We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in all areas keeps us coming back whenever we're in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality in all areas keeps us coming back whenever we're in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We love this hotel! The service is excellent-friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are beautiful. They are clean and really nicely decorated. Aveda products and great coffee maker are perks. Great towels and comfy robes for the fabulous jacuzzi and pool. They also provide guests with warm cookies and milk in the evening, and a wonderful buffet breakfast is included. They called us two days before our stay to see if there was anything they could do for us. We will always stay there and highly recommend this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    100
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
519
90
17
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Here are the facts!

Very clean.
Good location.
Poor to Average service. (depending on who you are)
Overpriced hotel.
poor views from room window.

Train noise sucks.

Television picture quality was poor.
Television remote was even poorer.

Would not recommend this hotel.

For the price, Could have stayed at the Hilton Grand Marbrisa resort!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located with a service to Legoland which was a huge plus for us and our kids. The rooms are HUGE and beautifully decorated. The beds are so comfortable I had a great sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great hotel. We had 3 adults and 3 kids in a two king suite and it was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Staff was super helpful with restaurant and beach recommendations. Breakfast buffet had varied selection so we were all able to find something to make us happy. Shuttle to Legoland was efficient and easy. Great selection of free DVDs - we found one movie for the grownups and one for the kids each night. The kids liked the milk and cookies each evening. Good size, clean pool and nice hot tub. Plus a good deal with the AAA rate. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The location is fabulous. The staff is outstanding. Service is incredible. Friendly people. Very helpful. Great breakfast is included. This independently owned and operated Inn far exceeded my expectations. The price was very reasonable too. I would stay here every time I visit the area. It is very close to many attractions. Kid friendly without being only for kids. In a word: terrific!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for our first night after landing in San Diego for a business trip, but were first doing a few days of outlet mall shopping. Our first stop after the airport car rental pick-up was the Carlsbad Premium Outlets and this was a good place to stop before heading out for the one near Palm Springs. The hotel is pretty much on the other side of Interstate 5 from the mall, although we went into town for supper prior to checking in.

The staff were very friendly, and the hotel décor is very nice – almost a Norman Rockwell feel to it. If this is an older property, they sure have done a great job of taking care of it. The room was very clean and comfortable, although where we were, the complimentary room Wi-Fi was so weak as to be usable – no problem in the lobby. We didn’t experience any issues with outside noise, but then, changing three times zones will do that to you.

Despite the cool air in the evening, the outdoor Jacuzzi was kept hot, which made for a refreshing and relaxing dip. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was also quite good.

The hotel certainly lived up to the good ratings I read, but I likely would try another property if I return to Carlsbad simply for the sake of variety, loyalty points and perhaps a more competitive Government Rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful family friendly place to stay, rooms are beautiful, beds are very comfortable and maid service was excellent, enjoyed the breakfast, Plenty of variety, would stay again. Close to shopping outlets and legoland, great places to eat all very close. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.