We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Repentigny, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent location, very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was there last August with my family, the hotel is very clean and is located less than 10 minutes walk from the beach. We really enjoyed the fact they provided us the beach chairs and body boards. The hotel is also near the train station for the Coaster. The room was large and ideal for a family, can't wait to return !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    100
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
504
86
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights at West Inn and Suites with our 2 boys (2 and 8). There was a mix of business people and families. We were visiting to see Legoland.

This was a great experience. It was our third trip to Legoland and the first time in this hotel. We will definitely be going back. We stayed in a "king suite" which was very spacious. It had a king bed in the bedroom and a pull out sofa in the living room (no door between though). There was plenty of room in the bedroom area for our playpen for the 2 year old and a camping cot for the 8 year old.

The pool was heated and there were plenty of towels (many places I've stayed run out). The breakfast had a good variety and plenty of space. The cookies and milk at night were a hit.

The hotel has a shuttle to Legoland which is very convenient and fast, and they have carseats and boosters for the kids.

It's kind of in an out of the way area, so for dinner you'd eat at the restaurant next to the hotel or drive somewhere (we actually just heated up food in the microwave). The fridge in the suite was a good size.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful the whole time.

The gym was very sad and very small. However, the living area in the suite was big enough for me to pop in my Yoga DVD and roll out my mat, so that was fine. Both the living and bedroom TVs had DVD players, and there are DVDs to borrow.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the hotel because of a visit to Legoland. I would not say the hotel is what I think of when I think kid "friendly". I would expect a larger, more exciting pool- or something fun in the hotel for them. Small pool and nothing exciting about it. limited spots as well. Don't go for the pool.
The gym is very sad- total of about 3 cardio machines- don't go there for the gym .
No restaurant/bar inside hotel- not a far walk- but not a place you run to in your swim cover up either- it is the only place to get a glass of wine or beer-none sold inside hotel or at the attached gas station. Bring your own wine and opener.
The included breakfast is an added bonus- good coffee and ok food.
The 8:00 cookies are a delight.
The staff is very friendly!!
Our room was nice and near the train-but everyone was able to sleep through it.
Close walk to the beach- about 8-10 minutes- very steep downhill down to water- but lovely.
Close to outlets and other good restaurants.
Only 3 stars because I really thought it would be a bit more fun and exciting for the kids....they have some nice rooms when you enter-maybe add a lego table?? or an outdoor fountain??

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights at the West Inn & Suites and were greatly impressed by everything about the hotel. Before we even arrived, the hotel was emailing with us to confirm a rollaway for our room. They also called the day before our arrival to see if there was anything else we needed prior to our stay. Once we arrived, we were greeted by the super friendly staff and checkin was a breeze. Once in our room, the front desk called to see if there was anything else we needed.

The room (executive king,) was a good size and even with the rollaway, did not seem to be overly crowded. The Coaster train runs right along the east side of the property, but was not a negative for us at all. The windows are very thick, and block a lot of the noise. We could still hear the train occasionally during the day, but not at night, so it was not a factor at all for our sleep. The room was very clean and comfortable. We used the fridge and microwave a lot.

The entire hotel is very clean and well kept. Even the stairwells are really nice. The pool was perfect, and very popular around 6pm. We "rented" a movie from the front desk and got delivery from West Bistro one night. The food was great (much better than your typical room service,) and the movie selection was very current.

The breakfast buffet was good. The weakest point was the eggs, which were somewhat institutional and rubbery. Everything else was good, with good variety. We are gluten free, but there were still plenty of options for us.

One of the best things about the hotel were the beach items that they had for use, for free. We used chairs, an umbrella, boogie boards, a cooler bag, a frisbee and a nerf football. It was absolutely everything we could have possibly needed and was so great to have it be right in the lobby and free of charge.

The only potential negative (other than the eggs,) were the tv and wifi service. But the hotel is very upfront about the poor signals and how it is something they are working hard to improve. But the wifi is free, so that's great.

Overall, the location and amenities were perfect for us and the entire staff was super friendly and helpful. We will stay there again anytime we are in Carlsbad and definitely recommend it to people.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Trip Advisor helped us find this gem. We were getting away w/o kids/grandkids for the first time. I shared that with the hotel in an email, asking for a quiet room on the top floor. We were greeted with champagne on ice and chocolates upon our arrival. WOW what a start to this perfect getaway. Add to that the incredibly helpful and informative staff all around. The breakfast options were amazing -- eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes (and sugar free syrup), bagels, toast. fruit, oatmeal, and more. The special touches and the family environment made us realize that we need to do this more often so we will be back. thank you West Inn & Suites Carlsbad!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wedding in Oceanside brought us to San Diego - I was having trouble locating a suitable (location and price) hotel to stay in....stumbled across West Inn & Suites here on TripAdvisor - and, based on reviews I picked it...normally i wouldn't dare go with something i'd never heard of - but i figured i'd give it a shot - what a great decision!!! The staff was some of the friendliest i have encountered....The Front Desk folks were always greeting us with smiles and offering assistance and so much information.
They have thought of everything - how great it was to go to the front desk and be given beach towels and even beach chairs - Tommy Bahama chairs no less!!!
The beds were amazingly comfortable....the rooms large enough to move around and not feel cramped....their bath towels are some of the softest i've ever had in a hotel!
Parking was never a problem and the convenience being right off I-5 was a blessing for this out-of-towner.
Their Bistro had fabulous food - the only downfall there was that it was pretty pricey and they were extremely limited in their beer selection - the service was impeccable.
We made sure everyone at the wedding knew about the place and if we had cause to be back in San Diego we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Traveling only as a couple, we did feel a little out of place - most other guests were families traveling with children...but that didn't bother us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for my wife's milestone birthday celebration with kids and immediate family. Staff was professional and very friendly! Always fulfilled our needs. Free shuttle to anywhere within 5mi radius of hotel was always on time for pickup and return! They also provided complimentary crib and pack and play for our room, and baby car seats for infants and toddlers (which they setup for families in advance). So many complimentary amenities that would've been extra at other hotels. West Inn Cafe had AMAZING food. Although a little on the pricey side for families, the quality was outstanding! We loved this hotel, and will definitely book here again! Awesome job West Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.