Ryan and Doug both went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We had a room with two king size beds on the main floor which was clean, wonderfully appointed, had a nice size fridge and microwave as well as a sink and small countertop. Everything looked new and was top notch quality in the room. The breakfast which was included was great, not your average continental breakfast by any means. The pool area was well maintained and the temperature of the pool and hot tub were perfect. There was ample free parking in both the above and below ground parking lots. The surroundings outside the hotel were beautiful - well manicured flowerbeds, trees and grass. The courtesy van they provide was like having your own personal chaffeur service. They would pick you up and drop you off anywhere, anytime within 5 miles of the hotel. That saved us $12 in parking fees at Legoland alone! The hotel is about 4 blocks from the beach which we visited a couple of times while we were there. Very nice walking paths along the beach and great spots to watch the sunset. We felt like we were staying in a beautful mansion with good friends (the staff). The free milk and cookies at the end of each day was a perfect touch. We felt we got excellent value for the price we paid and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great stay in beautiful surroundings with outstanding friendly, helpful staff!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

From reservations, to email confirmation & welcome, and all the way until you check out, this hotel has top notch customer service. The staff at the West is pleasant and very accommodating. The hotel is clean, upscale and quiet. Free internet, convenience store and gas station, and two restaurants are just a few of the amenities. Wonderful place! We will go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

We werent familiar with Carlsbad but this hotel came highly recommended. We had only a one-night stay (sadly) for business. This hotel is new, a very tasteful modern crafstman design. Beautiful, warm and perfectly appointed. Every convenience is provided in the suites and throughout the property.

The staff are warm and confident that your stay will be perfect. They make it their personal business to see to this, including the phone call you get ten minutes or so after check-in. I can't remember the last time we've gotten a check-in call.

Beds and bedding.....WONDERFUL. Our sitting area had a flat-screen TV , mini-kitchen and gourmet coffee maker. Lots of privacy in the design and beautifully decorated.

The continental breakfast (provided) was a good quality and variety. There is coffee and cookies all day and milk and cookies in the lobby 'til ten.

The West Bistro, just steps from the hotel has a lovely, friendly bar and dining room......wonderful gourmet menu, warm and confident wait-staff. We would be regulars in this restaurant if we were local.

As we were leaving, (sadly) we stopped at the attached gas sation (!) and convenience store to prepare for our drive home. It's blended so tastefully into the architecture of the property, you'll barely notice what it is!

All in all, a perfect stay at a price $10.00 less that Marriott Inn and Suites! We'll be looking forward to our next trip. We might even stay awhile and explore Carlsbad, which seems to have much to recommend it too..

  • Liked — Every comfort was in place.
  • Disliked — Location was close to everything but afforded no view
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed here because i read a majority of positive reviews and hotel was so close to Legoland. I thought the hotel was clean and we loved the decor. It was right off the freeway and next to a power plant, so if you're looking for a hotel right next to beach, this is not the hotel you want. The complimentary breakfast was convenient and it was nice to have the games for my son to play with while my husband and i enjoyed our breakfast as well. Overall this stay was great and i recommend to anyone for a comfortable stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness and decor
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently for a romantic getaway. We stayed in a 1 br king suite and were very impressed with the room. Upon arrival, everything was spotless and in good condition. The room has 2 huge flat panel TVs with DVD players. There was tons of storage (2 wardrobes and a dresser). The bed was very comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was quite large (with a seat) and the towels were above average. The wireless internet signal worked well from our room (on the 3rd floor). We occasionally heard the trains, but the noise was not too loud. The milk and cookies at night was a nice touch; just make sure to get there towards the beginning of the hour as the cookies go fast! The breakfast in the mornings was great, hot entrees every day and great fruit among a ton of other things. There are even to go bags for breakfast. We had a dinner at the Bistro West one night and very impressed with the quality of the food and service. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

I would have LOVED to give this hotel the highest rating because its decor, atmosphere, proximity to Legoland, and service are all AWESOME but we had some serious problems with the noise from the room above us. While we picked this hotel because it was close to Legoland (the primary purpose of our visit to Carlsbad) and because it is fairly new, we were SO impressed with the wonderful staff. Whatever we needed (directions to an attraction, free shuttle, free breakfast buffet, help with a sick child), the staff did everything they could to help. There is a real family atmosphere to the Inn; there were A LOT of children there because it was winter break though I would not hesitate to stay here on an adults only trip. Just off the lobby is a large family room that always seem to have people gathered in it -- esp. at night when the milk and cookies come out fresh from the oven!

The rooms are updated with very comfortable beds and linens.
Unfortunately, we were woken at 5:30 am every morning by very loud banging coming from the room above. I believe the hotel staff tried calling the people in that room but it never helped. The banging also went on from 8 to 10 every night. They would have given us a new room but nothing was available plus with two young children, changing rooms would have been a major hassle. The only other negative to the hotel is that even though Carlsbad is a very pretty area, the hotel is located in a light industrial area in between the freeway and the train tracks (and we could hear the trains occasionly but not the freeway).

I would highly recommend this hotel (esp. for families traveling to Legoland) -- just make sure you aren't on the first floor!

  • Liked — awesome staff, close proximity to Legoland, so many caring & personal touches
  • Disliked — noise from room above, hotel not located in a scenic area
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.