We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're ever in Carlsbad............don't miss the West Inn and Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Savings
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Indio, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you're ever in Carlsbad............don't miss the West Inn and Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

We werent familiar with Carlsbad but this hotel came highly recommended. We had only a one-night stay (sadly) for business. This hotel is new, a very tasteful modern crafstman design. Beautiful, warm and perfectly appointed. Every convenience is provided in the suites and throughout the property.

The staff are warm and confident that your stay will be perfect. They make it their personal business to see to this, including the phone call you get ten minutes or so after check-in. I can't remember the last time we've gotten a check-in call.

Beds and bedding.....WONDERFUL. Our sitting area had a flat-screen TV , mini-kitchen and gourmet coffee maker. Lots of privacy in the design and beautifully decorated.

The continental breakfast (provided) was a good quality and variety. There is coffee and cookies all day and milk and cookies in the lobby 'til ten.

The West Bistro, just steps from the hotel has a lovely, friendly bar and dining room......wonderful gourmet menu, warm and confident wait-staff. We would be regulars in this restaurant if we were local.

As we were leaving, (sadly) we stopped at the attached gas sation (!) and convenience store to prepare for our drive home. It's blended so tastefully into the architecture of the property, you'll barely notice what it is!

All in all, a perfect stay at a price $10.00 less that Marriott Inn and Suites! We'll be looking forward to our next trip. We might even stay awhile and explore Carlsbad, which seems to have much to recommend it too..

  • Liked — Every comfort was in place.
  • Disliked — Location was close to everything but afforded no view
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    100
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
513
90
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed here because i read a majority of positive reviews and hotel was so close to Legoland. I thought the hotel was clean and we loved the decor. It was right off the freeway and next to a power plant, so if you're looking for a hotel right next to beach, this is not the hotel you want. The complimentary breakfast was convenient and it was nice to have the games for my son to play with while my husband and i enjoyed our breakfast as well. Overall this stay was great and i recommend to anyone for a comfortable stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness and decor
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently for a romantic getaway. We stayed in a 1 br king suite and were very impressed with the room. Upon arrival, everything was spotless and in good condition. The room has 2 huge flat panel TVs with DVD players. There was tons of storage (2 wardrobes and a dresser). The bed was very comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was quite large (with a seat) and the towels were above average. The wireless internet signal worked well from our room (on the 3rd floor). We occasionally heard the trains, but the noise was not too loud. The milk and cookies at night was a nice touch; just make sure to get there towards the beginning of the hour as the cookies go fast! The breakfast in the mornings was great, hot entrees every day and great fruit among a ton of other things. There are even to go bags for breakfast. We had a dinner at the Bistro West one night and very impressed with the quality of the food and service. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

I would have LOVED to give this hotel the highest rating because its decor, atmosphere, proximity to Legoland, and service are all AWESOME but we had some serious problems with the noise from the room above us. While we picked this hotel because it was close to Legoland (the primary purpose of our visit to Carlsbad) and because it is fairly new, we were SO impressed with the wonderful staff. Whatever we needed (directions to an attraction, free shuttle, free breakfast buffet, help with a sick child), the staff did everything they could to help. There is a real family atmosphere to the Inn; there were A LOT of children there because it was winter break though I would not hesitate to stay here on an adults only trip. Just off the lobby is a large family room that always seem to have people gathered in it -- esp. at night when the milk and cookies come out fresh from the oven!

The rooms are updated with very comfortable beds and linens.
Unfortunately, we were woken at 5:30 am every morning by very loud banging coming from the room above. I believe the hotel staff tried calling the people in that room but it never helped. The banging also went on from 8 to 10 every night. They would have given us a new room but nothing was available plus with two young children, changing rooms would have been a major hassle. The only other negative to the hotel is that even though Carlsbad is a very pretty area, the hotel is located in a light industrial area in between the freeway and the train tracks (and we could hear the trains occasionly but not the freeway).

I would highly recommend this hotel (esp. for families traveling to Legoland) -- just make sure you aren't on the first floor!

  • Liked — awesome staff, close proximity to Legoland, so many caring & personal touches
  • Disliked — noise from room above, hotel not located in a scenic area
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Our visit to this hotel was fantastic!

My Mom was visiting San Diego for Christmas this year and I wanted to find the ‘perfect’ place for her to stay. This hotel was so nice that I actually ended up staying with her at the hotel the whole time she was in town. Here was my criteria for choosing a hotel:

1. Close to my house which is in Encinitas (North County San Diego).
2. Near the beach – but no necessarily ‘on the beach’ – there are plenty of hotels on the beach in San Diego, but they tended to be out of our price-range.
3. Outdoor hot tub and pool.
4. Nice and clean (we didn’t want a Best Western or a Day’s Inn type hotel)

After much research, we chose this hotel and we were not disappointed. The room was charming, spacious and so well-appointed. There were so many fluffy feather pillows on the two king beds, fine high thread-count sheets and luxurious thick white towels in the bathroom. The staff was so friendly and accommodating – in these tough economic times – friendly customer services goes a long way! For instance, we requested some extra towels and Kleenex from housekeeping – and they delivered this super-cute wicker basket full of towels, tissue and extra soaps, etc. It was such a terrific little ‘extra’ touch. We also loved the on-demand pay-per-view movies (some that were still also showing in the theater) and the complimentary FULL breakfast every morning that was included (we’re talking French toast, cereal, sausage, eggs, juice, etc.). The complimentary cookies and milk in the evening was a great too.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and we would highly recommend this hotel. I hope you find this review helpful!

Oh, one last charming detail – instead of having your traditional ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign to hang out on your door at night – they have a seashell on a ribbon that you put out if you do not want to be disturbed. I am all about the fun little details! Grin.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I cannot think of one thing that I would change!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane. Qld Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Following a horrible hotel stay in San Diego, we checked Trip Advisor to try and find a nicer hotel to escape to! Fortunately the West Inn and Suites at Carlsbad had a family suite available and was rated number one on trip advisor. We had stayed at the Doubletree Suites at Anaheim (also rated number one on Trip Advisor) and that was a great experience. so we though we couldn't go wrong that way.

That a relief it was driving up to the hotel. The entrance was just so beautiful and welcoming - the foyer was decorated for christmas, carefully tended gardens, staff were amazing and the room was much nicer than we have experienced in many 5 star hotels around the world. Room facilities were great, lovely Aveda toiletries, welcoming breakfast/tv/library area, great pool area (lots of steam coming off the heated pool as the weather was very cold!).

Location is great - lots of food options nearby. Very short drive to Legoland and the Carlsbad beach area is so pretty.

This might just be the best hotel we have stayed at! We felt sad to leave. Would highly recommend, especially for families with small children. What a wonderful hotel.

  • Liked — Wonderful ambiance, lovely rooms and surroundsings
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

If there were any other reasons to stay in Carlsbad besides Legoland (or for shoppers, the outlets), I'm trying to think of an excuse to stay here again! A perfect little surprise amidst our family festivity filled holiday, we were welcomed to free parking, complimentary wireless, 'real' breakfast, & crib! Did I mention two KING beds!?! When you got two little kiddos that squirm in their sleep that is definitely an A in my book. Clean, modern, they even have that cinnamon-oh-man-it-smells-so-cozy in their holidays. Perfect stay for families w/children w/cookie & milk hour, board games & books in the "family" room aka off of the lobby area: leather sofas, flat screen & faux fireplace included.

Off to find out if they're a chain... =)

  • Liked — two KING beds
  • Disliked — location, close to freeway although noise is very minimal
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.