We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room near Legoland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Longmont, CO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great room near Legoland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

This is the second time we've stayed here. Our 6 year old twins love Legoland and this hotel is nearby. The rooms are very large, with enough room for a family of 4 in the King Suites. Breakfast is included and has both hot and cold items. The food was very good. Staff is very helpful getting extra linens. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

Even though the hotel is near the highway and the train tracks it is quite quiet due to the triple paned (!) windows. The pool was too chilly to use in November, but the hot tub was fine.

  • Liked — Large comfortable room, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Pool too cold
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    100
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
504
86
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

My family stayed at the West Inn & Suites November 1st through the 4th. Everything was wonderful! Our room was up to date, extremely clean and comfortable. My kids loved the pool and spa. (and the nightly warm cookies and milk!) The grounds of the hotel were immaculate. Great breakfast as well. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Everything was in excellent condition
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

everything you read about on trip advisor is true! i have never experienced such a high level of hotel hospitality. the sheets and bed are unbelievable and the breakfast buffet is ample with something for everyone. the staff is gracious and top notch. we came to west inn from los angeles on the amtrak. it was such fun to travel by train. the hotel shuttle picked us up at oceanside. we used the shuttle a lot and it was great to not worry about a car or parking. we loved this place and were sorry we had to leave.

  • Liked — spaciousness and bedding
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Our friends who live in Carlsbad recommended West Inns and Suites because of its great location and great restaurant that is part of the hotel (Bistro West). They had not stayed there but they said it was new and looked nice. Wow, what a pleasant surprise we had! The room was a bit less expensive than most hotels in the area and the ambience, service, and quality of the rooms was better than any hotel I have stayed for the money, including top names like Bellagio, Hilton, Marriott, etc. These other hotels have a lot to learn from West Inns....The staff was always friendly and treated us like we owned the place. The hotel is set up more like a large house, complete with library, computer room, dining area, and living area with games, fireplace and kitchen. The cookies and milk at 8 PM made my kids day. The full buffet breakfast was great and their fresh coffee beat Starbucks. The room was great. The beds were gigantic, and soooo comfortable. The towels were the softest I have ever felt. I kept looking for something to criticize, but I kept finding more thing to rave about, like the ample supply of baby pampers by the pool, the underground free parking garage, and their great bistro with great food. I could go on and on but I'm running out of room. Don't let the train tracks and smoke stack fool you. You'll never know they are there.........I can't wait to return................Best hotel ever.....Keep it up............

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

After a day at LegoLand with 3 little kids, this place was just the perfect place to unwind. The restaurant was FANTASTIC ( a real restaurant, not a hotel food-service one)--try the homemade veggie burger. After dinner, the kids jumped into the pool and swam until 10pm and then, thank goodness, they were tired and went promptly to sleep, and my husband and I were able to watch a little TV in the separate living room space without disturbing them. Rooms are big with plenty of space for crazy hyper kids to run around. Nobody complained about our noise either, so I'm assuming that the walls are not paper thin. THE ONLY drawback is that it's right next to the Freeway so if you are in the pool you can hear the semi-trucks chugging by.
To the manager and staff of this hotel: You are doing an excellent job. We had a wonderful time and we will return often.

  • Liked — Rooms/Pool
  • Disliked — Freeway Proximity
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We have 3 kids all under 10 years old, so having a close hotel to Legoland was a must. When we arrived, we were so amazed at the sizes of the bed, that we didn't realize how big the room really was. It also had a luxurious big bathroom FULL of towels. It wasn't the obvious things that made me give this hotel a great rating, it was all the small things. Like the lil' swimmer's pampers over by the heated pool, the extra outside towels by the pool, water bottles in our room's frig, the cookie nites that they served, the small snack shop, great buffet breakfast. But WAIT, this beats it all,..... walking over to the a small table by the window, there was a plant. Looking closer it was a real Orchid flower pot with a light fragance. "OMGosh!!!! IT'S REAL!"
On the last day we found out there was a train track on the street behind the hotel, we never even knew the trains were running the entire time we were there.
-- It's only 5 minutes away from Legoland, that's with 2 red lights.
We all loved it, we'll never stay any where else in San Diego!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — ....Leaving....wasn't ready to leave this wonderful hotel.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We travel to the Carlsbad area on business (and pleasure) at least twice a year and have stayed at a few hotels near to the Pacific. We used to stay in La Jolla for their boutique hotels and then travel to Carlsbad.

The West Inn hotel is the best of the near the ocean hotels- by far.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the service is very friendly and accomodating, the rooms are ample and very clean and the two restaurants next door are terrific.

The beds are comfortable and with plenty of pillows.

In the morning I generally take my run or walk a few blocks away to the ocean and watch the surfers and locals.

Access to I-5 is closeby. There is a power plant chimney next door but it was not ever operating when we visited (four times now).

I would highly recommend this hotel to business travelers, vacationers and families.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.