We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Wow Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Black Friday Special
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed @ The West Inn King Suite from 27 Nov 08 till 29 Nov 08 with 2A + 2C. We had some problem finding the place initially as it didn't showed up on our GPS cos still so new.
Pros -
1) Near to Legoland (abt 5 mins)
2) Near to Sea World (abt 45 mins)
3) Near to Premium Outlet (abt 5 mins)
4) KS beds, huge room, nice big LCD TV screen
5) Free parking
6) Cosy lobby with cookies served in the evening - Great for little tykes who were tired after one full day of themepark
7) On site mini mart
8) Little kitchenette with microwave oven + Fridge
9) Helpful staff manning the front desk
10) Great full breakfast
Cons - Hmmm....can't think of any now. Maybe later.
Seriously, you can't go wrong staying @ West Inn. Our 2 boys (7 & 9 yrs old respectively) voted West Inn Carlsbad to be their best hotel stay in our entire 2 wks holiday in California & mind you, we did stay in some nice hotel chains on our road trip but nothing compared to West Inn. All the photos in Tripadvisor are real. They look just as good in the real thing.
Kudos to all @ West Inn Carlsbad.

  • Liked — The whole cosy boutique like setup. From the lobby, to the room, to the people - Very personalised
  • Disliked — Breakfast only served till 9:30am on certain days. So quite rushed for the kids.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    101
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
522
92
17
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed here with our daughter and her family which included kids ages 7, 4, and 15 months.
We were treated so well. The staff all were so friendly and did not seem to mind the little ones always in the foyer or big room.
The hotel is very accomadating to kids or parents of small kids. They have a cupboard full of games for the kids to play with in a large friendly room that had two tvs for viewing. There was comfortable seating in there to watch tv or visit. Also a big basket of paperback books to find something to read if needed.

This room also had large and small tables for breakfast and other meals. We ordered pizza take out and the staff gave us plates and napkins and forks to eat with. Everyone went above and beyond to be helpful. The rooms were so clean we felt like it was a new hotel and we were the first visitors. Everything was spotless and so detailed. There were very white linens on the very comfy beds. And large soft towels in the bath. More then adequate space in the bathrooms as well. The sleeping area was also huge. We had a king bed and a desk and chair and another soft chair besides the large tv. My daughter said it felt like a bed and breakfast as it was so warm and friendly and we were the only family there. There were other people but they seemed to be business guest.

The pool was nice and warm for swimming and although we went in Dec. the kids still managed to soak a bit in the hot tub and take a couple dips in the pool. The hotel also provides swim diapers if needed for toddlers and babies. There are so many nice touches throughout the hotel.

Since we went in Dec. it was fully decorated for the holidays and was very charming. There were carols playing lightly in the background in the lobby area.

They have a full breakfast each day and it was great. You had choices of eggs, waffles, sausage and rolls and toast and bagels and assorted cereals and oatmeal and yogurt and fruit. And much more.IF you went away hungry it was your own fault.

At night they had warm chocolate chip cookies and cold milk for you as a night time snack.

Although we never had a need there is a small store they have where you can purchase small food items and such as needed.

A washer and dryer was on our floor so we took advantage of that which was a nice way amenity.

We used their personal shuttle to go to Legoland which was very nice.

I am sure I am forgetting something but I will say you can not go wrong staying here. We will visit San Diego again and this will be our choice to stay at.

Our group consisted of a 54, 51, 32, 34, 7, 4, and 15 month old and we were all happy to be there.

  • Liked — The rooms were so clean and the big breakfast was nice to start the day. The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Would have been nice to have a playground close for the kids to play on till we were able to travel.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

This is the second time we've stayed here. Our 6 year old twins love Legoland and this hotel is nearby. The rooms are very large, with enough room for a family of 4 in the King Suites. Breakfast is included and has both hot and cold items. The food was very good. Staff is very helpful getting extra linens. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

Even though the hotel is near the highway and the train tracks it is quite quiet due to the triple paned (!) windows. The pool was too chilly to use in November, but the hot tub was fine.

  • Liked — Large comfortable room, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Pool too cold
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

My family stayed at the West Inn & Suites November 1st through the 4th. Everything was wonderful! Our room was up to date, extremely clean and comfortable. My kids loved the pool and spa. (and the nightly warm cookies and milk!) The grounds of the hotel were immaculate. Great breakfast as well. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Everything was in excellent condition
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

everything you read about on trip advisor is true! i have never experienced such a high level of hotel hospitality. the sheets and bed are unbelievable and the breakfast buffet is ample with something for everyone. the staff is gracious and top notch. we came to west inn from los angeles on the amtrak. it was such fun to travel by train. the hotel shuttle picked us up at oceanside. we used the shuttle a lot and it was great to not worry about a car or parking. we loved this place and were sorry we had to leave.

  • Liked — spaciousness and bedding
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Our friends who live in Carlsbad recommended West Inns and Suites because of its great location and great restaurant that is part of the hotel (Bistro West). They had not stayed there but they said it was new and looked nice. Wow, what a pleasant surprise we had! The room was a bit less expensive than most hotels in the area and the ambience, service, and quality of the rooms was better than any hotel I have stayed for the money, including top names like Bellagio, Hilton, Marriott, etc. These other hotels have a lot to learn from West Inns....The staff was always friendly and treated us like we owned the place. The hotel is set up more like a large house, complete with library, computer room, dining area, and living area with games, fireplace and kitchen. The cookies and milk at 8 PM made my kids day. The full buffet breakfast was great and their fresh coffee beat Starbucks. The room was great. The beds were gigantic, and soooo comfortable. The towels were the softest I have ever felt. I kept looking for something to criticize, but I kept finding more thing to rave about, like the ample supply of baby pampers by the pool, the underground free parking garage, and their great bistro with great food. I could go on and on but I'm running out of room. Don't let the train tracks and smoke stack fool you. You'll never know they are there.........I can't wait to return................Best hotel ever.....Keep it up............

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

After a day at LegoLand with 3 little kids, this place was just the perfect place to unwind. The restaurant was FANTASTIC ( a real restaurant, not a hotel food-service one)--try the homemade veggie burger. After dinner, the kids jumped into the pool and swam until 10pm and then, thank goodness, they were tired and went promptly to sleep, and my husband and I were able to watch a little TV in the separate living room space without disturbing them. Rooms are big with plenty of space for crazy hyper kids to run around. Nobody complained about our noise either, so I'm assuming that the walls are not paper thin. THE ONLY drawback is that it's right next to the Freeway so if you are in the pool you can hear the semi-trucks chugging by.
To the manager and staff of this hotel: You are doing an excellent job. We had a wonderful time and we will return often.

  • Liked — Rooms/Pool
  • Disliked — Freeway Proximity
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.