We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of its class in area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Endless Summer
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best of its class in area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

West Inn and Suites is off the Cannon Road Exit on 405. t is in a good location for a visit to Legoland or the discount mall. There are several decent motels at this exit (including a Hilton Garden and a Hyatt house). I have stayed at all of them and they are all good, but I just like the West a little better. If the prices are close, I generally choose it. The rooms come with two big King Size beds so I can fit the whole family. The only negative on my last visit was the free breakfast. Not that great. There are several restaurants pretty close by, The West Bistro is a very good place. Very nice for adults but ok for Children too. A fancier West Steak and Seafood restaurant is there too if you want something more formal. There is cheaper food such as Claimjumper (and cheaper chain motels) not too far away as well. Overall, the West Inn is a fine motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    116
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
591
103
18
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I always like to complain about something, so I will give you the Pros and Cons of the West Inn and Suites in Carlsbad, Cal. The "Cons" first! There are no "Cons"! The "Pros" of this hotel..in a few words... "A COMPLETE FIVE STAR HOTEL". The staff are their to please you and very, very friendly from the Hotel Staff to the Housekeepers! Maybe, I had one issue, I don't like to drink coffee. I usually drink tea in the morning but nothing in the room to boil my water for my tea, so the Manager went out and bought a electric boiling water pot for my suite. Now that is quality service. You will not be disappointed with this Hotel. And by the way, I am going back. I usually stay at the Hilton Brand, but this hotel is a diamond in the ruff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Washington
Level Contributor
192 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My son and I dropped in with no reservation, late on a Friday night. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly and was able to get us a nice room. We got a room with two very comfortable king beds and all the amenities you might expect. I don't care for hotel breakfast in general, but they had a very nice breakfast buffet as far as typical hotel breakfasts are concerned. We stayed on the first floor, and the only negative was a screaming child in the hallway at 7:30 am, but it is a family friendly place so those things happen. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: If you stay on the west end you'll hear the train, the east end is more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have stayed at the West Inn a number of times in 2012 and 2013 for both business and personal reasons.

The West is an independent hotel of medium size. The rooms are large and clean, and personal touched abound. By my second stay I was greeted by name. By my third stay the desk clerk brought me medication when she knew I was sick.

At this hotel, employees make sure there are always enough toiletries, towels, etc. even when the guest doesn't accommodate their cleaning-refreshing the room (like when I sleep all day), by leaving a basket outside the door.

It does not hurt that the price is right either.

I would recommend the West for business or family travels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a last minute new years trip. The reviews we had read were very positive and we were not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and despite the fact that it is nestled off the highway, between railroad tracks and a power facility of some type, it manages to maintain a sense of style and elegance that is impressive.
The staff was wonderful from the very beginning through the end. They were accommodating, professional and helpful.
We upgraded our room to a two king room and were glad we did. The room was comfortable and most important it was spotless. The beds were amazing and each day we returned to our room glad to have such a nice place to rest.
The breakfast was OK, good enough to get you going, but not stellar. Our daughter loved the milk and cookies at night, although they could have left them out a bit longer than an hour:)
All in all, it was a great place to stay and we would definitely recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you're visiting Legoland, this is your place.

PROS:
- Up to date, modern hotel
- Nice pool area
- The beds are extremely comfortable
- Kids love the milk and cookies at night (so do the adults)
- Nice sized fridge, microwave and sink in room (but nicely separated)
- Literally minutes from Legloland
- Free pick up/drop off to Legloland
- Handy gas and market within short walk from hotel


CONS:
- Be sure to request a room away from the elevator. There is an extremely loud banging/sliding noise.
- The beach is not walkable from the hotel. You have to drive significantly. Look elsewhere if you're looking for a beachside hotel.
- The area surrounding the hotel is a factory or electricity plant of some kind. Very unappealing aesthetically.
- Food and service at the Bistro was subpar and very overpriced. But its easy to find dining alternatives in Oceanside (just minutes away). Put Oceanside, CA in Yelp to find restaurants.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the West to others, largely due to the excellent service from the management. (We had several hiccups during our stay, but the very attentive management did what they could to correct it).

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is my first time writing a review. The Inn is good, its clean, excellent staff, and a warm feeling always. The only thing wrong with the Inn is poor internet connection and room service. My husband and I usually eat at their steakhouse ( great ), but this bistro needs help. The service was slow, no product knowledge, and no attention to detail at all ( they need professional training). The food was ok, nothing special but just ok. The inside of the bistro is beautiful and warm/ inviting. There is a night and day difference between the steakhouse and the bistro. The steakhouse is more$$$ but worth it, the servers there are professionals. If you stay at the Inn I would advice going to the Bar at the Bistro or the steskhouse

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
LEGOLAND California Hotel
#16 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.