We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked Awesome Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
San Diego
1 review
“Wicked Awesome Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Our visit to this hotel was fantastic!

My Mom was visiting San Diego for Christmas this year and I wanted to find the ‘perfect’ place for her to stay. This hotel was so nice that I actually ended up staying with her at the hotel the whole time she was in town. Here was my criteria for choosing a hotel:

1. Close to my house which is in Encinitas (North County San Diego).
2. Near the beach – but no necessarily ‘on the beach’ – there are plenty of hotels on the beach in San Diego, but they tended to be out of our price-range.
3. Outdoor hot tub and pool.
4. Nice and clean (we didn’t want a Best Western or a Day’s Inn type hotel)

After much research, we chose this hotel and we were not disappointed. The room was charming, spacious and so well-appointed. There were so many fluffy feather pillows on the two king beds, fine high thread-count sheets and luxurious thick white towels in the bathroom. The staff was so friendly and accommodating – in these tough economic times – friendly customer services goes a long way! For instance, we requested some extra towels and Kleenex from housekeeping – and they delivered this super-cute wicker basket full of towels, tissue and extra soaps, etc. It was such a terrific little ‘extra’ touch. We also loved the on-demand pay-per-view movies (some that were still also showing in the theater) and the complimentary FULL breakfast every morning that was included (we’re talking French toast, cereal, sausage, eggs, juice, etc.). The complimentary cookies and milk in the evening was a great too.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and we would highly recommend this hotel. I hope you find this review helpful!

Oh, one last charming detail – instead of having your traditional ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign to hang out on your door at night – they have a seashell on a ribbon that you put out if you do not want to be disturbed. I am all about the fun little details! Grin.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I cannot think of one thing that I would change!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    100
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
504
86
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane. Qld Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Following a horrible hotel stay in San Diego, we checked Trip Advisor to try and find a nicer hotel to escape to! Fortunately the West Inn and Suites at Carlsbad had a family suite available and was rated number one on trip advisor. We had stayed at the Doubletree Suites at Anaheim (also rated number one on Trip Advisor) and that was a great experience. so we though we couldn't go wrong that way.

That a relief it was driving up to the hotel. The entrance was just so beautiful and welcoming - the foyer was decorated for christmas, carefully tended gardens, staff were amazing and the room was much nicer than we have experienced in many 5 star hotels around the world. Room facilities were great, lovely Aveda toiletries, welcoming breakfast/tv/library area, great pool area (lots of steam coming off the heated pool as the weather was very cold!).

Location is great - lots of food options nearby. Very short drive to Legoland and the Carlsbad beach area is so pretty.

This might just be the best hotel we have stayed at! We felt sad to leave. Would highly recommend, especially for families with small children. What a wonderful hotel.

  • Liked — Wonderful ambiance, lovely rooms and surroundsings
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

If there were any other reasons to stay in Carlsbad besides Legoland (or for shoppers, the outlets), I'm trying to think of an excuse to stay here again! A perfect little surprise amidst our family festivity filled holiday, we were welcomed to free parking, complimentary wireless, 'real' breakfast, & crib! Did I mention two KING beds!?! When you got two little kiddos that squirm in their sleep that is definitely an A in my book. Clean, modern, they even have that cinnamon-oh-man-it-smells-so-cozy in their holidays. Perfect stay for families w/children w/cookie & milk hour, board games & books in the "family" room aka off of the lobby area: leather sofas, flat screen & faux fireplace included.

Off to find out if they're a chain... =)

  • Liked — two KING beds
  • Disliked — location, close to freeway although noise is very minimal
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed @ The West Inn King Suite from 27 Nov 08 till 29 Nov 08 with 2A + 2C. We had some problem finding the place initially as it didn't showed up on our GPS cos still so new.
Pros -
1) Near to Legoland (abt 5 mins)
2) Near to Sea World (abt 45 mins)
3) Near to Premium Outlet (abt 5 mins)
4) KS beds, huge room, nice big LCD TV screen
5) Free parking
6) Cosy lobby with cookies served in the evening - Great for little tykes who were tired after one full day of themepark
7) On site mini mart
8) Little kitchenette with microwave oven + Fridge
9) Helpful staff manning the front desk
10) Great full breakfast
Cons - Hmmm....can't think of any now. Maybe later.
Seriously, you can't go wrong staying @ West Inn. Our 2 boys (7 & 9 yrs old respectively) voted West Inn Carlsbad to be their best hotel stay in our entire 2 wks holiday in California & mind you, we did stay in some nice hotel chains on our road trip but nothing compared to West Inn. All the photos in Tripadvisor are real. They look just as good in the real thing.
Kudos to all @ West Inn Carlsbad.

  • Liked — The whole cosy boutique like setup. From the lobby, to the room, to the people - Very personalised
  • Disliked — Breakfast only served till 9:30am on certain days. So quite rushed for the kids.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed here with our daughter and her family which included kids ages 7, 4, and 15 months.
We were treated so well. The staff all were so friendly and did not seem to mind the little ones always in the foyer or big room.
The hotel is very accomadating to kids or parents of small kids. They have a cupboard full of games for the kids to play with in a large friendly room that had two tvs for viewing. There was comfortable seating in there to watch tv or visit. Also a big basket of paperback books to find something to read if needed.

This room also had large and small tables for breakfast and other meals. We ordered pizza take out and the staff gave us plates and napkins and forks to eat with. Everyone went above and beyond to be helpful. The rooms were so clean we felt like it was a new hotel and we were the first visitors. Everything was spotless and so detailed. There were very white linens on the very comfy beds. And large soft towels in the bath. More then adequate space in the bathrooms as well. The sleeping area was also huge. We had a king bed and a desk and chair and another soft chair besides the large tv. My daughter said it felt like a bed and breakfast as it was so warm and friendly and we were the only family there. There were other people but they seemed to be business guest.

The pool was nice and warm for swimming and although we went in Dec. the kids still managed to soak a bit in the hot tub and take a couple dips in the pool. The hotel also provides swim diapers if needed for toddlers and babies. There are so many nice touches throughout the hotel.

Since we went in Dec. it was fully decorated for the holidays and was very charming. There were carols playing lightly in the background in the lobby area.

They have a full breakfast each day and it was great. You had choices of eggs, waffles, sausage and rolls and toast and bagels and assorted cereals and oatmeal and yogurt and fruit. And much more.IF you went away hungry it was your own fault.

At night they had warm chocolate chip cookies and cold milk for you as a night time snack.

Although we never had a need there is a small store they have where you can purchase small food items and such as needed.

A washer and dryer was on our floor so we took advantage of that which was a nice way amenity.

We used their personal shuttle to go to Legoland which was very nice.

I am sure I am forgetting something but I will say you can not go wrong staying here. We will visit San Diego again and this will be our choice to stay at.

Our group consisted of a 54, 51, 32, 34, 7, 4, and 15 month old and we were all happy to be there.

  • Liked — The rooms were so clean and the big breakfast was nice to start the day. The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Would have been nice to have a playground close for the kids to play on till we were able to travel.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

This is the second time we've stayed here. Our 6 year old twins love Legoland and this hotel is nearby. The rooms are very large, with enough room for a family of 4 in the King Suites. Breakfast is included and has both hot and cold items. The food was very good. Staff is very helpful getting extra linens. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

Even though the hotel is near the highway and the train tracks it is quite quiet due to the triple paned (!) windows. The pool was too chilly to use in November, but the hot tub was fine.

  • Liked — Large comfortable room, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Pool too cold
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

My family stayed at the West Inn & Suites November 1st through the 4th. Everything was wonderful! Our room was up to date, extremely clean and comfortable. My kids loved the pool and spa. (and the nightly warm cookies and milk!) The grounds of the hotel were immaculate. Great breakfast as well. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Everything was in excellent condition
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.