We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, But...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Fling Discount
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
california
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, But...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean, the breakfast, which is included in the rate, was fine and my kids loved the free milk and cookies at night. The problems we had were 1) the shower handles not turning, which meant we couldn't bathe and 2) being surrounded by rooms which had pets. My kids were okay with it, but I have bad allergies and had itchy eyes throughout our stay. (Yes, I did ask for a room away from pets.) Still, this hotel is, by far, much nicer than the Residence Inn in Carlsbad. Yuck! We left a day early because that hotel was gross in every way.
I would highly recommend staying here, but first make sure you get a room away from pets if you have allergies and check if the water's running in the shower!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    104
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
530
93
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I spent about 5 days at this hotel and loved every minute of it. The service was amazing. Each member of the staff was kind and caring. The rooms were big and comfortable. We highly recommend it. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took the family on a week long trip to Southern California to hit some of the kid friendly hot spots - Disneyland, SD Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Found the West Inn after doing a quick search on trip advisor. I have to say the reviews were spot on. Check in was easy and convenient. The front desk staff was very nice. They even let us borrow a booster seat for our younger one after we forgot to bring one with us. We were about to head to Walmart to buy one for the week. The rooms are nicely appointed with two very comfortable king size beds which is perfect for a family of four. The room isn't huge but big enough for a sightseeing kind of trip. The buffet breakfast each morning was adequate but not amazing. If I had to have one critique, there could be a little more variety each morning. However, it's nice to not have to think about breakfast each morning while on vacation. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned and tidied up daily. And the milk and cookies each night was a nice added bonus. The kids looked forward to it each night we came back after a long day out. But probably the best part of the West Inn is the staff. Each person is nicer than the next. I highly recommend this hotel if you are ever in the Carlsbad area!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is as good as the reviews, we were very pleased with our decision to stay here, and I highly recommend it. The ambiance was great, the rooms were really nice, and the extras were very well done. The hotel had a small, intimate feeling to it. The double king bed room was perfect for our family with two small children, it avoided us having to get a second room. The room was a little small for 4 people because of the two big beds, but not too bad, and the bathroom was large. They even provided a step stool in the bathroom for the kids to stand on to reach the sink - nice touch! Furnishings were nice. Beds were comfortable, with plenty of pillow options. They called us a few days before arrival to see if we had any special requests (wow!), we asked for hypoallergenic pillows, and they were there as requested. The cookies and milk at nighttime were a nice touch, although for 3 of the 4 nights we stayed, they were special holiday sugar cookies instead of their wonderful chocolate chip cookies, and the kids were disappointed. Free buffet breakfast was nice to have, although they ran out of some items each morning. The food wasn't excellent, but it wasn't bad. The hotel is conveniently located near plenty of restaurants. The free shuttle to LEGOLAND was a huge plus, it was much more convenient, and avoided parking fees. They were available when we needed them and flexible on timing. Overall the staff was really kind and helpful, and went the extra step to make sure we had what we needed. My only complaints are that there weren't a few lower calorie options at breakfast, skim milk and low fat yogurt would've been nice, and also to do something about the bathroom door - at least in our room, it would not stay open when we needed it to, and was becoming a nuisance - a door stop or tighter hinges would've been very helpful. We also had a very slight ant problem in the bathroom, but they sprayed while we were out and it went away. I guess these things happen, but the hotel was really clean otherwise. And while I didn't find it to be a problem at all, they did guarantee us that pets were only in first floor rooms, which was a concern because someone in our party is allergic, and then we did see some dogs on the second floor - but we had no problem with them at all. The staff said it was because they ran out of first floor rooms, but in that instance the rooms would be highly sanitized after the pet stayed there. For those complaining about the wi-fi, they did have a sign in the room that they were switching providers and anticipated fully upgraded service in the coming months. Overall this is just a very pleasant, comfortable, convenient hotel with great service, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Peninsula
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It has been several years since we have traveled to Carlsbad for a visit to Legoland. We have stayed at the West Inn and Suites twice before and have had good experiences at this hotel. We were travelling as a family of five (mom, dad, two older "kids" and one ten year old) or two nights.

When we thought about a place to stay this place came to mind first. We booked a King Suite which is very large with two king beds, a sleeper sofa and LOTS of room. The room was clean and well maintained. Our room was on the first floor near the wing where the pool and breakfast area are. It was pretty quiet - except for one morning when some pans in the kitchen were dropped. We usually pass on housekeeping when staying a couple of nights or less and housekeeping delivered a nice basket of towels and toiletries outside our door when we returned for the evening - a nice touch.

The breakfast was above average. Hot dishes included bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes, oatmeal, and the usual assortment of breads and pastries, juices, coffee, etc.

We did have some issues with slow internet access and picture quality on TV was standard definition. I was not able to access my network at work via VPN (even Google homepage took several seconds to load). Placed on our room desk was a letter from the general manager about their plans to upgrade their infrastructure in 2015 - much needed. When I mentioned this issue at check-out the front desk said that they do have signal boosters available if the signal is weak.

All in all - reasonably priced, convenient to the freeway, Legoland, outlets and beach (note also close to the railroad tracks though not an issue on our stay), very clean and service is very good.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly A, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for taking the time to share of your experience at West. We thank you for your many compliments as we do pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and making your stay personal.

As noted, we have been working diligently to improve our Internet and Cable TV offerings and we have some great news to share. As of January 2, 2015, AT&T has completed the installation of a new 100M business class fiber optic internet connection. Additionally, the migration of the current satellite based television solution to a full featured, fully HD cable television offering will be completed by months end. All remain complimentary and will be enjoyed throughout the hotel.

Please know at West we cherish every guest and every visit and we look forward to celebrating our new amenities with you upon your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Have stayed here several times over the last 3 years visiting family, and we're going to take a break after this year.

WiFi is basically non-existent. In 2014 (5!) it's incomprehensible why a working WiFi system cannot be installed through a cable modem. Also, there isn't any cable television. Leaving a wire in the drawer is no help - many devices, tablets, laptops don't even have a "plug in" option anymore. It's been this way since the first time we stayed here 3 years ago.

Housekeeping is strange. When you go out at 8 am and come back at 3pm, it's kind of normal to assume your room is going to be made up. Nope. Two times it wasn't (the only time it was we specifically requested "early" (before 3pm is early?) housekeeping. Apparently they clean the rooms of people checking out first, then get around to the still staying and paying customer rooms. It's inconceivable that you have to wait an hour for housekeeping to clean your room at 4pm.

The property is nice, the location great and the people are super - nothing bad to say there, but the two major things you need to have in a hotel (clean rooms before late afternoon and reliable WiFi) are completely lacking here

In the hotel industry, you need top flight people, a top flight product and processes to support them both. The people here are great. The product is fair. The processes though are terrible. So just a 3 dot rating from us. If they can make small changes, this property could reap big dividends.

Room Tip: West side of hotel (away from 5 Freeway) for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly A, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for your return visits and for taking the time to share of your experience at West. We thank you for your many compliments and suggestions as we do pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and making your stay personal.

As noted, for the past two years we have been working diligently to improve our Internet and Cable TV offerings and we have some great news to share. As of January 2, 2015, AT&T has completed the installation of a new 100M business class fiber optic internet connection. Additionally, the migration of the current satellite based television solution to a full featured, fully HD cable television offering will be completed by months end. All remain complimentary and will be enjoyed throughout the hotel.

Please know we cherish every guest and every visit. We regret that we fell short on your most recent stay with respect to the timing of cleaning your room. The housekeeping team provides service until 5:00 p.m. daily and prioritizes their work around Privacy Please requests which were honored during your stay. At West, our housekeeping team allows for specific times for cleaning or even a window of time to make for a more enjoyable stay. Your needs are our needs. It is our desire to win your favor by posting specifics to your profile for any requests you have whether it be for shuttle services, housekeeping or turn down.

At West, we look forward to celebrating our new amenities and to serve you again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

I chose the West Inn & Suites based on the many favorable Trip Advisor reviews and took the suggestion of asking for a suite on either the 2nd or 3rd floors, non-pet floors, and in the middle of the hotel so as not to be too close to either the train tracks or the 5 freeway. My initial contact was with Sean and he was more than helpful in taking my reservation. I live in San Diego and was taking my 3 grandkids on a staycation to Legoland. The hotel offers free parking and shuttle service to Legoland. That was a huge plus - we didn't have pay for parking, look for a spot and then walk to the entrance. The shuttle stop is a very short walk to the main entrance of the park. Our room was ready when we got to the hotel at about 10 am - terrific family suite with 2 king beds, a sleep sofa, refrigerator with 2 comp bottles of water, large tiled walk in shower, plenty of space for our group of 4. We did ask for a rollaway bed so that we would each have our own bed - the $10.00 charge was fair. The rollaway bed was all set up when we returned to the hotel after our day out. The suite was very clean and you can tell there is pride in management.

As soon as we left our luggage in the suite, Cherry, the shuttle driver took us over to Legoland, which to our good fortune was not crowded for the Saturday before Christmas. Cherry was delightful and engaged in conversation with the kids. We called for the shuttle an hour before we wanted to leave and Sean picked us up. A delightful young man, he was the same Sean who took my reservation. We arranged for Sean to take us to a nearby restaurant and after dinner he came and got us to go back to the hotel.

Front desk staff all were very nice - a few days before we arrived, the hotel called to confirm reservation and ask if there was anything we needed. Very nice, personal touch. We had breakfast before we left and the breakfast room is very nicely appointed, clean and the buffet was more than adequate. Cereals, breads, bagels, eggs, potatoes, bacon, etc. Apparently, they rotate hot items and today was bacon and eggs days.

Business center has 3 nice Dell computers, a printer and is a nice space for a hotel. All in all, for our short one day stay, I give our stay an excellent review. Oh, before I forget, there are never enough towel bars/hooks in hotel bathrooms. There is room for a few more hooks :) Lots of large, soft towels and very nice Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are pet free - pets are only allowed on first floor. Amtrak runs al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.