We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip to Legoland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Family trip to Legoland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thanks tripadvisor for another great find. Would not have booked here had it not been for the overwhelming number of positive reviews posted. We stayed 3 nights in a King Suite with our 5 and 1 year olds. Everything was fine/great and met our needs. Yes, the property is very close to the I-5 and the train tracks - thus you have some noise - but other reviewers wrote about that so we were prepared - no surprises. The location is perfect - very close drive to the beach (and Carlsbad village) and the shuttle to Lego land saved us $30 in parking. All the amenities were appreciated, pool was great, cookies at night, free dvd's, hot breakfast every day, and they loaned us beach chairs, toys, and towels (all FREE). We found all the staff to be very attentive and helpful. The Lego land hotel was out of our budget and this seemed to be a great alternative - we are SO glad we found, my husband and I actually preferred putting some space between the park and our hotel after being there all day.... Restaurants on site are nice (but pricey). We ordered from Pizza Shuttle one night (great find! yum!) and visited the Fish House (ok) another.
We never plan a trip without tripadvisor and our great stay at West Inn just confirms why! Excellent place for family's.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in a King Suite (one bed). hotel provided pack n play and 5 yr old slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    579
    95
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
477
80
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We just returned from a trip to San Diego. We stayed at the West Inn for 2 nights and we loved it! The staff was amazing - friendly and helpful. They offer very nice services - a decent breakfast, a nice pool and hot tub, beautiful grounds, shuttle service to Legoland (saves you the cost of parking and the shuttle driver was full of great information), shuttle service to the beach (complete with towels, beach toys, boogie boards, etc). We checked out in the 4th of July and they had a whole basket of red, white & blue beads, tattoos, glow sticks and stickers for the guests. The whole place was decorated with flags and bunting and looked adorable. Just such a personal experience over chains!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We found this hotel on trip adviser, but were not as pleased with the experience as others have been. For perspective, we usually stay at (and review) Westin, Hilton, Hyatt--only 4 star hotels.

first the positive:
comfortable bed with nice linens
spacious room and bathroom
pleasant pool/jacuzzi area, though lots of traffic noise
very clean
breakfast was o.k.--eggs were tasteless though and strange texture

the not so positive:
the traffic noise from our second floor room was unacceptable--also there was a fog horn all night making sleep difficult. Train noise was audible at night.
we had booked a king room--asked to change to two queens. first time ever not to have our request honored. Perhaps there weren't any available, but the receptionist didn't bother to check--which most hotels would do out of courtesy.
things were not in working order. We had to call to get the shower head fixed. The sink didn't drain well. The response was quick, but these things should have been checked before.

If you're not sensitive to noise, this would be a nice place. But it is not a 4 star hotel overall. I'd rate it more like a holiday innthan like a hilton.

One good lunch delivered poolside from Bistro West. Good dinner at Dinis on the waterfront.

Room Tip: I don't know if any rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I have stayed here twice. It's clean, caters to families, but has solid construction. The beds are kings, and we had a room with two kings on both stays. The pool is great for the kids.

The buffet breakfast is good. And the restaurant on property is delicious.

They also provide complementary shuttles to and from Legoland.

This staff are exemplary, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I could go on and on about how wonderful the West Inn & Suites is! My family and I stayed there about a week ago and it was literally the best overall hotel experience of my life. I research hotels heavily before I travel. I was very impressed by all of the positive reviews of this hotel, and couldn't have been happier to experience all of the wonderful things about this place. I honestly felt like family by the time we left! Other reviewers have talked about the complimentary breakfast, the milk and cookies every night, the free shuttle to any where in Carlsbad, the great pool area, etc. All of those things are true, but what makes this place the absolute best is the staff and their customer service. Everyone we encountered was super friendly, helful and kind! They go above and beyond. I have a special shout out to one of the shuttle drivers (I wish I could remember her name), but she drove us back to the hotel one night after a day at Legoland. We told her about an experience we had driving from LA through a toll road. Being from out of state, I wasn't sure how to handle the toll. A couple hours later, she stopped my husband in the lobby to provide information on what I needed to do to handle the toll. This was above and beyond, and so appreciated! she also helped us with all of our borrowed beach items the day before. Yes, the hotel will loan you everything you need for a great day at the beach!

Yay to West Inn & Suites. We can't wait to go back. As my seven year old said, "This is the BEST hotel in California"!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best hotel I ever stayed at. Everything is clean. Breakfast is great! The hotel has two restaurnats on the premisis that are also wonderful. The pool is clean and they provide towels and iced lemon water right there. The stuff is fantastic and accomodating to all your wishes.
Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The photos of this give you the impression that this hotel is right by the ocean, it's not. It's 500 metres from a freeway and train line however the road noise is negligible. It's close to Carlsbad beach by car. On first viewing it reminds you of a hotel In the middle of a supermarket car park. It takes around 1 hour to drive here from LAX and it takes about 30 minutes from here to drive to Sea World San Diego.

We got a double queen, great for 2 adults 1 child and the bathroom is huge. The hotel provides a shuttle service to and from legoland with friendly enthusiastic staff driving the transfer bus. There is a bistro next door which seems reasonably priced as well as a more fine dining steak house. Breakfast is reasonable considering its free.

I highly recommend this hotel for those looking for somewhere to stay near legoland. The rooms are huge, clean and well equipped. The staff are brilliant. Don't be fooled by the flash photos though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.