We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in carlsbad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Savings
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gem in carlsbad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to visit my mom in carlsbad and decided to spent the night, I had seen this hotel on are last visit and though it look nice, Its so great I have told everyone about how wonderful the service was and beautiful the property is .There are two restaurantrs one is fine dining and the other is a bistro, We ordered from the bistro and when the food was ready the bistro called to lets us know, the also offer room service from this restaurant,The room are huge and very comfortable, overall I would stay here again in aheart beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    100
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
513
90
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ended a month log road trip around USA with an overnight stay in this hotel. We checked in early and they happily accommodated us. The property is beautiful, more like a private ski lodge than a hotel. The friendliest of greetings came from their four-legged check-in mascot, who was very popular with our children. Our room was luxurious with the most comfortable beds and bedding. The bathroom was opulent and the complimentary breakfast was wonderful.
There is a pool, which we didn't use due to the colder temps but it was private, serene and clean. There is plenty of parking, nearby eating options and nearby beach access. They happily stored our luggage the next day as our flight back to Australia wasn't until midnight. I would highly recommend this hotel as my favourite stay in America. Stay there, you will be pleased you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in a suite with our daughter and grandkids. The room was spacious with two TV's and very comfortable for all of us. We all loved the pool area and hot tub. Gals at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We wanted to take advantage of the wine tasting they offered, but the person serving the wine was late arriving. Beds very comfortable. Good breakfast buffet with lots of choices. Close to Legoland and the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely and well-kept hotel with the convenience of an outstanding restaurant next door (Bistro West). The pool area is lovely and it is wonderful to sit out by for breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed. Great for families cause of the pool and breakfast in addition to the good location. Only bummer is that it is right next to the freeway which you cannot hear from your room, but when you are out by the pool its a bit noisy - but I emphasize you can't see the freeway and the rooms are very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

For an annual weekend away from the kids, my friend and I tried this place this year. Wow! We had the best time. We only stayed one night, but were impressed with everything! Not only is it beautiful, decorated nicely and new looking, the service was great! The girls working the front desk the night we were there were so nice and friendly! They printed out movie times and gave us directions to and from a restaurant we chose as well. They even delivered something we needed to our room and then helped us figure out how to watch a DVD in the room. Oh, they have TONS of DVDs to borrow as well!!! The free breakfast buffet was amazing too. I can't say enough about our stay! We will definitely go again next year. It's right around the corner from the Carlsbad Outlet center as well. Oh, free parking too!!!!

Room Tip: Close to the outlets and a few great restaurants! Cookies and milk served at night, free DVDs to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We loved this hotel for our family of 5. The suites are very good size so everyone was comfortable. Pool & hot tub were great. Generous breakfast buffet and cookies & milk in the evenings were big hits with my family. Staff could not have been nicer. Great location for access to beaches, Legoland and short drive to restaurants in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Having spent ages searching for a hotel in or around Carlsbad, we finally settled on this one. I am so glad we did. I am super fussy about where I stay which is why it takes me so long to find anywhere!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. I admit, the fact there is a power station and train track right by concerned me, but it needn't have. Once in the hotel we were greeted by a lovely lady (red hair, I'm sorry I forgot your name!) who went through everything available in the hotel, provided a map of the area and list of restaurants.

We were also greeted by Jackson, the managers Husky and although the hotel was pet friendly and had plenty of advice where to take pets, there wasn't an obvious sign of any.

The room was great, bed comfy, bathroom nice and clean and the little kitchenette area perfect for our needs.

Lots of restaurants within walking distance and the Outlet stores were only about a 20 min walk although you could get the shuttle if you wanted.

The cookies and milk at night time were a lovely touch.

Yes, the train is a bit noises, but it didn't run after we had gone to bed and it was only really the horn blaring as it went past that made it obvious.

All in all, would highly recommended this hotel and look forward to visiting again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.